Maxigo 1.15.7-Test1a [update-09.07.08]

Announcements, requests and support regarding the 3DS MAX exporter
lady D
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:27 pm

Post by lady D » Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:35 am

i'm stupid suv... can you post the setting of parameters???pleace :oops:

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:23 pm

lady D wrote:i'm stupid suv... can you post the setting of parameters???pleace :oops:
Feel free to experiment by yourself.
It's the best way to learn what each parameter is doing.

Here's a shot. Pretty much the default settings except iterations is set to 6.
Attachments
box_disp.jpg
box_disp.jpg (71.73 KiB) Viewed 3185 times

User avatar
filippo
Posts: 658
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: italia(senigallia-an)
Contact:

Post by filippo » Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:36 pm

wow......the displacemente work very well.....but I have a stuid question......what I must do for having the stamp in the render?
filippo
Attachments
11.jpeg
stamp
11.jpeg (38.78 KiB) Viewed 3165 times
disp ex.jpg
displacement
disp ex.jpg (305.99 KiB) Viewed 3167 times
2x Xeon quad core ghz 2.66(8 core)+4g ram+quadro fx
2 x Xeon Quad 5540 (16 core)+16GB ram+ Nvidia GTX 295 1800mb

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Displacement is working great

Post by Doug Armand » Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:55 pm

Had a few simple plays with it- seems to work great. Seems fast too. Will try some more demanding versions later.

At this rate I may stick with 3DS Max - you swine! :lol:

Only thing - and I really am nitpicking here. Can you make the map button on the displacement map modifier drag and dropable?
Attachments
displacement_test.jpg
Display took 0.89192 s
Total render time elapsed: 4 m, 14 s
Done 84680000.00000 samples (275.65104 samples per pixel)
332979.31794 samples / second (3.00319 micro-seconds / sample)
displacement_test.jpg (83.88 KiB) Viewed 3159 times
Doug

Doug Armand

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:04 pm

@filippo
For the information bar set the overlay parameter to true in inifile.xml under Indigo's root directory. I haven't had time yet to put that on the interface.

@doug
Well, i'm using the standard map button. Don't know why it isn't drag and dropable already by default. I also can't find such parameter, so I currently have no idea how to do that.

User avatar
tacos
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:28 am
Location: roma, italy
Contact:

Post by tacos » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:01 pm

hi suvakas i've a little problem in prewie material of material database
PS the displacement is fantastic
Attachments
Untitled-frame-0000.png
Untitled-frame-0000.png (877.12 KiB) Viewed 3149 times

User avatar
tacos
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:28 am
Location: roma, italy
Contact:

Post by tacos » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:01 pm

...
Attachments
indigo11.jpg
indigo11.jpg (247.29 KiB) Viewed 3144 times

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:09 pm

What's the problem?

User avatar
tacos
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:28 am
Location: roma, italy
Contact:

Post by tacos » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:12 pm

the material non visible in cube :(

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:18 pm

This is not maxigo related.
Can you display an entire blend mat in viewport? I mean can you do that with standard max blend mat? I don't think so.
Go to a sub map or mask level and turn that on for visual feedback.

User avatar
rosario975
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:49 am
Location: ITALY
Contact:

Post by rosario975 » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:30 pm

HI suvakas
the displace it supports procedural maps?
to me nn supported :cry: :cry:
where mistake?

User avatar
tacos
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:28 am
Location: roma, italy
Contact:

Post by tacos » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:33 pm

i,ve resolved, my problem... sorry

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:34 pm

@rosario
No, not yet.
This is only a test version for testing ImportMat.
Is it working for you? Did you read the 1st post?

User avatar
rosario975
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:49 am
Location: ITALY
Contact:

Post by rosario975 » Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:40 pm

thanks suvakas
it imports material goes well :wink: :wink:

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1033
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Post by Doug Armand » Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:16 pm

[quote="suvakas@doug
Well, i'm using the standard map button. Don't know why it isn't drag and dropable already by default. I also can't find such parameter, so I currently have no idea how to do that.[/quote]

Not a biggie - just a simple UI issue.

OK have now tried out a few of the displaced materials in the library - my opinions?

The ImportMat works excellently. No problems. Very easy to use. It's neat that you take the .pigm file and unpack the textures under the Indigo program folder. Once I worked that out was real easy to add the displacement map to the modifier. Nice implementation.

Probably a known issue - but doesn't seem displacement works with emitters?

Looking real good. I have to say the ease of using Indigo materials with your implementation in 3DS Max is making me re-evaluate my move to blender. Nice work

Anything else on this version you want testing Suvakas?
Attachments
TestMaxigo.max-frame-0000 - Copy.jpg
TestMaxigo.max-frame-0000 - Copy.jpg (238.8 KiB) Viewed 3097 times
Doug

Doug Armand

Post Reply
55 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests