exit portal

Announcements, requests and support regarding the 3DS MAX exporter
Post Reply
9 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
metapixel
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:43 pm
Location: Italy

exit portal

Post by metapixel » Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:57 pm

Hi, I just wanted to share with all this a simple test that shows how important the use of the exit portal. :D
Attachments
3d-amb_test01metapixel.jpg
3d-amb_test01metapixel.jpg (116.66 KiB) Viewed 2735 times

User avatar
psor
1st Place Winner
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by psor » Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:07 pm

Thanx! 8) ;)



take care
psor
"The sleeper must awaken"

User avatar
surreal
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Contact:

Post by surreal » Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:46 am

How do i use an Exit portal?
*Edit Nm i figured it out!
Good to know thanks!

User avatar
metapixel
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:43 pm
Location: Italy

Post by metapixel » Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:47 am

Hi, surreal
very simple, just create a box in Max with size of the window and apply the modifier "exit portal" and voilà! :D

User avatar
Kosmokrator
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Greece-Athens

Post by Kosmokrator » Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:11 am

thnx to suv to implement it so good via max exporter...btw...an bug or neseccery bad thing is the direction of light is not the same after the exit portal apply.... :wink:
i think Ono know about this is not something new!!!
1)Core i7 965XE stock CLOCK ,PSU:CHIEFTEC 850W
M/B ASUS P6T DELUXE,WATERCOOLING ZALMAN RESERATOR 2
MEMORY:6GB CORRSAIR @1600,Ati HD 4870x2,
MONITOR:LG 1950SQ,CASE:THERMALTAKE SOPRANO

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:47 am

a box?
Usually, a plane is enough...
The normal should point through the window, inside.

Though, there're some problems: For example, if you have a veranda or any kind of outdoor models, they wont be rendered ;)

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Post by pixie » Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:16 pm

Kram1032 wrote:a box?
Usually, a plane is enough...
The normal should point through the window, inside.

Though, there're some problems: For example, if you have a veranda or any kind of outdoor models, they wont be rendered ;)
Do a bigger box then ;-)

User avatar
filippo
Posts: 658
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: italia(senigallia-an)
Contact:

Post by filippo » Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:27 pm

2x Xeon quad core ghz 2.66(8 core)+4g ram+quadro fx
2 x Xeon Quad 5540 (16 core)+16GB ram+ Nvidia GTX 295 1800mb

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:49 am

Yeah, you can do a bigger box (or plane...)
The geometry should:
  • be as simple as possible
  • perfectly go over the whole "hole"
  • have it's normals pointing in the direction the light is supposed to go.
If you let holes, you'll see black frames (at least when using BiDir)
If you make it too big (for example a big cube over the whole scene), the time increase will be far too minimal.
If the geometry is very complex, it's not as efficient.
If the normals point in the wrong direction, no light will come through them. They'll render as black walls (at least with BiDir)

Post Reply
9 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest