Newbie at 3ds Max

Announcements, requests and support regarding the 3DS MAX exporter
Post Reply
10 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by Lal-O » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:51 am

Hi Guys !!!

Well, after almost 2 years using Skindigo ( which i reaaaaally love :wink: ) I decided to try Maxigo ( the one and only reason is because in 3ds Max is possible to view high poly models -mainly trees,which i am interested on - and this allows to speed up the composition of the scene ) and i noticed a few " issues":

1) I can not use OPENCL inside 3ds Max 2015 because i get an error, 3ds max crashes.
2) Only the Reinhard tonemapping mode is able to display the rendered scene ( inside max ,not tried the exporter yet :oops: ) no other tonemapping mode seems to work ( Linear and Camera gets a white screen display ).

As i mentioned before, i am newbie at 3ds Max and for sure i am doing something wrong :oops: .

Best Regards.
Attachments
Reinhard Tonemapping.jpg
Camera Tonemapping.jpg
Linear Tonemapping.jpg
Max Crash Error.jpg
Last edited by Lal-O on Fri May 04, 2018 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3636
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by fused » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:10 am

Hi Lal-O,

Thanks for your feedback!

I have a new IndigoMax build coming up with tons of fixes and enhancements.

No idea about the OpenCL issue, would have to look into that.

Regarding the tonemapping, it looks like it works, but it's just over exposed. There should be an exposure time setting in the render settings.

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3636
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by fused » Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:15 pm

I just saw that exposure was broken (both in the camera object and in the render settings).

It's fixed for the next release (0.6.8 8) )

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by Lal-O » Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:32 am

Ok. Is good to know it, i thought i was doing things real wrong :| .
Once is done next release i'll give it a try :D . Thx :!:

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3636
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by fused » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:20 am

Just to make sure, you are running the latest drivers?
Indigo GPU works fine in standalone?
Does max crash after this error shows up?

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by Lal-O » Sat Dec 02, 2017 7:02 am

fused wrote:Just to make sure, you are running the latest drivers?
Indigo GPU works fine in standalone?
Does max crash after this error shows up?
Hi fused
-Yes i am running the latest versions of my drivers and the latest versions on MaxIgo and Indigo :wink:
-GPU does work fine with indigo standalone.
- And yes, 3ds Max closes everytime the error shows up.

.....Did you find something weird with the file ? :?

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3636
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by fused » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:30 pm

I didn't really look into it yet, but I'm installing max 2016 and 2015 tomorrow to look at this bug and a few others.

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3636
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by fused » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:29 pm

Actually, just openend the file - try disabling all other render plugins that might use OpenCL, it's unlikely, but they might be clashing.

edit: your scene rendered fine with OpenCL (GTX 970) in max 2015 (but all the textures are missing ofc so...)

User avatar
Lal-O
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:09 am
Location: México
3D Software: SketchUp
Contact:

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by Lal-O » Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:48 am

Thx for checking my file. :D
Yeah , the model is a "clean" one , there is no textures or materials in it due it is a practice sketchup file imported in Max and i don't know how to apply materials in 3ds :oops:
I have already disable the other render plugins ( it was only one by the way ) and the result it is the same, same error.
It is kinda weird the same file fails only in my pc, for sure i am doing something wrong :roll: However , the maxigo exporter works like charm and Indigo standalone is superb so no problem at all. :wink:
I can use CPU rendering inside Max to "preview" the work and then export the final scene to the standalone for OPENCL usage... "problem" solved :wink:
Now my major problem is to learn how to use 3ds Max... :roll:

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3636
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: Newbie at 3ds Max

Post by fused » Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:33 pm

Lal-O wrote:Thx for checking my file. :D
Yeah , the model is a "clean" one , there is no textures or materials in it due it is a practice sketchup file imported in Max and i don't know how to apply materials in 3ds :oops:
I have already disable the other render plugins ( it was only one by the way ) and the result it is the same, same error.
It is kinda weird the same file fails only in my pc, for sure i am doing something wrong :roll: However , the maxigo exporter works like charm and Indigo standalone is superb so no problem at all. :wink:
I can use CPU rendering inside Max to "preview" the work and then export the final scene to the standalone for OPENCL usage... "problem" solved :wink:
It really shoud work (and it does work here...), and I don't see why it wouldn't.

I assume you disabled the plugins by removing them from the max plugins directory? Just trying to make sure...
Lal-O wrote:Now my major problem is to learn how to use 3ds Max... :roll:
You and me both :)

Post Reply
10 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest