Blendigo for v1.1.5

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Blender Indigo export script
User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:07 am

If you want a temp fix for using pigms (well its not a fix its a workaround really). Un-pack them using 7zip. Then open the .igm file with notepad, and enter the appropriate information where it belongs. If there is an imagine file (which should be the case, since its packed), rename it (if you want) and uv map it like you would normally and add it where it should be in the GUI of your exporter (this is also indicated inside the .igm file. Because there will be apath in sections like "albedo" "Bump" and such).

I have never bothered to learn how .pigms work, because in all honesty the "procedure" described above gives me more control over the material, since I'm basically copying the settings in. I can therefore change them later, if you just link to an external material, you don't have that option (you can modify the file yes, but you loose the original settings).

User avatar
Heavily Tessellated
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:20 pm
Location: Huh?

sick of memorizing scale ratios!

Post by Heavily Tessellated » Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:30 am

Hey, got tired of looking up conversion ratios, made a little hack. (I intentionally left WorldScale & WorldScaleExp exposed and updating; you can move them but they'll snap back, unless you pick 'manually set')

Code: Select all

diff -Nabur blendigo_v115.py blendigo_v115.py > diff
attached.
Attachments
blendigoscale.jpg
screenshot of Environment panel
blendigoscale.jpg (32.55 KiB) Viewed 3957 times
diff.zip
diff from blendigo_v115.py
(zipped as .py is not allowed)
(1.54 KiB) Downloaded 197 times

migero
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:33 pm

Re: sick of memorizing scale ratios!

Post by migero » Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:07 am

hey good idea on that i allso wanted to add material selection for Ground plane but i cant really do that

User avatar
SmartDen
Developer
Posts: 999
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:58 pm
Location: Canary Islands
Contact:

Post by SmartDen » Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:21 am

ground plane is deprecated and will not be longer used
Check normals, dude!

Image
Image

User avatar
mmyjona
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:41 pm
Location: China

Post by mmyjona » Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:53 am

can anyone fix the proview problem?

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:04 am

if I could code python and other stuff I would but for now read the thread there are a few workarounds.

pxl666
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:10 pm

Post by pxl666 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:08 pm

Borgleader wrote:If you want a temp fix for using pigms (well its not a fix its a workaround really). Un-pack them using 7zip. Then open the .igm file with notepad, and enter the appropriate information where it belongs. If there is an imagine file (which should be the case, since its packed), rename it (if you want) and uv map it like you would normally and add it where it should be in the GUI of your exporter (this is also indicated inside the .igm file. Because there will be apath in sections like "albedo" "Bump" and such).

I have never bothered to learn how .pigms work, because in all honesty the "procedure" described above gives me more control over the material, since I'm basically copying the settings in. I can therefore change them later, if you just link to an external material, you don't have that option (you can modify the file yes, but you loose the original settings).
okay - so we cannot use igm directly but u propose to create material manually and just use maps from pigm? is that right as i understood?

@Smarty - are u planning to incorporate pigms/igms within blendigo or if there is any problem that makes it impossible? can i also ask u for automatic use of disp map (when disp button is pressed within blender material)

cheers and thank u for getting the job done!

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:05 am

Actually its the other way around. you cant use pigms directly, you need to extract the .igm (along with the image file if any) FROM the .pigm.

pxl666
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:10 pm

Post by pxl666 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 4:58 am

Borgleader wrote:Actually its the other way around. you cant use pigms directly, you need to extract the .igm (along with the image file if any) FROM the .pigm.
ookay...i downloaded grapejuice from mattDB and tried to use it on a simple sphere - no texture nedeed. i unpacked igm from pigm but error popped up -> see attachment . so do i have to edit matt name withim igm? and then it has to match matt name within blender??? its really painful when working with complex scenes...
Attachments
2008-07-11_184310.jpg
error popup
2008-07-11_184310.jpg (11.42 KiB) Viewed 3690 times

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:06 am

you have to use the same name in the blender material as the one specified inside the .igm file (within the <name>...</name>)

pxl666
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:10 pm

Post by pxl666 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:53 am

Borgleader wrote:you have to use the same name in the blender material as the one specified inside the .igm file (within the <name>...</name>)
yepp...and thats the pain...
> @smarty? - can this be done automatically ? hope im not too annoying (if yes - forgive me pls!)

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Sat Jul 12, 2008 8:07 am

maybe a "get mat name" button could be added. but tbh just open it up in notepad...its not so hard. I have the igm set to open in notepad by default so i just double click...its easy really.

pxl666
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:10 pm

Post by pxl666 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 8:58 am

Borgleader wrote:maybe a "get mat name" button could be added. but tbh just open it up in notepad...its not so hard. I have the igm set to open in notepad by default so i just double click...its easy really.

yeee but imagine a scene with 50+ matts...geez whatta mess..
im just wondering if this is impossible to be done by script itself, as well as assigning displace map and alike...thats the sripts are made for i think - to do tedious things automatically...

User avatar
SmartDen
Developer
Posts: 999
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:58 pm
Location: Canary Islands
Contact:

Post by SmartDen » Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:48 pm

Blendigo with animation
Please test!
Attachments
blendigo_v115.zip
Blendigo with animation
(30.44 KiB) Downloaded 334 times
Check normals, dude!

Image
Image

BbB
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by BbB » Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:16 pm

Thanks Smart.

Post Reply
204 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests