Exporter for Max2009

Announcements, requests and support regarding the 3DS MAX exporter
Pibuz
1st Place 100
3D Software: SketchUp

Exporter for Max2009

Post by Pibuz » Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:08 pm

Hi Suvakas, sorry to bother you..
I'm trying to get a little closer to Maxigo, just to test a few things.
Now, i'm using 3dsMax2009. I tried to install the stable version of Maxigo present in the main download page, but i found some problems: the mat preview is not working, basically. I get a VERY FAST DOS message saying that it is impossible to run indigo console application (i tried to make a screenshot, but it didn't work..) or something. The mats work all, but i can't get the preview.

Then, i tried to render a scene with the famous greeble modifier applied to a simple object: the render didn't start because the object used a mat "wire" (...?) which i never applied..

I'm not a total noob of 3dMax, but i am of Maxigo: am i doing something wrong or doesn't your script work properly with the 2009 version?

thank you so much

suvakas
3rd Place Winner

Post by suvakas » Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:35 pm

Hey,

A die hard SU user on Max? What's up? :P

Well, I'm still on Max v9 and I haven't tested Maxigo on newer versions myself. It should work though.

The material preview is a dirty hack. It may not work with the new Indigo versions cause the Mat_Prev folder is missing some required *.dll's.
Try to copy everything from Indigo root directory to your_indigo_dir\Exported_From_Max\Mat_Prev
Maybe it helps. I have to rewrite it, but I haven't had enough time so far.

About the "wire" thing. Did you assign an Indigo material to all your models? WireMat is a script generated material with a random number plus word "wire" for exporting models that have no material assigned. Maybe that's the case?

Pibuz
1st Place 100

Post by Pibuz » Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:48 pm

suvakas wrote: A die hard SU user on Max? What's up? :P