dual and quad cpu

General questions about Indigo, the scene format, rendering etc...
Post Reply
6 posts • Page 1 of 1
zio
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:48 pm

dual and quad cpu

Post by zio » Wed May 14, 2014 5:13 pm

I was wondering If indigo can handle well multi cpu setups.

I am thinking in investing in a dual or quad cpu computer even if it is double the price per performance because I can have more memory, but, I do not know how indigo handle the memory. I have read that there are slots of memory for each cpu, does it mean that the used memory is the overall memory divided by the number of cpus? If I want to render a large image with supersampling and I need 128 gigs of memory, does a quad cpu computer need to have 4x128 gigs of memory?

In this benchmark with HT off It seems that it is faster, does this happen in indigo?
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6508/the- ... y-tested/9

Thanks.
previously ior

User avatar
lycium
Developer
Posts: 1194
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:46 am
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Re: dual and quad cpu

Post by lycium » Tue May 20, 2014 4:29 am

Hi, yes Indigo will make good use of multiple processors, and you don't need to have as many times extra memory as you have processors (i.e. memory usage is fixed, not per-processor).

Indigo generally benefits a lot from Hyperthreading, since there is a good mix of maths operations and memory access, which HT is designed to help with.

zio
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:48 pm

Re: dual and quad cpu

Post by zio » Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:18 am

Cool! :)

I tested indigo with large images and cpu is not always at 100%, do I need more RAM?

With a 100 mega pixel image how many memory do I need at supersampling 6?

Does indigo handle well large images?
previously ior

User avatar
Juju
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:49 am
Location: South Africa

Re: dual and quad cpu

Post by Juju » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:20 pm

generally speaking, you'll run out of machine before running out of Indigo

FakeShamus
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 11:34 am

Re: dual and quad cpu

Post by FakeShamus » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:19 am

zio wrote:Cool! :)

I tested indigo with large images and cpu is not always at 100%, do I need more RAM?

With a 100 mega pixel image how many memory do I need at supersampling 6?

Does indigo handle well large images?
Yes, you are running out of ram and indigo is resorting to swapping out data. Indigo will handle large renders very well if you have the resources for it. Just in general a super sampling factor of 6 is overkill (some very noisy scenes might benefit from it, but very few). every level of super sampling is greatly increasing the size of the render that indigo is processing, internally, and so the ram usage will be much higher. I rarely use super sampling factor of more than 2, especially for very large renders

zio
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:48 pm

Re: dual and quad cpu

Post by zio » Thu Jun 05, 2014 10:10 am

Thanks.
Sometimes fireflies appear and the only method is high supersampling.
previously ior

Post Reply
6 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest