Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

General News and accouncements regarding the Indigo render engine
neo0.
Posts: 1784
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:11 am
Location: the US of A

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by neo0. » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:07 am

Hello Lycium!

Thanks! Good to be back! I don't really have much of a technical background, but I think I know where I might be able to find some talent for this kind of thing. I would love to get in touch!

ak-sam
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:48 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by ak-sam » Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:31 pm

I'm finding this version is really fast and good, however the progress of the reneder is a bit hard to follow. It seems to jump quickly to 20.09 samples per pixel, then to 84spp, but its not counting up progress as it goes or letting me refresh between update points. (possibly these are 5min updates?) The "next image update" is counting (not very consistently i may add...seconds tick by at variable pace...unless im actually going insane and my sense of time is buggered)

This is happening on multiple scenes of the same model and using open CL.
I do have two renders running at once. (5.6m s/s)


Also- there's a message halting processing of a scene if Indigo can't find a linked IGM. Can that halt be ignored after counting down from 15 seconds (or so)? Maybe it can be replaced by Indigo as a "_DefaultPlaceholder" material and rendered as light grey phong, so we can locate and replace it within Indigo on in our TX Default library later , if required. This will mean can queue renders or just 'set it and forget it' without having to come back and click "OK" to proceed. (btw I was able to correct the missing link, which was on somebody elses PC who was offline)

Cheers!

User avatar
Polinalkrimizei
Posts: 632
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 6:59 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Polinalkrimizei » Wed Jul 05, 2017 6:46 pm

I think neo has a point in "simplyfing material blending", blends of blends are just not very intuitive to set up to me either :-)

Eneen
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 9:32 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Eneen » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:01 pm


User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2173
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Oscar J » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:10 pm

Eneen wrote:Something like this would be nice:
https://www.vray.com/vray_for_3ds_max/m ... rial.shtml
^ This

User avatar
Headroom
Indigo 100
Posts: 989
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC, USA

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Headroom » Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:27 am

@lycium

Improvements to which plugins ?
I believe it when I see it. The Blender plugin has not seen a change is several years.

User avatar
lycium
Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:46 am
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by lycium » Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:23 pm

The Blender plugin in particular has had some love recently, more info on this soon :)

User avatar
Headroom
Indigo 100
Posts: 989
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC, USA

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Headroom » Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:41 pm

lycium wrote:The Blender plugin in particular has had some love recently, more info on this soon :)
That's music to my ears!

FakeShamus
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 11:34 am

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by FakeShamus » Sat Jul 15, 2017 5:49 am

lycium wrote:The Blender plugin in particular has had some love recently, more info on this soon :)
NICE!

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by StompinTom » Sun Jul 16, 2017 4:15 am

lycium wrote:The Blender plugin in particular has had some love recently, more info on this soon :)
Yes, I've been noticing some cool improvements! Awesome!

User avatar
Jay-ko
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Jay-ko » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:47 am

the 3ds max exporter need some love too! :(

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Lal-O » Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:40 am

Hi.
I am facing some problems with the Sun Light Layer. It seems it gets mixed with other light layers ( except with the Skylight Layer ). When is OFF apears to be ON ( It won't cast light , only some areas keeps illuminated, just where the light hits the surface. Sorry if i am not clear enough :p ).

I attach the scene for you to test it out ; ).

Download Link : https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... jhINUdpTkU

Cheers.

User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Originalplan® » Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:07 am

@Lal-O works fine here. I suggest you wait for next build.
PS: If you turn OFF 1 LL it tends to turn off all at first.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-08-16 at 11.04.41 PM.jpg

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Lal-O » Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:39 am

Originalplan® wrote:@Lal-O works fine here. I suggest you wait for next build.
PS: If you turn OFF 1 LL it tends to turn off all at first.
Thank you for the reply :)

Hmmm...It is kinda weird...Pls take a look to this thread : https://www.indigorenderer.com/forum/vi ... =5&t=14426 (The rendering time is been solved, so no problem with that anymore) : ).

Other user is facing the same bug as i do :S

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Indigo Renderer 4.0.55 Beta Release

Post by Lal-O » Thu Aug 17, 2017 4:24 pm

I have noticed that the Light Layers problem remains only by using GPU, there is no problem if i render with CPU :D... I'm not sure if the rendering method is a factor that influences the problem. (Bidir is "ok",Path Tracing "not ok" ).

Regards.

Post Reply
54 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest