Texture Woes

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Cinema 4D exporter
Post Reply
7 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Texture Woes

Post by pixie » Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:07 am

The textures aren't being applied as they should.
Attachments
txtwoes.zip
scene
(171.45 KiB) Downloaded 163 times
txtwoes.jpg
As rendered by Indigo
txtwoesC4D.jpg
As intended

User avatar
yonosoy
Posts: 498
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Texture Woes

Post by yonosoy » Sat Jul 05, 2014 5:54 am

Hi Pixie.
Use only one UVW tag for all the volume, like the attachment; then resize the repetitions of the texture from the matrerial tag:
Attachments
capture_for_pixie.JPG
as_intended.jpg
txtwoes_modified.rar
(105.6 KiB) Downloaded 152 times
"... the hamster don't see the wheel, and this wasn't said before." (yoS eidaN "el Olvidao")
"... nor 0.2 galaxys, nor 0.8 little chikens ..."

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Re: Texture Woes

Post by pixie » Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:14 am

yonosoy wrote:Hi Pixie.
Use only one UVW tag for all the volume, like the attachment; then resize the repetitions of the texture from the matrerial tag:
:) I know how to work around it :) But i don't want to connect the objects i have, i just want it to behave as C4D ;)

User avatar
yonosoy
Posts: 498
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Texture Woes

Post by yonosoy » Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:23 am

Hi.
In the case above no thing is connected; but more simply, change the texture tag from UVW to cubic and is done.
Is the last shoot for this. Bye.
Attachments
Captura_para_pixie.JPG
"... the hamster don't see the wheel, and this wasn't said before." (yoS eidaN "el Olvidao")
"... nor 0.2 galaxys, nor 0.8 little chikens ..."

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Re: Texture Woes

Post by pixie » Sat Jul 05, 2014 10:37 am

Well thank you by the time you spent giving me a solution. When I want to position a texture I don't go to the uv and resize or offset it, I use whichever mode I feel best, cube, flat, sphere... and then I generate the UV map, and assign if I want to update it, since I am not able to do it, sadly it's not of much use to me (this is a rather simple example, it would a bit cumbersome to apply this solution in the project which I'ma having the problem). I also think that the ultimate goal of Indigo for Cinema is to provide a seamless usage, without the need of gimmick for doing what is intended.

Still many thanks to you. :)

riley1389
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:02 am

Re: Texture Woes

Post by riley1389 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:22 pm

If you'd like an atypical solution, you might try using SketchUp for simple UV assignment. It's much easier, and you can just export it as a DAE file and reimport back into Cinema 4D

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Texture Woes

Post by fused » Wed Jun 17, 2015 5:17 am

Fixed for the next cindigo release.

Post Reply
7 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest