Maya To Indigo v0.6.2 (0.6)

Announcements, requests and support regarding the MAYA exporter
User avatar
arneoog
Indigo 100
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Maya To Indigo v0.6.2 (0.6)

Post by arneoog » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:12 am

Here it is, v0.6.2! 8)

Download Here

Change Log

New Functions:
- Made an new control for Mesh lights and Physical Sun
- Faster and better XML mesh generator (by Shawn L)
- Super small changes to the UI
- The Object Editor is made
- Support for specular materials
- Made a example scene for new users
- Also a little new automatic "namer" and "pather" in the save section

Not Working Functions:
- Material Editor
- Render Scene from Maya (may work)
- Rectangle Light
- The Edit Menu



Help File (Read Me)
Arne OOG - My Portfolio

User avatar
yourdaftpunk
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: Houston
Contact:

Post by yourdaftpunk » Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:55 am

Thanks!

Just tested the cornell box scene in Maya 7:
Image

-shawn

User avatar
homafloek
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 3:30 am

Post by homafloek » Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:01 am

super!
downloading.

how much faster did the mesh export actually become?

User avatar
yourdaftpunk
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: Houston
Contact:

Post by yourdaftpunk » Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:52 am

It's hard to say without running tests, but basically, orders of a magnitude. You were limited before to < 10,000 tris. Now, go ahead and try 1,000,000 tris. Seriously fast- I just wish I could compile it for Linux and OSX (huge mac fan by the way). Try the included cornell box scene - it should be instant.

-shawn

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:04 am

Fast like lightning fast, like exporting to .obj (or faster) :)

Er, friendly said, I represent Maya 8 users here and we are unhappy:

- The camera was working ok before, that's not true anymore (since the last update before 0.6.2 I think) :evil: That's the most annoying, no working cam...

- Sky Light creates a nurbs sphere with history and lambert1 assigned, nothing else; that may be fine but I don't know :? The funniest part is that I have desactivated History in Maya's status bar... And it says "no sun in scene". Well, I agree :D

- Lambert with incadescence are showing diffuse only in Object's Editor, but are translated ok tho.

That is said really without animosity of any sort, I... er, we are just disapointed a bit :cry: and maybe I'm pointing some features wich are just not implemented/documented/known by me...

Removing manually connections from lighLinker is ok for test scenes, a camera messed up is just unfair, I could manage to use Indigo without that. I understand it is working straight with Maya 7 and that devs don't own a copy of Maya 8: good job, so, keep it up !

:cry: :cry: :cry: No kill-joy here :|

User avatar
yourdaftpunk
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: Houston
Contact:

Post by yourdaftpunk » Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:58 am

There are some differences between Maya 6/7 vs 8. I might be able to help Arne and Matt with those bugs since I run 8 mostly.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Nov 29, 2006 12:04 pm

I might be able to help Arne and Matt with those bugs since I run 8 mostly.
I didn't read that :D Don't get me wrong I mean: oh great !!!

:arrow:

User avatar
ThatDude33
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:26 pm
Contact:

Post by ThatDude33 » Wed Nov 29, 2006 1:10 pm

CTZn wrote: - The camera was working ok before, that's not true anymore (since the last update before 0.6.2 I think) :evil: That's the most annoying, no working cam...
What do you mean it's not working?
CTZn wrote: - Sky Light creates a nurbs sphere with history and lambert1 assigned, nothing else; that may be fine but I don't know :? The funniest part is that I have desactivated History in Maya's status bar... And it says "no sun in scene". Well, I agree :D
Yes, it's probably that. Reactivate history and try again
CTZn wrote: - Lambert with incadescence are showing diffuse only in Object's Editor, but are translated ok tho.
Incandescense shouldn't show up in the Object Editor

Hope that helped,
-Matt
Matt B. >>Maya To Indigo<<
Image

User avatar
homafloek
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 3:30 am

Post by homafloek » Wed Nov 29, 2006 1:26 pm

When i try to load the IndigoMeshExport in the plugin window i get this message:
Error: Plug-in, "indigoMeshExport" was compiled against too old a version of the Maya API and is thus incompatible with the current Maya version. (indigoMeshExport) //
I use maya 6.5 and used the maya 6 version of the MLL file.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Nov 29, 2006 2:29 pm

Thank you for answering Dude !
What do you mean it's not working?
I mean: this is how the camera is set up in Maya:

Image
Is it wrong to use a square ratio ?

Then Indigo gives this:
Image
The fun comes from that the only red geometry in my scene is the left wall :?

Here is the xml scene, so you can check that: Cornell_02.xml.zip
Yes, it's probably that. Reactivate history and try again
Ok, I'll test that... once I get it clear with the camera (actually I can manage everything going wrong but the camera).
Incandescense shouldn't show up in the Object Editor
Mmm, not sure what the Object Editor is for, at the end... and the cuty little materials icons don't show up any more (and display is messy with long shape names), is that a normal evolution ?

Image

I sincerly hope you won't take anything wrong coming from me, I second that I'm aware you are develloping for Maya 7 and I know (well, I can imagine) how frustrating it is to raise a script or software. And to have testers like me :wink:

I'm with you, thx !

PS: Images from within Maya were taken on a previous scene than the one used for export, I didn't save this one.

PS2:

- The box is 100cm wide, bbox <-50 0 50 ; 50 100 -50>.
- Camera position is <0 50 196.096>
- Up position is <0 55 196.096>
- Aim position is <0 50 0>

So the camera is facing -x scene wise. My scene settings and MTI is Y up.

- As an indication, the (white) back side wall of the box has bbox: <-50 100 50 ; -50 0 -50>

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:06 pm

Here is an .obj version of my scene, so you can figure out more easily. Look for sets within Outliner:

CTZn_CB.zip

My scene settings are cm, the camera was not resized, and every node of the camera group placed using the Channel Box.

AND FINALLY, relax, I'll wait a bit for MTI to evolve toward Maya 8...

thx

User avatar
ThatDude33
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 1:26 pm
Contact:

Post by ThatDude33 » Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:02 pm

I too get the 6.5 with 6 "too early version" error. But, when I use the 7.0 one, it tells me, when I click "load" in the plugin manager, it says "Error: Operation was completed successfully" :?
Matt B. >>Maya To Indigo<<
Image

User avatar
yourdaftpunk
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:24 pm
Location: Houston
Contact:

Post by yourdaftpunk » Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:11 pm

homafloek: The Maya 6 files I compiled with came from Arne. I don't know if they were 6.5 or 6.0. That might be the problem. Arne, what version you running?

CTZn: I haven't checked your scene yet, I'm actually looking at another bug. Sorry :(

Lets try this for creating light emitters (edit: assignSG might not work):

Code: Select all

global proc meshLight() {
	// create poly plane
	string $lightPoly[] = `polyPlane -n emitter -sx 1 -sy 1 -w 5 -h 5 -ch 0`;

	// get the poly plane shape node and triangulate
	string $polyShape[] = `listRelatives -shapes $lightPoly[0]`;
	polyTriangulate -ch 0 $polyShape[0];

	// create lambert material
	float $eRGB[] = { 0.75, 0.75, 0.75 };
	string $lightLambert = `shadingNode -asShader lambert -name emitterMaterial`;
	setAttr ($lightLambert+".incandescence") -type double3 $eRGB[0] $eRGB[1] $eRGB[2];

	// assign shader group
	assignSG $lightLambert $lightPoly[0];
	
	// create curve arrow
	string $curveName = `curve -ws -d 1 -p 0 0 0 -p 0 4 0 -p 1 3 0 -p -1 3 0 -p 0 4 0 -p 0 3 1 -p 0 3 -1 -p 0 4 0`;
	string $curveShape[] = `listRelatives -shapes $curveName`;
	
	// make the arrow a child of the emitter
	parent $curveName $lightPoly[0];
	
	// make curve transform and shape nodes reference objects so they can't be selected
	setAttr ($curveName+".overrideEnabled") 1;
	setAttr ($curveName+".overrideDisplayType") 2;
	setAttr ($curveShape[0]+".overrideEnabled") 1;
	setAttr ($curveShape[0]+".overrideDisplayType") 2;
} 

meshLight();
Here is what it looks like (note the arrow is black when the light isn't selected and can't be edited or transformed as it is a reference object):
Image
Last edited by yourdaftpunk on Thu Nov 30, 2006 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Nov 30, 2006 2:35 pm

No problem yourdaftpunk, just keep going ;)

In fact looks like the camera is rotated 90°, like forced to be facing -z. One reason may be because I didnt rotate the camera group wich has still its default orientation, that is toward -z precisely... and at least this time the zoom looks correct, I mean in a previous export the cam was just crazy zooming, and now it is aligned ok, just facing an exterior wall not the opened part.

Keep going, keep going ;)

User avatar
arneoog
Indigo 100
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by arneoog » Fri Dec 01, 2006 4:21 am

yourdaftpunk wrote:Arne, what version you running?
Maya 6.0 :)
Arne OOG - My Portfolio

Post Reply
25 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests