[REQ] Blended box mapping

Feature requests, bug reports and related discussion
User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4691
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

[REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by Zom-B » Mon May 13, 2013 9:44 am

blended box mapping is like usual box mapping but blends the edges of the texture so seams get eliminated quite well.

With that technique box mapping can be quickly used on complex objects as long as the main texture isnt to special

A complex explanation with images can be shown here:
http://www.neilblevins.com/cg_education ... apping.htm

I attach some examples from that link above for a quick overview:
seam.jpg
blurryseam.jpg
sphere1.jpg
sphere2.jpg
+1 are always welcome if you'll like to see that feature in Indigo too :)
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
wlf_alex
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:26 pm
Location: Russia-Moscow, Spain-Alicante
Contact:

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by wlf_alex » Mon May 13, 2013 10:01 am

+1
ArchiCAD 14, Cinema 4D r13, IndigoRender, VrayforC4D

User avatar
ENSLAVER
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:49 am

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by ENSLAVER » Mon May 13, 2013 2:28 pm

Damn why have I never heard of this. Would've made things so much easier.. yes I hate unwrapping/etc lol

Today most apps have some kind of texture painting tool build in that would give similar results in terms of applying seamless textures. Also there's things like zbrush, 3dcoat, even photoshop extended.

My biggest bugbear is exporting a scene and trying to apply a texture in indigo to an object with no UVs and having to re-export the scene. Perhaps exporters could automatically apply UVs to objects with none.

I'm torn whether indigo needs UV mapping capabilities, even simple ones. Given that most 3d apps have very well developed UV tools it may be a waste of time for indigo devs to work on UVs.

William
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:49 am
Location: Australia

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by William » Mon May 13, 2013 3:02 pm

Mapping other than UV mapping would be a welcome idea.

User avatar
Polinalkrimizei
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 6:59 am

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by Polinalkrimizei » Mon May 13, 2013 8:03 pm

Nice find!
I want it.

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6225
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by OnoSendai » Tue May 14, 2013 2:10 am

It looks like an interesting technique.

It's not really a UV mapping technique, rather it's a technique for blending together different textures each with different mappings.

it could be done with ISL quite easily I imagine :)

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4691
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by Zom-B » Tue May 14, 2013 2:25 am

OnoSendai wrote:It's not really a UV mapping technique, rather it's a technique for blending together different textures each with different mappings.
it could be done with ISL quite easily I imagine :)
As long as it ends up with a workflow friendly integration in the Exporters I'm in :)
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

[REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by zeitmeister » Tue May 14, 2013 4:44 am

Its called Triplanar-Mapping in VRED... ^^
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

Mor4us
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:46 am
Contact:

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by Mor4us » Wed May 15, 2013 11:52 pm

+1
could imagine integration in host apps gets kind of difficult :/
C4D R20 Studio
mad-imagery.com

User avatar
galinette
1st Place Winner
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:39 am
Location: Nantes, France
Contact:

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by galinette » Mon May 20, 2013 10:21 pm

Hi,

This example shader does this with a simple diffuse material. The map is not positionned with UV maps (as this would require 3 UV sets, painful, or UVW set, not available in Indigo), but uses world position and thus maps along XYZ scene axis. You can scale the texture with the mapsize parameter, in meters. It's yet not possible to shift the texture but this would not be difficult to add. The smoothness of the blend between cube faces is tunable with the smoothness parameter.

By the way, how is it possible to set a shader texture without manual editing of the igs code?? This was possible in the past with the standalone material editor

Etienne
Attachments
softcubemap.png
softcubemap.pigm
(878.43 KiB) Downloaded 162 times
Eclat-Digital Research
http://www.eclat-digital.com

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1999
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

[REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by zeitmeister » Mon May 20, 2013 10:52 pm

Mor4us wrote:+1
could imagine integration in host apps gets kind of difficult :/
Could be a simple checkbox with a blend value in the material, which is automatically applied when cubemapping is recognized.
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4691
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by Zom-B » Mon May 20, 2013 11:06 pm

zeitmeister wrote:
Mor4us wrote:+1
could imagine integration in host apps gets kind of difficult :/
Could be a simple checkbox with a blend value in the material, which is automatically applied when cubemapping is recognized.
That blending could be actually aplied to other UV metodes as well like plane or cylinder...
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6225
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by OnoSendai » Mon May 20, 2013 11:34 pm

galinette wrote: By the way, how is it possible to set a shader texture without manual editing of the igs code?? This was possible in the past with the standalone material editor
It's not currently, this ability got lost. I'll look at adding it back.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by CTZn » Tue May 21, 2013 8:05 am

OnoSendai wrote:
galinette wrote: By the way, how is it possible to set a shader texture without manual editing of the igs code?? This was possible in the past with the standalone material editor
It's not currently, this ability got lost. I'll look at adding it back.
Furthermore, shader textures have been returning black after the shader is edited for quite some time too.
obsolete asset

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6225
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: [REQ] Blended box mapping

Post by OnoSendai » Tue May 21, 2013 8:57 am

CTZn wrote:
OnoSendai wrote:
galinette wrote: By the way, how is it possible to set a shader texture without manual editing of the igs code?? This was possible in the past with the standalone material editor
It's not currently, this ability got lost. I'll look at adding it back.
Furthermore, shader textures have been returning black after the shader is edited for quite some time too.
Yeah, that's pretty annoying. Will fix.

Post Reply
17 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 3 guests