The GPU does not work in large scenes

Feature requests, bug reports and related discussion
oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:59 am

Hello!

I'm testing 1060 6GB and it only works with not very large scenes. When the scene becomes about 20GB in RAM (I have 32GB), Indigo starts rendering, but the number of samples per pixel does not change and is at 0.00. And MSI Afterburner shows GPU USAGE 0%. And instead of the rendered image, a black square.

How can Indigo work with a lack of memory in video cards? I did not buy 1080Ti because it has 11GB of memory and it's very small for working with exteriors. Are there any tricks how do I get it to work?


Thank you in advance for your help.

//Tested in 3DS MAX and SketchUp, Indigo RT v4.0.64 and v4.0.65.

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by Oscar J » Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:51 am

Hi!

Can you provide some more info about your scene? Are you using heavy geometry, multiple large textures/HDRIs, instances?

oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:21 am

Hi Oscar J!

My working scene:

I scatter clover with Forest pack (3 kinds of external IGMESH 1.3mb each) 16 940 items. Clover texture 7mb and alpha 7mb.


hdri map - 22.8mb


House (external IGMESH) 71mb (20 instances)


Tree #1 (external IGMESH) 2,13 GB
Tree #2 (external IGMESH) 316 mb
Tree #3 (external IGMESH) 32 mb
Tree #4 (external IGMESH) 151 mb
Tree #5 (external IGMESH) 133 mb



!!!Added to scene (after that, it stops working!!!):

Tree #6 (external IGMESH) 11mb
Tree #7 (external IGMESH) 21 mb
Tree #8 (external IGMESH) 16 mb
Tree #9 (external IGMESH) 415 mb
Tree #10 (external IGMESH) 658 mb
Tree #11 (external IGMESH) 847 mb
Tree #12 (external IGMESH) 1,3 GB

People #1 (external IGMESH) 2 mb
People #2 (external IGMESH) 2 mb
People #3 (external IGMESH) 2 mb
People #4 (external IGMESH) 2 mb
People #5 (external IGMESH) 2 mb


Bench (external IGMESH) 1 mb (15 instances)


All people textures 50mb diffuse + 50mb normal map in TGA

All tree textures approximately 2-9mb in PNG


I'm ready to experiment, tell me the way, please!


Thank you for your reply!

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by Oscar J » Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:53 am

Hmm, looks like those 2 GB tree models could be a problem for GPU rendering, yes. Maybe you can reduce those in polycount or something - I think 3ds Max should have some good tools for that.

I think you should send the scene to support@indigorenderer.com, so that they can test it and maybe optimise Indigo to be able to render it.

oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:20 am

Hi Oscar J!

I sent a mail with experiments and files on support@indigorenderer.com.

Please note, the description of the experiments in the attached PDF file in the letter!

oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:26 pm

Hello!

Maybe you need some information or help from me? Give a recommendation and I will do the experiments.
For me, speeding up from a video card is an incredible attractive opportunity!

oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:07 am

Hello!

When I post large scenes to the GPU from Sketch Up, I get error "Memory allocation failure while initializing Indigo". With the CPU, these scenes work perfectly.

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2175
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by Oscar J » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:32 am

^ Hi oleg. Sounds like a RAM problem, how much do you have?

oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:04 am

Hi Oscar!

I have 32Gb RAM. And since yesterday my Win 7 runs on SSD. But I render this scene on the CPU on the HDD and there is no error, everything works correctly. Moreover, this scene plus 3 times more geometry works perfect on the CPU!
Have you tried running the test scene I sent you?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by OnoSendai » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:11 am

4.0 uses quite a bit of memory building the geometry for the GPU. This has since been optimised and an improved version will be available soon as Indigo 4.2 beta.

oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:02 am

Hi OnoSendai!

For me, this is the most desired event of 2018! I will be happy as in my childhood, when my grandfather gave me a fire truck!
Сould you tell me please the estimated time of 4.2 beta release?

Thanks for the help!

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by zeitmeister » Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:32 pm

... meanwhile you might consider to buy more RAM. 32GB is not that much for large and detailed foliage scenes... more helps more here!
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Thu Mar 08, 2018 3:00 am

Hello, David!

I work with giant exteriors and never had memory problems when working with CPU! In this case, the problem is in the limits of Open CL applications that work with the video card. By the way, I think RAM shortage is easily compensated using SSD.

Thanks for the advice!

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2215
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by pixie » Thu Mar 08, 2018 5:16 am

All the object have to go to the GPU RAM so you're quite limited in that regard. you can use hwmonitor to check memory usage.

oleg
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:40 am

Re: The GPU does not work in large scenes

Post by oleg » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:27 pm

Hello everyone!

Thank you all for your help, but I still could not solve the problem.
Rendering of large files began to work. But when I combine them into big scenes, it is limited to the amount of GPU memory.

After a month of experiments with version 4.2.14 of Beta, I still can not render a scene larger than the GPU memory. I can not even use all the memory: "Total scene data size 4.662GB (GeForce1060 6gb)"
An error appears during the rendering:
Exception while advancing OpenCL PT on device 'GeForce GTX 1060 6GB': clEnqueueNDRangeKernel failed for kernel 'll111l1ll111l111ll1lllll1l1ll11l1': CL_MEM_OBJECT_ALLOCATION_FAILURE
P.S. Thanks for the advice, Pixie, I'm using MSI Afterburner to watch the GPU work!

Post Reply
24 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests