Indigo 1.1.10

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
Online
User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6083
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:25 pm

Big Fan wrote:ono I am not really convinced by your 'compelling reason' :wink:

you already have flux hanging out of emission which you have written is actually watts x luminous efficiency

I could do a wee wangle there in the UI and present flux as efficacy scale input and multiple the 2 parameters together under the skin to give flux... :roll:

I have thought about this useablility and what I would like to do is to keep my UI the way I have it for emission being an extra dimension for a material (ie simple glow - no IES access there), but also keep 'meshlights' (or simply 'lights') in the mats menu (actually as a mat under the skin but with reversed emphasis.)

ie meshlights will appear not unlike present with IES but there will be a simple menu at the bottom to choose a generic material type for reflectivity of the light source/mesh

so in other words they will actually reference the same things but in a different order/way.
seems to me there are many cases where the light source doesnt need to be thought of as a material or with all the trappings and options of one.
I guess its just a matter of logical/intuitive presentation to the user

if you convert the present meshlights stuff internally is it not possible to keep the parameters for that hanging out of the code for us to retain 'peak' , 'blackbody' etc? 8)

of course other script writers may have other ideas and seeing as how I am on the outside of things here ordinarily my opinion is not so important... still I'll persist with this enquiry in the meantime :)
You could definitely present a UI to the user that has a luminous efficacy box, plus a power drawn (wattage) box, if you want. Then, as you said, just multiply the numbers to get the luminous flux. Also you could have a default luminous efficacy of 13 lm/W or whatever.

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:06 am

yeah ok considering it, but what say I want to specify a light source at 6000k...say from an electronic flash unit
how can I do this now (or provide a work around to acheive it)?

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:54 am

I didn't know, luminous flux is Temperature dependent O.o

User avatar
PureSpider
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:37 am
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Contact:

Post by PureSpider » Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:02 am

Afaik it isn't...

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:22 am

well? still want to know...

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:47 am

Can't <spectrum> still be used as a child of, <constant> say ? I think I understood this at some point, earlier, not sure really...
obsolete asset

Online
User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6083
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:23 pm

Big Fan wrote:yeah ok considering it, but what say I want to specify a light source at 6000k...say from an electronic flash unit
how can I do this now (or provide a work around to acheive it)?
Just use a blackbody spectrum at 6000K for the base emission.

Big Fan
Posts: 745
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:37 am
Location: Nelson NZ

Post by Big Fan » Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:51 pm

ok thanks :D

for some reason I understood they were disappearing along with meshlights...but if they live on thats fine :wink:

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:46 pm

Ah I wanted to say that but I messed it all :)
obsolete asset

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:42 pm

OnoSendai wrote:
Big Fan wrote:yeah ok considering it, but what say I want to specify a light source at 6000k...say from an electronic flash unit
how can I do this now (or provide a work around to acheive it)?
Just use a blackbody spectrum at 6000K for the base emission.
Sry guys. I'm a little late with this.
How do you exactly use the bb spectrum inside the emission?

This doesn't work:

Code: Select all

			<base_emission>
			<spectrum>
				<blackbody>
					<temperature>3000</temperature>
					<gain>0.01</gain>
				</blackbody>
			</spectrum>
			</base_emission>

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:18 pm

Again I must be saying stupid things but isn't spectrum supposed to be a child of constant ?

Code: Select all

    <ripped>
Again I lack practice but that's how I understood it should be, that's why I'm insisting :/ Most certainly I'm wrong but...
Last edited by CTZn on Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
obsolete asset

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:33 am

Constant? When did that happen? Can't keep up anymore. What is it for exactly? (it's probably in the manual, isn't it :) )

But nope, it doesn't work even with constant. I got:

Code: Select all

Unexpected element 'spectrum' in element 'constant'

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:40 am

Sure I just tested that (finally :roll:), removed spectrum tag and now it works ! The correct syntax is

Code: Select all

		<base_emission>
        <constant> 
                <blackbody> 
                   <temperature>3000</temperature> 
                   <gain>0.01</gain> 
                </blackbody> 
        </constant>
		</base_emission>
By the way Indigo told you that was the next thing to try ;)
obsolete asset

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:16 am

Hey, thanks!
Working great now.

Ps. Indigo told me what ? :lol:
(sry if i'm a bit slow. I'm at work and doing 100s of things simultaneously)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:05 am

suvakas wrote:But nope, it doesn't work even with constant. I got:

Code: Select all

Unexpected element 'spectrum' in element 'constant'
Since the error was reported in plain english it's good then to reproduce your code but just remove what bugs Indigo. The removed example two posts above was theorical and faulty, but I experienced the same error as you did and followed the indication, ie remove the <spectrum> tag.

Got me ? Sorry suv I guess you know that all, about Indigo handled errors :)
obsolete asset

Post Reply
78 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest