MtI 0.9

Announcements, requests and support regarding the MAYA exporter
User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

MtI 0.9

Post by dougal2 » Sat Dec 15, 2007 2:22 am

Nothing much has changed in this release, but there have been a few tweaks here and there to the export process to make it work more smoothly.
I mostly want to get this release out before the Christmas holidays, as it's quite stable and no doubt over the holidays I'll have a bit of time to do further development.

Biggest changes are:
- better support for display layers / export visible
- removed "File exists, Overwrite" prompt for .objs
- better support for HDRI maps
- fixed HDRI/BGcol gain
- better linux support

There might be a few more, check the CHANGELOG.txt as usual :)

Suggestions on how we can move MtI forward into v1.0 are welcome.
Attachments
MayaToIndigo09-20071214.zip
(216.74 KiB) Downloaded 213 times
Last edited by dougal2 on Sat Mar 29, 2008 4:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:46 am

Great thanks !

Will check that later, gtg now.
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:09 pm

REV 186

I've done some experimental work on the GUI:
- moved some controls into sections where they make more sense
- made each section a collapsible frameLayout
- put all tool buttons into shelf tabs, and removed the need for show/hide toolbox
- generally made the controls fit a bit better, also made the main window the correct size

Please let me know if this was worth it, or whether it was better before.
(I prefer it ;) )

Cheers.
Attachments
mti_default.PNG
This is what you first see...
mti_default.PNG (14.04 KiB) Viewed 4696 times
mti_full.PNG
... and all frames open, showing new toolbox
mti_full.PNG (17.42 KiB) Viewed 4698 times

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Mon Dec 17, 2007 2:45 am

REV 187

more work on GUI.
Attachments
mti_r187.PNG
mti_r187.PNG (15.19 KiB) Viewed 4672 times

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:59 am

Looks good so far, the tools stuff is nice ! I guess the scriptNode is still a mess, thought...
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:25 am

CTZn wrote:I guess the scriptNode is still a mess, thought...
yup. i don't think there's much we can do about it though, I've looked at the AEtemplates stuff and it would seem to re-define templates for _every_ scriptnode (or node) and not a specific one (ie, mti_settings).

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:50 am

would seem to re-define templates for _every_ scriptnode
You mean it would reset templates and do it's own ?
obsolete asset

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:52 am

well, I looked at some examples that modified shader nodes.

for example a proc called AElambertTemplate (or something) will define a new template for every lambert node, not a single individual shader.

further than that, how they actually work is still a bit of a mystery :?

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:14 am

REV 191

I've added an extension of bkircher's <!-- mti_UseCommentAaMaterial --> concept to the code.

For Meshlights:
If the Notes field contains

Code: Select all

<!-- mti_replaceNotesMeshlight -->
then the notes field will be replaced with the light settings during export.
On _subsequent_ exports, this notes field will be used for the lights

For shaders:
If the notes field contains

Code: Select all

<!-- mti_replaceNotesShader -->
Then the material XML will be put into the notes field.
Currently only PhongE materials will use this code in further exports.

I've also added 2 helper buttons to the GUI to insert the correct <!-- mti_replace??? --> tag into the shader's notes for you.

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:19 am

REV 193
Added option to save materials to separate .igm files (in scene folder). When this is enabled, the materials are written into the main scene as <include>s.

Changed default scene file extension to .igs

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:19 pm

Having some problems... It seems to export to .xml OK, but Indigo freezes on the scene file:

Building Mesh '|group6|pCylinder3|polySurfaceShape1'...
0 vertices (0 B)
0 triangles (0 B)
Couldn't find matching cached tree file, rebuilding tree...
TriTree::build()
calcing root AABB.

I have included the .mb here, if you could please check it out...
[EDIT] Damn - to big to put here...

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:54 pm

it's because that particular object has a build history, the "original" meshes don't export correctly, but can be safely deleted.

Code: Select all

delete |group6|pCylinder3|polySurfaceShape1;
as you can see, it's an empty mesh anyway - 0 verts/tris

I've already asked Ono to handle this error more elegantly in future too.

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:06 am

dougal2
Thanks! I will try cleaning up the history - meanwhile, here is a mental ray clay render =)
Attachments
fan.png
fan.png (324.63 KiB) Viewed 4413 times

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:20 am

looks good :)

User avatar
Phr0stByte
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:07 am
Location: Centreville, VA
Contact:

Post by Phr0stByte » Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:53 am

I am getting better in Maya - unfortunately, I am mortified on how difficult the transition from Maya to Indigo is. I cant really blame the script, as some of it may be Indigo too. I found the issue that was stopping Indigo before: It was the buttons on the fan, and deleting the history did not help. The render went fine only after DELETING all buttons but the first :(

On the upside, I am really liking MentalRay... LOL

Post Reply
59 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests