Tyson Logo Keychain experiments

Show off your final renders
7 posts • Page 1 of 1
mzungu

Tyson Logo Keychain experiments

Post by mzungu » Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:47 am

I'm not sure this is so much a "finished project" as a test of different settings on the same scene. I'll try to describe the differences properly, but I'm a noob and have more questions than answers...

This was created using 0.6 test 1 with 2 threads run over the weekend (60+ hrs) at twice this rez (1440 x 960). It is set inside an enclosed box with two mesh lights & nk metals (au & ag).

This version went back to 0.5 (due to probs with env_maps I was having on 0.6) and basically removed the cube enclosure replacing with the Uffizi HDR. Only minor other changes were made, most notably the exponent on the keychain pieces. It was also run for less time with only one thread.

This version is shown mostly for contrast with the other versions, as it was obviously only rendered for a short time. The only change here was to switch to the Kitchen Probe HDR. The lighting becomes much more dramatic, I think, but not totally satisfactory, so...

This version was my attempt to pump some more light into the above version. I start with boosting the <gain> from 0.0004 to 0.4 on the <spectrum><blackbody> portion of the meshlights. Well this basically blacked out the rest of image - not at all the desired effect. So next I tinkered with the <temperature> of the above tags and after some tweaking, eventually came to this point. To get this I also had to boost the gain on the env_map to 2.5 to get it to effect the scene as much as it does here. I'm thinking the <blackbody> option is not the best way to go on these meshlights. I'm just not clear on the options available and what all they do (in layman's terms.) I'm still not that pleased with the lighting on this one. Its hard to get this stuff right! (But kinda fun to tinker with, eh? :wink: )

Previous blender and yafray renders of this scene can be viewed here.