Network rendering resolution issue

General questions about Indigo, the scene format, rendering etc...
Post Reply
5 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
Bosseye
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Network rendering resolution issue

Post by Bosseye » Fri Nov 16, 2018 12:49 am

Hi,

We've recently upgraded to Indigo 4. Its very good! However, we're having an issue with network rendering - over a certain resolution it doesn't work; the slave PCs show up in the window on the right, but then all drop off one by one.

I've tested with the default resolution options in the Indigo settings (up to 1280x720) and they all network fine. At my typical rendering resolution (say 3500x2000, usually around that size) they refuse to network.

I've not narrowed down at what resolution it fails to network correctly, can anyone shed any light on this before I make a start testing various resolutions? I did wonder if we had trial versions accidentally installed on the node machines, but all the nodes appear to be licensed ok.

Thanks

EDIT - just tested, I've got a scene at 2000x1200 that won't network. If I drop it to 1000x600 it networks fine....

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Network rendering resolution issue

Post by zeitmeister » Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:52 am

Can be numerous issues. Do the slaves have enough RAM? Do you save IGIs (what you shouldn't by default)?
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
Bosseye
Posts: 312
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Network rendering resolution issue

Post by Bosseye » Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:45 pm

All resolved. A bit of experimenting with different resolutions and it became apparent that anything over 1mp would fail to network - which is obviously a licensing issue as thats the max res on the trial version. So we double checked all the licenses again and although everything is correctly licensed as v4, there was an old license.sig file from v3 hanging around in the user profile for the nodes which was limiting the resolution.

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Network rendering resolution issue

Post by zeitmeister » Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:04 am

Congrats! Nice one. Everything running fine, even on GPU?
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

jcap168
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:57 am

Re: Network rendering resolution issue

Post by jcap168 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 12:37 pm

This is a ram issue. I had the same problem. My main rig has 64gb. My nodes had 16 and 32. The one with 16 would always crash or otherwise stop. The one with 32 would work sometimes. This is with rendering at 4k. The fix was to increase to 48gb or more. What I think is happening is the nodes need more ram than the client in order properly compress all the data, render, then send the information back to the client. Try adding much more ram,that should do it.

Post Reply
5 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests