Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Announcements, requests and support regarding the 3DS MAX exporter
User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by suvakas » Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:43 pm

Pibuz wrote:COOL!
YOU JUST MATCHED 3DMAX'S INSTANCE COPY MODE TO INDIGO'S!!!

WONDERFUL!!!!!!

I already knew how to make copies/instances in 3ds using hotkeys: what i didn't know was that Max's instances are actually exported as Indigo's instances! Very smart and intuitive! Great! Thank you Suv!
Hey, thanks !
I kind of understood, that you don't know how to make instances in Max. :) Yes, they are exported directly to Indigo as instaces. Nothing more is needed. You can check the "status" text on the exporter panel to see, if any instances were found/exported or not. It should show you the number of instances exported.

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2646
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by Pibuz » Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:29 pm

Ok Suv! Now: the problems! :lol:

I had a little spare time (from 23:45 to 1.25) last night to test your exporter, and I noticed something that doesn't work well.. :?

I use 3dsMax9, and Indigo 2.0.12. I had your previous plugin installed in the same version of Max, so I'm here to ask if this situation could generate some of the conflicts..

Here they are:

1. Your plugin seems to work just fine, inside Max. Then I export and that's all right.
But my image stays black. Just, black. No errors in the export sequence, no errors inside Indigo.
I took a look in the "light layers" tab, and it seems that all values are set to 0 by default, there.
The master gain and the RGB values for each layer. Strange. I tried to change them manually
(though I don't think this was the way you meant the plugin to work :wink:) BUT the values seems
like freezed: I can't change them, even manually!
Moreover, in the tonemapping tab the film iso is set automatically to 10, when I specified a
different value in the parameters, something like 400 or so...

2. In the "material types" list I have a "indigo main" mat and still have "indigo blend" and
"indigo emitter" materials. Is that what it is supposed to be, or it is just a conflict due to an
uncorrect unistallation of your previous plugin?
If this situation is correct, how do they differ form the emitters and blend materials you can
create using the main indigo material changing the type of shader from the drop down list?

That's all.
Just to be sure about the absence of conflicts, I'll try to install the plugin in my office's pc,
which had no maxigo at all, and I'll see if the latest plugin works correclty. :D

Thank you!

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2646
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by Pibuz » Fri Aug 07, 2009 8:12 pm

Ok ok ok: that was MY fault! :D
I just installed the thing here at work and it all goes fine!

I'm definitely going to check my installation at home this evening :wink:

thank you suv!

There is still the question about the material types: with the CORRECT installation of the plugin, I have a Indigo main, blend and emitter materials. I can also choose the three of them changing the shader type in one of the main indigo mat drop down list.

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2646
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by Pibuz » Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:04 pm

Hummmm..Ok NOW I'm at home!
So the problems..

I'm a little messy when dealing with the maxigo installations and uninstallation.
But I cannot figure out how to make this version to work. Call me stupid.

I even uninstalled the entire 3dstudio and then RE-installed Maxigo but the problem (here at home) is still the same: layers have all values to 0.00, and I cannot change them manually. Moreover the ISo is re-set to 10 by defautl, and I cannot change the value.

I REALLY have to make this work: it's starting to become a personal affair..

Suv: could you give me some hint? Please?

User avatar
filippo
Posts: 658
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: italia(senigallia-an)
Contact:

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by filippo » Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:05 am

Hey... suvakas have a done exceptional on maxigo... congratulations!
recent I use more ' indigo for some problems of export, but is now perfect!
I retried old files that gave me error, now works all...and it's work very well!!!!!!!!!
I don't know what else can I say to get the my more ' great compliments!excellent work!!!!!!!!!!!
2x Xeon quad core ghz 2.66(8 core)+4g ram+quadro fx
2 x Xeon Quad 5540 (16 core)+16GB ram+ Nvidia GTX 295 1800mb

User avatar
Kosmokrator
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Greece-Athens

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by Kosmokrator » Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:39 am

wow...suv...thats im wait allmost one year!
we thank u for ur hard work!
lets see what u have done...


thnx again!
dont quit from 3ds plugin we need ur support!
1)Core i7 965XE stock CLOCK ,PSU:CHIEFTEC 850W
M/B ASUS P6T DELUXE,WATERCOOLING ZALMAN RESERATOR 2
MEMORY:6GB CORRSAIR @1600,Ati HD 4870x2,
MONITOR:LG 1950SQ,CASE:THERMALTAKE SOPRANO

dreadnout
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 3:28 am

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by dreadnout » Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:40 am

If I blend emitter and indigo Main with Indigo Blend, script crash with error:
error1.jpg
error1.jpg (32.39 KiB) Viewed 2914 times

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by suvakas » Thu Aug 13, 2009 8:10 am

Pibuz wrote:2. In the "material types" list I have a "indigo main" mat and still have "indigo blend" and
"indigo emitter" materials. Is that what it is supposed to be, or it is just a conflict due to an
uncorrect unistallation of your previous plugin?
If this situation is correct, how do they differ form the emitters and blend materials you can
create using the main indigo material changing the type of shader from the drop down list?
That's correct. You should have Indigo Main, -Blend and -Emitter material types. "Indigo Blend" is for making blend materials as you can't blend between 2 different mats using Indigo-main.
"Indigo Emitter" is a dedicated emitter material and it's in there so that it would be easier for the new users to find it. It also has more physical parameters available.
Pibuz wrote:There is still the question about the material types: with the CORRECT installation of the plugin, I have a Indigo main, blend and emitter materials. I can also choose the three of them changing the shader type in one of the main indigo mat drop down list.
What do you mean exactly? You are able to pick "Blend" or "Emitter" as your Shader type under Indigo-main material? That should not be possible. There should be 7 different shader types available (diffuse, phong, metal, archi glass, glass/sss, fast sss, oren-nayar).
Pibuz wrote:I even uninstalled the entire 3dstudio and then RE-installed Maxigo but the problem (here at home) is still the same: layers have all values to 0.00, and I cannot change them manually. Moreover the ISo is re-set to 10 by defautl, and I cannot change the value.

I REALLY have to make this work: it's starting to become a personal affair..

Suv: could you give me some hint? Please?
I've never had it and I'm also not able to recreate this problem. Could you please zip your Indigo scene files (the ones that maxigo creates) and upload those here? Also it would be good if you could include your max scene file as well.
Also what is your Max version and what Windows version are you using?


@dreadnout
Thanks for the report.

@Filippo & Kosmo
Thanks guys ! :wink:

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2646
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by Pibuz » Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:24 pm

Hi Suv!
Thank you for your answer!

So, I'm using WindowsXP 32bits, and 3dsMax9.
I'm gonna check the "double mat's" issue: perhaps I remembered not so well :wink:

I'm going to attach the files you ask me one of the next evenings: the "problem" only pops up at home, where I had an old Maxigo version installed. My opinion is that the new maxigo cannot find and/or remove some old files, which prevent it from working well. I think I have to manually remove some files, but I cannot find them. At all! :lol:
Ok, thanks a lot. I'll attach the files soon. Thank you!

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2646
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by Pibuz » Tue Aug 18, 2009 7:10 pm

Hi Suv!
First of all, I've checked and there is no double mats issue :D

Then, I attach here a rar file containing the 3dsMax9 file and a folder with the files maxigo exported.
Hope you can find the problem :(

thank you very much!
Attachments
4suv.rar
(183.34 KiB) Downloaded 182 times

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by suvakas » Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:08 pm

Thank you Pibuz !
Will check it out ASAP.

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by suvakas » Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:42 pm

Hey Pibuz, I think I found where your problem is. It is not Maxigo related cause the scene files you just sent are all OK (renders fine here). If I'm correct, then you should have the same problem with any other Indigo scene and also with test scenes that come with Indigo?
Anyway, check what is your decimal symbol under Regional settings on windows Control panel. If it's comma, then change it to dot. Seems like Indigo is not reading the number values correctly if the windows decimal symbol is set to comma instead of dot. I got the exact same problem you described when I changed mine to comma.

So change your decimal symbol to dot and let me know if it solves your problem.

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2646
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by Pibuz » Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:53 pm

Oh, ok!
I would have never been able to get it by myself, thank you very much!
I'm going to test it this evening.

User avatar
Pibuz
1st Place 100
Posts: 2646
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Padua, Italy
3D Software: SketchUp

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by Pibuz » Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:14 pm

Ehi Suv!
Found the bug and fixed it! Thank you very much!

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Maxigo 2.0 - beta2 - [3.august.2009]

Post by suvakas » Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:47 pm

Hey Pibuz,
Great that you solved it.
Was it because of the decimal symbol or was it something else?

Post Reply
64 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest