Adding a second GPU

Come here for help & support.
Post Reply
12 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Adding a second GPU

Post by Pibuz » Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:16 pm

Hi to all!
I have a little help to ask you guys, since I'm no hardware expert. :mrgreen:

I'd like to add a second GPU to my recently-bought pc, which mounts:

CPU (Processor):Ryzen 7 1700X 8x 3.40GHz (YD170XBCAEWOF)
Mainboard:B350 MSI Tomahawk (7A36-002R)
Video Card (VGA Card):Zotac GeForce GTX 1070 Mini, 8GB GDDR5, DVI, HDMI, 3x DisplayPort (ZT-P10700G-10M)

I read that my motherboard doesn't support SLI, but it's "crossfire" ready.

Given the fact that i have no clue of what that means (...) would basically be useful to add my old GTX480 to get a little computing power for Indigo openCL?

Thank you a lot, and sorry for the (maybe) dumb question!


*EDIT* I found here some specs
https://www.zotac.com/us/product/graphi ... ini-0#spec

and seems like the new GPU DOEAS HAVE "SLI HB Bridge Supported"

*EDIT2* I found a post by ZomB saying that Indigo doesn't use SLi or Crossfire :lol:
So, basically, it's just connect the two f***ing videocards and play ahahahahah Am I right?

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Oscar J » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:03 am

The GTX will probably be pretty useless for OpenCL rendering. But you're right, no need for SLI when rendering with Indigo. :)

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Pibuz » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:08 am

hmm... they're both GTX ahahahahahah
i guess you meant the 480

Ok then I'll give that a try and I'll let you guys know!

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2215
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by pixie » Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:23 am

I once share the same problem, but indigo itself had sorted out these issues. :)

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2645
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Pibuz » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:39 am

Ok guys! I added the second video card (turned out to be a GTX950, and not a GTX480.....), and a second screen!

It's very cool!

I had to connect the second screen to the 950 because I haven't the right adaptor. Is there a way to monitor the contribute of each video card to the calculation?

Just to know if I have done something wrong!

Thanks you guys!

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Lal-O » Wed Feb 27, 2019 2:33 pm

Oscar J wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:03 am
The GTX will probably be pretty useless for OpenCL rendering. But you're right, no need for SLI when rendering with Indigo. :)
Hi Oscar J !

What do you mean with the useless GTX ? I already have a GTX Titan X and is been working pretty fine so far, so...am i missing something? Do you have any other better sugestions :D ?)

Curiosly i found this topic looking out for some info about adding a second video card to my pc , i want to know if is possible to use 2( or 3 ..or 4 ..etc) different GPUs, like 2 Nvida and 1 AMD or 2 Radeon and 1 Nvidia and so on, being all different models.

I am asking this because now i can not afford other Titan X but i need more power so, any other a cheaper GPU would be fine unless they get useless together :roll:

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Feb 27, 2019 3:04 pm

Lal-O: Mixing different kinds of GPUs works fine.

The only thing to watch out for is if one is way more powerful than the other you may lose some efficiency.

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Lal-O » Wed Feb 27, 2019 4:56 pm

Thx for the reply Ono 👍

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Oscar J » Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:04 am

Lal-O wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 2:33 pm
Oscar J wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:03 am
The GTX will probably be pretty useless for OpenCL rendering. But you're right, no need for SLI when rendering with Indigo. :)
Hi Oscar J !

What do you mean with the useless GTX ?
I meant the GTX480 that Pibuz was talking about.

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Lal-O » Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:50 am

Oscar J wrote:
Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:04 am
Lal-O wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 2:33 pm
Oscar J wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:03 am
The GTX will probably be pretty useless for OpenCL rendering. But you're right, no need for SLI when rendering with Indigo. :)
Hi Oscar J !

What do you mean with the useless GTX ?
I meant the GTX480 that Pibuz was talking about.
Oh , i see...but could it be really useless? I mean ,would it not give some extra little power even if is an old model or that gpu has not the required technology to work for OpenCL? :?

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Oscar J » Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:40 pm

Lal-O wrote:
Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:50 am


Oh , i see...but could it be really useless? I mean ,would it not give some extra little power even if is an old model or that gpu has not the required technology to work for OpenCL? :?
Well, consider that the oldest Nvidia GPU in the benchmark is a GTX 560 and that provides about 5% of the performance of a 1080 Ti. OnoSendai just mentioned that you lose efficiency with GPUs that don’t have roughly matching performance, which could actually result in a net loss of performance. Then there’s the issue of 250 W power consumption and how much heat the GTX 480 will generate. Is it worth it? And that’s before even taking into account the huge bottleneck that is 1,5 GB of GPU memory, which will prevent rendering of anything remotely texture- or geometry heavy.

In essence, probably more or less useless. :wink:

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Adding a second GPU

Post by Lal-O » Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:06 am

Oscar J wrote:
Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:40 pm
Lal-O wrote:
Thu Feb 28, 2019 7:50 am


Oh , i see...but could it be really useless? I mean ,would it not give some extra little power even if is an old model or that gpu has not the required technology to work for OpenCL? :?
Well, consider that the oldest Nvidia GPU in the benchmark is a GTX 560 and that provides about 5% of the performance of a 1080 Ti. OnoSendai just mentioned that you lose efficiency with GPUs that don’t have roughly matching performance, which could actually result in a net loss of performance. Then there’s the issue of 250 W power consumption and how much heat the GTX 480 will generate. Is it worth it? And that’s before even taking into account the huge bottleneck that is 1,5 GB of GPU memory, which will prevent rendering of anything remotely texture- or geometry heavy.

In essence, probably more or less useless. :wink:

Definitely is useless :lol:

So, i finally decided the second gpu for my pc and i went for the 1070 Ti, i can not wait to see how it works with my Titan X. I hope it worth it :D

Post Reply
12 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests