blendigo SW 1.1.9 (Beta)

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Blender Indigo export script
Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

blendigo SW 1.1.9 (Beta)

Post by Big Fan » Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:12 pm

ok its about done for now, you guys can play around with it till smartden updates official blendigo after his holiday
I'm going nutty sorting through 4251 lines of code anyway :roll:

please read the instructions in the .zip

if you like it fine - if you dont well tough :wink:
If you find a serious issue that makes this useless for others to download please tell me so I can fix it
and dont forget to tell ono of any Indigo bugs

BTW the IES images I used are 320x240 which someone made for Lithonia lights

EDIT: added my basic 'photometric' test folder for your convenience

EDIT2: A version 1.1.10 for Indigo 1.1.10 is out please use that - this one has a few bugs - thanks BF :)

EDIT3: :I have now removed the files - again, please use the 1.1.10 version
Attachments
photometric.JPG
photometric.JPG (15.64 KiB) Viewed 6333 times
more UI.JPG
more UI.JPG (26.23 KiB) Viewed 6333 times
Last edited by Big Fan on Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:04 am, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:26 pm

Nice, thanks Big Fan.

User avatar
airxart
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

Post by airxart » Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:08 pm

I'll give it a try. :D
Thanks Big Fan

Photometrics didn't work for me even from console.
I'll try more tests later.
Regular emitters work fine.
Non-uniform meshes give me trouble. (indigo doesn't like 'em)

A radio button to switch the script layout to landscape would be cool.
I have no idea what that would involve code wise.
I like the buttons layout and the added features. More to play with.
And thanks for the info text file. That really helps. :D
Last edited by airxart on Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
palawat
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:45 pm
Location: Bangkok, TH

Post by palawat » Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:38 pm

Thanks a bunch, Big Fan.

Now I have something to play with. :wink:

<edit>
ps. BTW, I'm just wondering, blendigo SW? What does the "SW" mean?
Cheers,

Q9550 2.83 GHz, Geforce 9400 GT, 4 GB ram, XP 32/Vista 64

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:27 pm

@airxart
can you see and change the IES pics in the bottom of the script window?
maybe you have the ' photometric' folder in the wrong place
I checked and for the console it is working for me.
sorry, if anyone else reports the same issue I'll go bug hunting :roll:

changing the layout would take some time - maybe in the future :wink: -I just have it down one side of my screen but I realise thats not the way most folk probably have their blender window set up :?

@palawat
SW stands for Solidworks http://www.solidworks.com/
I import vrml files as a batch ex SW with that part of the script.
sometimes 1000's of parts

User avatar
Pinko5
Posts: 497
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:15 pm
Location: Italy

Post by Pinko5 » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:11 pm

Tnx Big!!!
I try it asap
Luca. ;)

User avatar
airxart
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

Post by airxart » Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:02 am

Big Fan wrote:@airxart
can you see and change the IES pics in the bottom of the script window?
maybe you have the ' photometric' folder in the wrong place
I checked and for the console it is working for me.
sorry, if anyone else reports the same issue I'll go bug hunting :roll:
I only tried it twice with the IES 1.
I can scroll thru the picture of IES examples, select one.
It is in the indigo folder.
Let me test some more before the bug hunt. Maybe I'm setting something wrong? :shock:

User avatar
ozzie
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 12:22 pm
Location: Poland

Post by ozzie » Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:13 am

Great Thx!

johanjohan
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 3:33 pm
Location: New Caledonia

Post by johanjohan » Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:15 am

hi Big Fan!

thanks for the exporter

I have a 15" for screen, and I cant to see all blendigo's menu
because the material menu is to up :(

its possible to have a menu with lateral material? :roll:

thanks

Johan

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:29 am

@johanjohan

my sympathies about the 15" screen.
this was originally made for a 1280x960 19" crt and that is really not big enough for a blender window with all the buttons etc.

even if I change it to side by side its not going to leave you a lot of useful space for anything else at 800x600 or 1024x768.
possibly from a practical viewpoint you should look at getting a bigger screen but as I said it is possible to change the lay out but it will take some work to do.
at the moment to be honest I am a bit tired of scripting so you will be waiting a while, sorry.

If you add up the time I spent on Indigo stuff the 4251 lines of code probably easily equate to US$4251 of my spare time... :roll:

as I said I am sharing this SW version with the community until smartden posts an updated one. that script is more compact if you can wait...

on a brighter note -I understand you can make scroll bars for blender python (although I havent seen any docs for that) would that help? or at least a vertical one?

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:00 am

BTW @blendigoists
re the IES catalogue I was thinking when I come back to updating the script next I will add a dropdown menu(s) so that you can access other folders...and also a menu for camera responses...in case anyone feels like I do those are a bit unfriendly ATM.

I see there are no complaints (yet) about stuff like the auto texture slots so I guess it is generally ok and intuitive for people to pick up using in the meantime despite the Solidworks bent?

EDIT: one thing I possibly didnt explain well is that even though a texture is loaded in the blendigo UI if you want to temporarily disable it for a particular export just unselect the green square next to it - only to remove it completely from the texture stack additionally use the 'populate ' button

sk2k
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:26 pm

Post by sk2k » Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:43 pm

Hi,

thanks for your exporter. I did not see that coming. :)
Hopefully i can "play" with it this weekend.

MfG
sk2k

BbB
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by BbB » Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:30 pm

Sorry, script doesn't work for me.
On a simple scene I get a "List index out of range" error at each attempt to export.

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:57 am

@BbB
sorry I cant fix it with that info.
can I have a screen capture of the error and last line number from the Blender console please or better yet the .blend of the simple scene with the script settings saved as well.

some 98 people have already downloaded this and no one says anything about it if they have it too which is not very helpful to me or to others to say the least.

< shakes head - thinks why bother >

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:16 am

"No news is good news"

Post Reply
53 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests