How To Hyper Thread render

General questions about Indigo, the scene format, rendering etc...
Post Reply
6 posts • Page 1 of 1
† Large †
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:34 am

How To Hyper Thread render

Post by † Large † » Fri Feb 09, 2007 1:22 am

Hey yall... I'd like to know how to hyper thread render... You supose to add a -t in your xml file right..... But where are you supose to put it?? Cud some1 post up an example code showing how and where to place the -t.


Thanks

ryjo
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 6:16 am
Location: Pluton

Post by ryjo » Fri Feb 09, 2007 1:32 am

The '-t' should go on the command line, like this:

Code: Select all

indigo.exe -t 2 scene.xml
... where 'scene.xml' is the scene to render.

You can also change the default setting in infile.txt:

Code: Select all

"num_threads" "2"

† Large †
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:34 am

Post by † Large † » Fri Feb 09, 2007 1:33 am

oh my bad... i thought ur supose to add -t in the xml file... haha.. i must have miss read the topic about that...




Thanks ryjo

Kachu
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:12 am

Post by Kachu » Fri Feb 09, 2007 6:46 am

you also can edit the 'inifile.txt' file where it says
"num_threads" "1"
to "num_threads" "2"

My experience with my 2.4 Prescott HT was that using dual threads wasn't very useful (+5-10% Mutations per second, but Deathly killed other processes). My new C2D is a very different animal :D (+90-100% M.P.S., Hampering computer use)
Everyone else is doing it so : Core 2 duo E6600, 2 gb ram, Nvidia 8800 640 GTS and 250 gb hd

ryjo
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 6:16 am
Location: Pluton

Post by ryjo » Fri Feb 09, 2007 7:08 am

A good way to start indigo is to use

Code: Select all

start /belownormal indigo.exe -t 2 scene.xml
This works on Win XP. It will put the indigo process in a lower scheduling class ("below normal") so the pc doesn't run so slowly for other processes.

User avatar
boweeb007
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:00 am
Location: Columbus, OH (USA)

Post by boweeb007 » Fri Feb 09, 2007 7:11 am

Prescott cores haven't always been dual core. Also, hyper threading itself doesn't mean dual core - it provides two logical cores. Though, if you have a dual core with hyper-threading, you could use 4 threads!

That might explain the performance difference.

Post Reply
6 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests