.exr maps

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Blender Indigo export script
Jacco
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:34 am
Location: My Chair

.exr maps

Post by Jacco » Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:35 am

when I try using .exr maps for env maps, this is what I get:

Image

Jacco;

User avatar
Kosmokrator
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Greece-Athens

Post by Kosmokrator » Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:00 am

wow :shock: nice colors nice bug... :lol:

ok i dont have any idea why this happents...

u can post your exr map here?what emmits exactlly?
1)Core i7 965XE stock CLOCK ,PSU:CHIEFTEC 850W
M/B ASUS P6T DELUXE,WATERCOOLING ZALMAN RESERATOR 2
MEMORY:6GB CORRSAIR @1600,Ati HD 4870x2,
MONITOR:LG 1950SQ,CASE:THERMALTAKE SOPRANO

User avatar
jurasek
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:23 pm
Location: Poland

Post by jurasek » Wed Nov 01, 2006 12:43 pm

spherical or latlong?

greetz,
jur

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4656
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Post by Zom-B » Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:32 pm

he he... :D
HDR Lightning + another Light Source, as far as I can remember...

BTW: nice Car :wink:
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
tungee
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:17 pm
Location: Gießen Germany

Post by tungee » Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:51 pm

saturday night fever:disco lightning! 8) :twisted:
Music has the right to children!

User avatar
boweeb007
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Columbus, OH (USA)

Post by boweeb007 » Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:11 am

spherical or latlong?
Good question - make sure you're set to latlong.

Example:

Code: Select all

	<env_map>
		<latlong>
			<path>example.exr</path>
			<gain>1</gain>
		</latlong>
	</env_map>

Jacco
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:34 am
Location: My Chair

Post by Jacco » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:53 am

That might just be the problem. it was set to spherical. nobody I knew had used these .exrs before, we didi have a clue of what was going to happen.

thanks for the quick response.
i'm using these probes.

Jacco;

User avatar
afecelis
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:14 am
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:26 am

@Jacco: what 3d modeling app are you using?
There was some insight on this regard for blender. Check it here:
http://www.indigorenderer.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=518
AMD Ryzen 7 1800 @3.6ghz, 32GB ddr4 3200 mhz Ram, 2X Nvidia Gtx 1070 8GB, Win10/Elementary OS 5.0 Juno (ubuntu 18.04), Blender/Sketchup/Modo/Cinema4d

User avatar
arneoog
Indigo 100
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by arneoog » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:31 am

I think you used the EXR exporter for PhotoShop :P
I get the same result when I export with that.. :?

Don't know why, though...
Arne OOG - My Portfolio

Jacco
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:34 am
Location: My Chair

Post by Jacco » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:32 am

since I posted this under the blender exporter forum I assume i'm using blender :D

thanks for the link. it is working now. I can see the refection of the map on my car. allthough the background (world) of my picture is still grey.

Jacco;
Last edited by Jacco on Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
afecelis
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 4:14 am
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:51 am

Jacco wrote:since I posted this under the blender exporter forum I assume i'm using blender :D
Jacco;
you're absolutely right! :oops: :oops: I got confused with another thread :wink: But I'm glad it's working now. I recommend you to try converting some of those evermotion hdrs into exr. They give some nice results :wink:
AMD Ryzen 7 1800 @3.6ghz, 32GB ddr4 3200 mhz Ram, 2X Nvidia Gtx 1070 8GB, Win10/Elementary OS 5.0 Juno (ubuntu 18.04), Blender/Sketchup/Modo/Cinema4d

Jacco
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:34 am
Location: My Chair

Post by Jacco » Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:20 am

I've used several .exr's, all of them turn my scene grey...

Image
[Indigo; 45 minutes; .exrmap = pisa]
thanks for all the help people.
any idea's to get my world right?

Jacco;

User avatar
boweeb007
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Columbus, OH (USA)

Post by boweeb007 » Thu Nov 02, 2006 6:18 am

Play with the gain setting (turn it way up - try 1, 1000, 100000, etc). Do you have any emitters? There's been a lot of confusion about how environment maps interact with other light sources. Here's the best response on the subject I've read:

http://www.indigorenderer.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=84

Even if that isn't the problem, it's something everyone should be aware of.

IanC
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:46 am

Post by IanC » Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:22 pm

EDIT - Forget this, I'm wrong!

In the XML file, is there a background bit that has the EXR in, and one with something like

Code: Select all

<spectrum>
<rbg> 1 1 1 </rbg>
</spectrum>
?

If so, delete the one with the RGB bit in. No idea if this is the problem, but possible :?

Ian

IanC
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:46 am

Post by IanC » Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:09 pm

Aha.

Perhaps this is the problem:
Delete any background element + its contents. You should have an env_map thing, though.

Or, do you have ground plane on when you export?

Post Reply
29 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests