Put it in the RAM

Feature requests, bug reports and related discussion
Post Reply
10 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Put it in the RAM

Post by zeitmeister » Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:33 am

Hey,
I was thinking what would happen if Indigo were able to export the scene directly to the machine's RAM?
Optional, for sure?
Export would be a lot faster, and could nearly reach realtime-speed.
For efficiancy, Indigo could check and export only new meshes.

What do you think about that?
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4665
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by Zom-B » Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:55 am

You refer to the exporter writing directly into RAM not Indigo itself, right?!

I really like the idea, shouldn't cost any extra RAM at all and give some faster previews, where 10sec export + startup time is a lot if you do previews all the time!

So here is my +1 :)
polygonmanufaktur.de

Voytech
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:57 am

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by Voytech » Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:59 am

Seems like a good idea for wip/preview renders. On a final render the extra 10s is not an issue when you're waiting a few hours anyway.

So yes, +1

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by zeitmeister » Tue Aug 06, 2013 4:24 am

Right.
As I said, in junction with the option only to export CHANGED meshes or textures.
Should be lightning-fast.
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2176
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by Oscar J » Tue Aug 06, 2013 4:58 am

Hell yes! +1

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6182
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by OnoSendai » Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:11 am

Using the c4d plugin already doesn't write to disk and uses RAM only

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by zeitmeister » Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:29 am

Really? But Export is as slow as exporting to the Standalone...
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4665
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by Zom-B » Tue Aug 06, 2013 6:20 am

OnoSendai wrote:Using the c4d plugin already doesn't write to disk and uses RAM only
For internal rendering yes... I usually still use the external version, since I can tweak parameters on the fly and take them over to C4D if they fit...
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2176
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by Oscar J » Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:30 am

OnoSendai wrote:Using the c4d plugin already doesn't write to disk and uses RAM only
Could we still have it for the other exporters? :roll:

Mor4us
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:46 am
Contact:

Re: Put it in the RAM

Post by Mor4us » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:55 am

Zom-B wrote:
OnoSendai wrote:Using the c4d plugin already doesn't write to disk and uses RAM only
For internal rendering yes... I usually still use the external version, since I can tweak parameters on the fly and take them over to C4D if they fit...
Thats what i requested the Realtime Preview for Cindigo for ;)
That would make your exporting redundant, especially because there's a lot of features not yet supported in the indigo gui but in the exporters
C4D R20 Studio
mad-imagery.com

Post Reply
10 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests