Instances of Instances

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Cinema 4D exporter
Post Reply
14 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2215
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Instances of Instances

Post by pixie » Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:01 am

I've done a [(1x4)x8] array, but due to it some are instances of instances so, as you can see, anything beside the original one do not render.

What should I do? A 4x8 array, or is there any way to do this kind of array?
Attachments
im1201829710.png
Big Picture
im1201829710.png (580.55 KiB) Viewed 3343 times
im1201830331.png
Detail
im1201830331.png (530.68 KiB) Viewed 3342 times

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4655
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Post by Zom-B » Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:10 am

Yes, Instances of Instances don't work atm, but you can simply select all your not rendered instances, and change the source of instancing to the base mesh... done!
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
metapixel
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:43 pm
Location: Italy

Post by metapixel » Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:45 am

The istances are made with 3DMax? :shock:

User avatar
Marcofly
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:51 am
Location: Köln, Germany

Post by Marcofly » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:13 am

no, metapixel, this is the cinema4d subforum :wink:

You can also take the base object, >duplicate it 3 times (with 'generate instances' unckecked), so you have the first lower row of objects.
Then put the base obj and the copies in a group, select the group >duplicate ('generate instances' marked)..

why do you still have those triangles visible? they shouldn't be there! check the scale of your project, or post the window so we can have a look at it..
Attachments
ScreenHunter_01 Feb. 01 17.12.jpg
ScreenHunter_01 Feb. 01 17.12.jpg (16.77 KiB) Viewed 3295 times

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4655
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Post by Zom-B » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:41 am

Nah... marco, this ain't cool!

If you can, and yes you do (!), stay with one single base mesh!

do you instancing work, and after this select all instances and change the reference Object back to your base mesh, by dragging it into the "reference object" field!

If you stay @ only one single reference, fixing the mesh errors visible in the rendering above isn't this much pain in the a** anymore :wink:

**EDIT**
Select ALL intstances... in the screenshot I forgot to select "Würfel.1" & "Würfel.2"
Attachments
instancing.jpg
instancing.jpg (50.04 KiB) Viewed 3289 times
Last edited by Zom-B on Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2215
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Post by pixie » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:50 am

Marcofly wrote:no, metapixel, this is the cinema4d subforum :wink:

You can also take the base object, >duplicate it 3 times (with 'generate instances' unckecked), so you have the first lower row of objects.
Then put the base obj and the copies in a group, select the group >duplicate ('generate instances' marked)..

why do you still have those triangles visible? they shouldn't be there! check the scale of your project, or post the window so we can have a look at it..
Indeed that was the only way I thought of, yet the forum had eaten my post a few times already as such I add not expressed myself fully. I wanted to avoid it too because they are heavy objects even if only one. BTW, which triangles?

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4655
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Post by Zom-B » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:53 am

pixie wrote:BTW, which triangles?
This ugly guys here!
Attachments
triangles.jpg
triangles.jpg (95.52 KiB) Viewed 3279 times
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
Marcofly
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:51 am
Location: Köln, Germany

Post by Marcofly » Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:50 am

You're right, ZomB... thank you for the good suggestion! i will surely use it!!

mmmhh, are you sure it gets exported right? in your example Wuerfel.0.0 is an instance of an instance!

pixie, i had a similar project to render, a couple of years ago.. i started with modellling all the glass elements, but the rendertimes were extremely long.. for the close-ups i kept the modeled elements, for the far-views i just put a plane covering all the holes of the window, lowered the transparency, added bump.. and it was *a lot* quicker! maybe this could help..

Edit: yes, it works!! :D

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2215
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Post by pixie » Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:03 am

Marcofly wrote:You're right, ZomB... thank you for the good suggestion! i will surely use it!!

mmmhh, are you sure it gets exported right? in your example Wuerfel.0.0 is an instance of an instance!

pixie, i had a similar project to render, a couple of years ago.. i started with modellling all the glass elements, but the rendertimes were extremely long.. for the close-ups i kept the modeled elements, for the far-views i just put a plane covering all the holes of the window, lowered the transparency, added bump.. and it was *a lot* quicker! maybe this could help..

Edit: yes, it works!! :D
But then these would be covered by the glass, therefore I didn't put much attention into it...

Well these are to be close ups and to influence the overall scene so I put as much detail as humanly possible...
Attachments
im1201878286.png
New version
im1201878286.png (442.06 KiB) Viewed 3254 times

User avatar
Marcofly
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:51 am
Location: Köln, Germany

Post by Marcofly » Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:46 am

pixie, it's always a compromise between quality and time.. sometimes there are scenes where everything is perfectly cleared, and 1 element still has noise after 30 hours rendering.. well, i prefer to find a roundabout for that object, instead of waiting so long..
The attached pic has an incredibly low poly count, clears the transparency at 250k samples\second, and IMO doesn't look so bad, at a certain distance.. (the bump could have a smaller tiling, but it's just a test..). After 5 minutes rendering i achieved 100 samples\pixel @1000x1000..
Attachments
im1201895049.png
im1201895049.png (1.74 MiB) Viewed 3225 times

kadajawi
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:40 am

Post by kadajawi » Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:45 pm

Marcofly wrote:pixie, it's always a compromise between quality and time.. sometimes there are scenes where everything is perfectly cleared, and 1 element still has noise after 30 hours rendering.. well, i prefer to find a roundabout for that object, instead of waiting so long..
Region rendering :D

I started to use Photoshop a lot to refine the images, it really helps to get rid of noise etc., and saves a lot of time and electricity.

Instancing? Do you mean MoGraph stuff? If so, I would simply choose "Grundobjekt konvertieren", that's what I'm doing at least. But I guess I'm missing the point.

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2215
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Post by pixie » Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:48 pm

Instance is useful when you have multiple copies of the same object, this way you only have to modify one and all instances will be updated, faster then speed of light! :-D

kadajawi
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:40 am

Post by kadajawi » Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:52 pm

Yeah, that's what I use too, I always copy the instances thing and hide it, and create a converted version of it then. That way I can modify if neccessary, but I also have something Indigo can use. It's not as convenient as when Cindigo would do all that, but it's better than nothing I guess.

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2215
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Post by pixie » Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:54 pm

Cindigo can use plain instances, without parenting nor self instantiation.

Post Reply
14 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests