Lighting Issue

Announcements, requests and support regarding SkIndigo - the Sketchup / Indigo exporter.
11 posts • Page 1 of 1
latimer

Lighting Issue

Post by latimer » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:02 am

I have an interior model with lighting used during a daytime setting. I set a face of a light fixture to be a light entity, and set the wattage to about 75 watts. One fixture renders fine, but when I render more fixtures, the light level goes down. I have finally figured out that I take the wattage I want and multiply it by the number of fixtures, so 75 watts X 10 fixtures= 750 watts overall for the material seeting. Is this the correct way to get the desired light level?

Thanks.

OnoSendai
Developer

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:08 am

Hmm, do all the lights share the same mesh?

latimer

Post by latimer » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:09 am

I'm new to Indigo, what exactly is a mesh?

OnoSendai
Developer

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:11 am

A mesh is a triangle mesh (group of triangles)

It depends how Skindigo divides up the model into meshes.
If all the lights share the same mesh, then the emitted power is shared over all the lights.

latimer

Post by latimer » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:17 am

No, each light is its own component. Its not one big lit face in an opening behind the fixture, if thats what you mean. But maybe that would work? Just cutting an opening in the fixture, since they are recessed fixtures, and putting one big lit face behind the fixture.

OnoSendai
Developer

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:30 am

It sounds like you're already modelling it the correct way latimer.

Perhaps we'll see what Whaat thinks.

crojack

Post by crojack » Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:05 am