MtI 2.x beta 2

Announcements, requests and support regarding the MAYA exporter
Post Reply
138 posts
User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:34 am

I figured out that if I freeze transforms pivot position doesn't change.
Freeze Transforms is baking everything into the transformation matrix (including pivots position) while transformations are all set to zero, so you don't see a change.

MtI is not changing the Maya behaviour in this regard, can you clarify the issue you noticed please SreckoM ? I've read many times that freezing transforms was the Evil, maybe you found out why :)
obsolete asset

SreckoM
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:33 pm
Location: home/Serbia/Novi Sad

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by SreckoM » Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:11 am

1. Create cube.
2. Reposition pivot.
3. Make several instances of cube.
4. Export to Indigo. You'll see that pivot of cube is back to original position. And that instances are not in positions that are in viewport.

That is what I discovered.

[EDIT] Everything is OK when rendering with Maya Software, Mental Ray or Vray.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Fri Nov 12, 2010 10:00 am

Thank you, helpfull bug report.
obsolete asset

Lemo
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:23 pm
Location: Montpellier, France
Contact:

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by Lemo » Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:04 pm

Good work with the matrix neo, now my scaled instances problem is gone :D

The scale is okay but there is still that issue with hidden instances I'm affraid
In the following test scene with two spheres, when I hide only the "master" instance, I don't have any sphere at rendering.
And when I hide only the "slave" instance, I have two spheres at rendering.
I also had that pivot problem SreckoM describes at first with the cubes under the spheres.

The new "one click away" installer is great

Nice flowers SreckoM :)
Attachments
hiddenInstanceBug.rar
(11.48 KiB) Downloaded 148 times

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:40 pm

Nice Lemo.

I took the red pill indeed, and now I'll follow these rabbits !

I'd like to raise a few questions regarding MtI orientation... I'd rather fix first.
obsolete asset

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Fri Nov 12, 2010 4:58 pm

By the way I just realised my mistake... I forgot two lines wich do activate way more junk output than one could expect. I never meant to expose this intimate and delicate... blah :roll:
obsolete asset

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:26 pm

And... triple post, you can't beat me banzaï... oops.

Updated for the matter. I'm also changing the way files are named, there might have happened stuff with web browsers and caches leading into confusion. Like using the same file name for consecutive test versions.

MayaToIndigo 2.x beta 2 "Tamed Edition" test 5

minor fix

- menus twitbits
- removed awful debug output
- Initialize on Scene > Open if the scene is using Indigo to render
- still camera now to use <keyframe> (meh otherwise its upside down:P)
obsolete asset

ior
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:47 am

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by ior » Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:48 am

Maya crash when I open scene file made with MtI_2.x_beta_2 in MtI_2.x_beta_2_5 installed version.

I reinstalled the older version and it didn't crash anymore.

here is the crash dumpdata:
dumpdata.zip
(52.47 KiB) Downloaded 161 times

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Mon Nov 15, 2010 2:56 pm

Someone else bumped into this ?

Did this happen with all scenes created with the older MtI versions or with one special scene ? Did this happened if you closed the two MtI windows before opening the scene ?

ior, the dump data is not relevant to MtI; however I have an idea on a plausible cause. Since I can not seem to reproduce the crash, you will debug this yourself :) The pay off might be an inmediate fix.

1) reinstall beta 2 test 5
2) find the file mti_CHK_self.mel that was just installed (in 'user/Documents/Maya/scripts'), open it in any editor
3) into the block global proc mti_init() (around line 219), find:

Code: Select all

	mti_newSceneJob;
	mti_sceneOpenedJob;
Comment the two lines out (write "//" (two slashes) before the command) and save the file.
4) Restart Maya (!) and let me know.

Normally the MtI windows present should just close, and Maya should not crash :)

- - - -

I have fixed the two issues Lemo and SreckoM submitted (pivots reset on export, wrong identification of visible instances) and I finally did a decent UI for textures, the former was some rigid auto layout. I'm at tinkering around a burn (now "convert to file") bug and will update then.

edit: in fact I'm rewriting the texture pipeline, it deserved this.
obsolete asset

ior
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:47 am

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by ior » Tue Nov 16, 2010 9:08 am

It continues to crash even with the oldest scene file created with MtI_JAN-2010.


output window says:

Code: Select all

TsampleManager::setLastBatch() failed on
shading group swatchShadingGroup:
Postcondition violated, fLastBatchCache is NULL.
and script editor says:

Code: Select all

// Error: line 0: The indigoshader "glass" has no 'mat' attribute. //
// Error: line 0: Node "glass" has no attribute "mat". //
And it repeats the sentence for every material in the scene and for each attribute,
were "glass" is the material name.
and 'mat' can be 'c', 'bem', 'em', 't', 'mp', 'mior', 'mcb', 'msss', 'mssss', 'mgs', 'st', 'tl', 'ge', 'oc'.


Can this be a plugin conflict?

SreckoM
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:33 pm
Location: home/Serbia/Novi Sad

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by SreckoM » Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:01 am

Happens over here too. Can not open older scenes for some reason.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Tue Nov 16, 2010 12:52 pm

Did you try the edition of mti_CHK_self.mel as posted above ?

It seems like some conflict preventing a correct initialisation, yes. ScriptJobs are candidate for an uncontrolled execution order, hence the suggested manip.

Do you have the indigoPlugin set to auto-load in the plugin manager ? Try to load it before the older scene.

I'll finish with textures, then if the issue is not something that was fixed meanwhile I'll be on it at 100%. I tried to provoke it with no chance.

Update in about 48h.
obsolete asset

ior
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:47 am

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by ior » Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:13 am

It is ok now, we have to load the plugin after the installation for it to work properly.
I thought that it was already loaded. My mistake. Thanks.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:09 am

Thank you for reporting, ior. This means the mistake is mine tho ;)

Known issue with displacement (since b2t4 - Qr matrices support):
you must currently freeze the scale of displaced meshes, or beware that normals in Indigo will be scaled with it. We are looking into a fix.

I'm at checking MtI edits for the next hours.
obsolete asset

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: MtI 2.x beta 2

Post by CTZn » Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:11 pm

Update

Hot one:
  • fixed bug in obj export procedure
    fixed bug in instances pipeline
    fixed motion blur
    splitted objects and camera sub frames attributes
    rewrote texture pipeline (5x less code)
    texture UI
    'merge all edges' option (mesh)
    misc fixtures
Tell me if that scene load issue still happens, I'll try fix it asap.

edit: re-updated:
last minute fixes

- fixed frenetic initializations just introduced
- ui fixtwixes
- more annotations (camera, textures)
- set "merge all edges" to be the default for meshes. Prevents totally displaced meshes from exploding.
obsolete asset

Post Reply
138 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests