[REQ/IDEA] Adaptive SPP across animation scene

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Cinema 4D exporter
Post Reply
4 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

[REQ/IDEA] Adaptive SPP across animation scene

Post by Originalplan® » Sat Jan 14, 2017 3:28 am

Hey guys, this one is up for debate...not sure how (or if) it would help in all workflows but i think it would in some. Especially in larger animation scenes and limited resources....such as not having 20 GPU render farms all the time. :)

So in Cinema Render settings via SPP halt time there is this nifty little keyframe button.
Which.. as i found out yesterday is not yet linked ( maybe it can be via script or Xpresso ((see pic image1)) )

Let's say we have an animation with 100 frames in Cinema.
And we want to render our anim via Cindigo or Indigo.

SCENE:

We have a white room camera just pans around nothing really happens till 0-30 frames.
Then from 30-70 frames some 2000 bouncy geoid's start to come in frame many of them with crazy caustics.
And from 70-100 again empty room and nothing really happens.

-SO for the above we can experiment and prototype with render settings to get a nice look for our animation.
Let's say we go with 6000/SPP in our 30-70 frames.
BUT if we want to have a lower SPP in the other frames we have to dissect our scene and send them thru the render process. That's not very ideal and consumes a lot of time.

So if we could LINK up the SPP sample count in render process via KEYFRAMES on our 100frame anim.
Then we could render our project in one take after prototyping the needed SPP rate on each situation.
( Hope it makes sense see pic 2)

Now i know that OpenCL is already very fast in Indigo and this would not mean that much in time difference but still on a 48h render job it could shave down quite a bit from process.

Just an idea.
Attachments
IMAGE_1.png
ADAPTIVE_SSP_DISTRIBUTION-01.png

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: [REQ/IDEA] Adaptive SPP across animation scene

Post by fused » Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:42 am

I guess that is a bug. Seems the halt spp is not evaluated per frame.

User avatar
Originalplan®
Posts: 737
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:58 pm
3D Software: Cinema 4D
Contact:

Re: [REQ/IDEA] Adaptive SPP across animation scene

Post by Originalplan® » Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:47 am

fused wrote:I guess that is a bug. Seems the halt spp is not evaluated per frame.
Yep was weird it didn't work....i kinda expected it too.
Anyways if it can be fixed/added would give a nice flexible workflow.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [REQ/IDEA] Adaptive SPP across animation scene

Post by Zom-B » Sat Jan 14, 2017 8:43 am

Originalplan® wrote:
fused wrote:I guess that is a bug. Seems the halt spp is not evaluated per frame.
Yep was weird it didn't work....i kinda expected it too.
Anyways if it can be fixed/added would give a nice flexible workflow.
Worked flawlessly back when I used it the last time...
Yes, the animated value also changes in the output if you have MotionBlur activated and do some subframes...
I hope this "bug" doesn't effect exported values from C4D
polygonmanufaktur.de

Post Reply
4 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest