error (0.6 release)

General questions about Indigo, the scene format, rendering etc...
Post Reply
13 posts • Page 1 of 1
motorsep
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

error (0.6 release)

Post by motorsep » Wed Nov 15, 2006 1:31 am

I started rendering of my small scene with alot of polygons (and big .xml file ~ 130Mb). Here is what I got:

Image

What is the deal? (I have P4 1.4GHz 512 Mb RAM)

lego
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 7:29 am

Post by lego » Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:00 am

I think that the problem is that you have a 90k+ polys object there
try to split it up in smaller objects (this should reduce loading time too)

User avatar
eman7613
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 2:52 pm

Post by eman7613 » Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:56 am

my expirance is, anything above 84k pollys will crash and die :(
Yes i know, my spelling sucks

atmmatt
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:33 am
Location: Pennsylvania - USA

Post by atmmatt » Wed Nov 15, 2006 3:45 am

I have an imported stl into blender that ends up being 90 meg, crashes no matter what I do... Only 6 parts but many many many tri's...
"To be, or not to be" That is a question?

motorsep
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by motorsep » Wed Nov 15, 2006 4:19 am

So what is the way to fix that?

User avatar
eman7613
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 2:52 pm

Post by eman7613 » Wed Nov 15, 2006 4:36 am

break the object into two. not sure how to do it in blender. IN cinema you select some polygons, click disconnect, go back the original object, and delete the still selected pollys.
Yes i know, my spelling sucks

motorsep
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by motorsep » Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:23 am

Doesn't work :/ I have my object splitted on bunch of smaller objects. Sucks.

motorsep
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by motorsep » Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:06 am

Where is the main guy?! That's not cool :evil:
I was planning on using Indigo for my industrial design projects, but it seems like it's capable of rendering monkeys from Blender only :cry:
Or maybe it because Blender's exporter is crooked :?

Phil
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:22 am
Location: St. Wendel, Germany

Post by Phil » Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:14 am

Hello,

I am sorry, I is really strange but I do not have such problems. I just made some tests, here are some results:


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
scene file path: 'glass\glass3.xml'
Using working directory path 'glass'.
created world.
Loading Scene 'glass\glass3.xml'...
Using Reinhard tone mapping with pre_scale=1.000000, post_scale=1.000000, burn=0.800000
Camera: white balance = E, using CIE XYZ chromacity (0.333333, 0.333333)
simple3d mesh vert mem used: 11.250KB (240 verts)
simple3d mesh tri mem used: 1.875KB (80 tris)
Loading tree from disk cache...
-----------TriTree::build()-------------
80 tris.
temp tris mem usage: 2.813KB
intersect_tris mem usage: 3.750KB
calcing root AABB.
max tree depth: 14
total nodes used: 945 (7.383KB)
total leafgeom size: 947 (3.699KB)
finished building tree.
Done.
simple3d mesh vert mem used: 564.656KB (12046 verts)
simple3d mesh tri mem used: 532.594KB (22724 tris)
Loading tree from disk cache...
-----------TriTree::build()-------------
22724 tris.
temp tris mem usage: 798.891KB
intersect_tris mem usage: 1.040MB
calcing root AABB.
max tree depth: 30
total nodes used: 835891 (6.377MB)
total leafgeom size: 834099 (3.182MB)
finished building tree.
Done.
simple3d mesh vert mem used: 7.471MB (163200 verts)
simple3d mesh tri mem used: 7.269MB (317608 tris)
Loading tree from disk cache...
-----------TriTree::build()-------------
317608 tris.
temp tris mem usage: 10.904MB
intersect_tris mem usage: 14.539MB
calcing root AABB.
max tree depth: 38
total nodes used: 2667201 (20.349MB)
total leafgeom size: 2635452 (10.053MB)
finished building tree.
Done.
-----------ObjectTree::build()-------------
5 objects.
calcing root AABB.
AABB: (-300.000000, -300.000000, -300.000000), (300.000000, 300.000000, 421.955383)
max tree depth: 6
reserving N nodes: 5(40B)
total nodes used: 13 (104B)
total leafgeom size: 10 (40B)
finished building tree.
Finished initialisation
RendererSettings::getInstance().bidirectional: 1
RendererSettings::getInstance().metropolis: 1
Starting threads... (num threads: 1)
Starting thread...(RNG seed=974232249)
doing initial warmup...
done initial warmup.
------------------------------------------------
Time elapsed: 0s
Done 0.00000 mutations (0.00000 mutations per pixel)
mutations_per_sec: 0.00000 (1.#INF0 micro-secs / mutation)
------------------------------------------------

What is wrong here?
Did I understand something wrong here?
Please tell me!
Should I try with some more triangles?

regards, Phil

motorsep
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by motorsep » Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:25 am

Do you use Blender and export from it using Indigo exporter?

Phil
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:22 am
Location: St. Wendel, Germany

Post by Phil » Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:48 am

Yes,

I use blender, and the steps are the following:
Pro/Engineer -> export in obj -> import in Blender
Some transformations in blender and -> export in indigo

Regards, Phil

motorsep
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:08 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Post by motorsep » Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:58 am

Hmm.. Strange, very strange.. I use Moi3D -> obj -> Blender -> some tune ups -> Indigo. What version of exporter do you use?

Phil
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:22 am
Location: St. Wendel, Germany

Post by Phil » Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:14 am

Hi,

I used 0.6 test 6 for the exporter in blender and 0.6 test 6 Indigo.

Regards, Phil

Post Reply
13 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 3 guests