blendigo SW 1.1.9 (Beta)

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Blender Indigo export script
BbB
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by BbB » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:48 pm

Thanks big man. I'll do as you say and report asap.

BbB
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by BbB » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:13 pm

Nope. Still not working here.
The script says it can't find meshes that are undoubtedly there.
Did you actually manage to render that scene even without textures?

Next I tried to render just one textured cube --> This time Indigo opens but says it can't find the "albedo" UV set.

Next I renamed the object so that it has the same name as the mesh (which I figured from the message below might be a problem). Upon which Indigo gives me the old "memory could not be read" problem.

Oh well. I tried...
Attachments
error.jpg
error.jpg (45.89 KiB) Viewed 5521 times

lar111
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 7:29 pm

Post by lar111 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:32 am

Hey thanks for this Big Fan, I had been waiting to have a good go at indigo 1.1.9 I have been wanting to play with the layers stuff since it came out and writtng xml is slow/ tedious if you have to do more than once.. And I like your script its got a lot of good ideas in it, not that the blendigo script has anything wrong with it, but you have obviously done yours to suit your own workflow and have taken a different dirrection to smartden, the ies preveiw is a nice touch.. Oh and I managed to get it working no problem, I managed to get a few different scenes to render with it..

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Post by StompinTom » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:45 am

Big Fan wrote:@woodie (AND KRAM)

its worrying from my perspective cos I respect BbB's ability.
if he says he cant get anything out of it in a simple scene there is obviously something seriously wrong there.

I expect there to be issues but not working at all is not what I like to hear.
I dont like the idea a whole lot of people downloaded and continue to download something that doesnt work and are now may be silently pissed off(?). :oops:

If its fundamentally broken I'm going to have to apologise to the community and take it down until its fixed.
absolutely nothing to apologize for. noone here has a right to a Blender exporter (i.e. your work), rather its something that youre donating precious time for, as a gift to the community, which i think is fucking awesome. especially for non-coder/end-users like me, wed be fish out of water without the efforts of knowledgeable people like you who have gotten us this far.

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 2:11 am

+1


but please don't shout on me; my eyes work fine ^^

trivita
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 6:33 pm

Post by trivita » Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:56 am

thanks to Big Fan,
that mistake was so 'lame' ..
i'm not new to indigo, but yeah, you can say so, coz i never manually wrote a scene script myself. :lol: too much 've been done by plugins and stuff..

plus, could you adjust the export GUI a little bit? that'll be nice for 1024*768 users ( though i dont think many people use such low res now )

keep up the work, it's quite appreciated

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:08 am

thanks your generous comments guys (and kram)

@StompinTom
the truth is that I am not really a coder
when I was at school (most likely before ono existed :wink: ) I learned Fortran(punched cards!) and some Basic in my own time on a Sharp1211 ( high tech) had a Sinclair ZX80 too :shock:
I hadnt tried any programming in 20 years until I started messing with python for this script so its an ongoing experiment.
I am very grateful to zuegs for the original code I constructively interfere with again and again and the tips I pick up here and there from people who really do know their stuff.
My apologies to anyone knowledgeable who peeks inside but as long as it works I figure its ok :D

@BbB
sorry I didnt redo it all, just pointed out the tex problem.
I am a little busy today but I will try to redo the whole thing and sort it out.
there doesnt seem to be too many people reporting issues with the uv sets naming (which is good) but there may be issues to discover.
dont torture yourself in the meantime - I'll get back to you ASAP, I hope :lol:

sk2k
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:26 pm

Post by sk2k » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:38 pm

Hi,

i was going to try the exporter but my low screen resolution (1024x768) prevents me from using the material editor. So the exporter is more or less not useable for me and i can't afford a new monitor. However, thank you BigFan for sharing your work with the users.

MfG
sk2k

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:46 am

I am sorry I cant please everyone by sharing the script as I use it.
smartden should come out with an update soon that will fit your screen.

I have moved up to a 27" 1920x1200 so there is not much need for it for myself however I will try to ensure 768ers arent excluded again :wink: probably with a a scroll bar.

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:14 am

Big: the luxrender exporter has a scroll bar implementation that works pretty well, i'd take a look at that.

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Sat Sep 06, 2008 2:44 pm

thanks z :wink: it looks like I could borrow zuegs workaround code.( what would we do without him?...) :)

@others and BbB
Unfortunately I am going too be busy for the next 2-3 days with paying work/ regular life to do fixes.
I assume there is not much else wrong with the script other than the stuff already known?
In the meantime I would appreciate it if anyone in the great 'silent majority' out there who has found any other issues could report them please.
thanks
BF

Hunkadoodledoo
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:42 pm

Post by Hunkadoodledoo » Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:41 pm

So, my bug report comes with a disclaimer...I haven't used Indigo or blendigo since 0.6, so I'm playing a bit of catchup. I have encountered some of the same issues BbB had, and this is my setup:

Ubuntu 8.04 x32 on Core 2 Quad 2.4Ghz, 4GB RAM, Blender 2.47 Dynamic, Indigo 1.1.9, Blendigo 1.1.9.

I've only succeeded in getting the default cube to export. Anything that I have hand crafted kicks out an error. Here are the different errors I've experienced:

Code: Select all

WARNING: object "Fuselage" has a nonuniform scaling (x:1.066346, y:1.066346, z:0.130941)

Code: Select all

material "GrayAntennae" has no Indigo material set

Code: Select all

exporting mesh "Cube"
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 3961, in buttonEvt
  File "<string>", line 3191, in exportStill
  File "<string>", line 3129, in export
  File "<string>", line 2601, in exportMeshs
  File "<string>", line 2535, in exportMesh
IndexError: list index out of range

Code: Select all

-------------------------
BLENDIGO v1.1t9 SW
-------------------------
  Linux-platform: linux2  os.sep: /
  indigo path: /home/josh/3D/indigo_v1.1.9/indigo.exe
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 3929, in event
  File "<string>", line 2084, in materialEvent
NameError: global name 'activeObjectMat0' is not defined

Code: Select all

exporting mesh "Cube"
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 3961, in buttonEvt
  File "<string>", line 3191, in exportStill
  File "<string>", line 3129, in export
  File "<string>", line 2601, in exportMeshs
  File "<string>", line 2535, in exportMesh
IndexError: list index out of range
cyclic OBWings
cyclic OBEngines
cyclic OBGrayAntennae
cyclic OBRadome
cyclic OBVertStabilizer
cyclic OBWhiteAntennae

Code: Select all

exporting mesh "VertStabilizer"
[Material "VertStabilazer"]
processing uvset  UVTex
exporting mesh "Radome_Radome"
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 3961, in buttonEvt
  File "<string>", line 3191, in exportStill
  File "<string>", line 3129, in export
  File "<string>", line 2601, in exportMeshs
  File "<string>", line 2532, in exportMesh
ValueError: object "Radome_Radome" not found
Detected GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
Detected GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
Detected GL_ARB_multitexture
Detected GL_ARB_shader_objects
Detected GL_ARB_vertex_shader
Detected GL_ARB_fragment_shader
Detected GL_ARB_vertex_program
Detected GL_ARB_depth_texture
Detected GL_EXT_separate_specular_color
unable to initialize image(0) in MAWings, image will not be available
unable to initialize image(0) in MARadome, image will not be available
unable to initialize image(0) in MAVertStabilazer, image will not be available

Code: Select all

-------------------------
BLENDIGO v1.1t9 SW
-------------------------
  Linux-platform: linux2  os.sep: /
  indigo path: /home/josh/3D/indigo_v1.1.9/indigo.exe

INDIGO EXPORT

scene.getChildren() deprecated!
	use scene.objects instead
Object Lamp in layer 2

Code: Select all

exporting mesh "WhiteAntennae"
[Material "WhiteAntennae"]
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 3961, in buttonEvt
  File "<string>", line 3191, in exportStill
  File "<string>", line 3141, in export
  File "<string>", line 2417, in exportMaterials
  File "<string>", line 871, in exportMaterial
NameError: global name 'matAbsRI' is not defined

For the error warning me about the nonuniform scaling, I was able to fix that by just applying Scale/Rotation to ObData.

For the "GrayAntennae" has no Indigo material set, I was able to fix that by just selecting the GrayAntennae object, hovering over the Blendigo script and clicking Conv to convert the Blender material to an Indigo material.

I think the activeObjectMat0 is not defined error may have happened when I ran the script without any objects selected.

All the others, I'm really not sure. Thanks for your efforts, and I'm excited to get up and running!

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Sun Sep 07, 2008 4:06 am

thanks for your report :)
I appreciate it but I regret people have these problems :? :wink:
no.1 yup always apply scale and rot
2. yup std blendigo warning for no material set
3. seems like a commonly experienced bug for me to fix :roll:
4. yes you should have got a pink text warning at the top of the UI to select a mesh
5. probably the same issue as 3
6. not sure whats happening there but I recognise the area of the script it refers to :roll:
7. not an issue just using an old python statement
8. thought I had killed this one - arises when using a specular material - temp work around is to select and unselect the 'use real data' button in that to set the missing value.

Hunkadoodledoo
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:42 pm

Post by Hunkadoodledoo » Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:30 pm

Thanks for the super quick reply, Big Fan. I'll check it out and see what happens. Keep up the good work!

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:28 pm

@BbB
looked at your file today and got it working - see attach

here is what I did:
-renamed the mesh names to be the same as the object name in each case in the links panel.
-flipped normals on your emitter planes - not sure why they were facing the wrong way...
-cleaned up the tex slots (left them out in this case). full fix is as described previously
-reset the meshlights materials to fix an apparent emission bug- see below

NOTE to everyone:
I discovered in BbB's file that an <emission_scale> block (relevant to glowing materials) was being written by the script in the <meshlight> block when it is not required there. Indigo will object to that naturally.
BUT the key point is: it was caused by old values saved in the .blend mixed with the new.
If you are having an issue with this exporter please try as a first step flushing out any old material values with 'reset'
In BbB's case he wanted to render an existing scene and this is possibly not the best idea given the differences between my version and smartdens - or at least he would have to go through it thoroughly and update it first.

Clearly though there are a few things and combinations that I dont do/see when importing and rendering SW stuff usually, or that I didnt test, and the exporter is tripping up on those for people. :?
I will try to get a fixed script up for those soon. :roll:
Attachments
Content2Indigo_redone.zip
(543.59 KiB) Downloaded 202 times

Post Reply
53 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests