Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Blender Indigo export script
Locked
144 posts
User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by dougal2 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:12 am

Attached are the files for Blendigo BETA-01 for Blender 2.5

Before you start, it should be noted that you need a VERY new version of Blender 2.5. Go to http://graphicall.org/ and get the newest version you can find.

Installation instructions are:
Unzip each file into these locations:
WINDOWS: C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\.blender\scripts\io or C:\Documents and Settings\[USER NAME]\Application Data\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts\io

LINUX: /home/[USER NAME]/.blender/scripts/io
OSX: /Users/[USER NAME]/.blender/scripts/io

I appreciate that the installation path is not easily accessible on OSX. I will be making an installer in the future.

The end result should be 2 new subdirectories containing code:
.blender/scripts/io/ef
.blender/scripts/io/indigo

You can now start Blender 2.5 and choose 'Indigo' from the Engine drop-down list.

WARNING
This release almost certainly contains bugs, and/or has missing features.

YOUR FEEDBACK IS ALWAYS APPRECIATED

Please please report any issues you find with Blendigo for Blender 2.5- it is your feedback as users and artists alone that push Blendigo forward into being the software that works for you.
Attachments
indigo_BETA-01.zip
(49.74 KiB) Downloaded 2579 times
ef_125.zip
(15.4 KiB) Downloaded 2104 times

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by StompinTom » Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:27 am

Sweet! Testing...

What does the ef folder do? Why is it separate?

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by dougal2 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:28 am

It contains a code library that helps with things like the Panel layouts. I've separated it out so that I can use the same code with LuxBlend ;)

The EF code will not change frequently, if at all - future updates will affect mainly only the indigo folder.

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by StompinTom » Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:34 am

Code: Select all

[Indigo 2010-Jun-03 13:32:27] Indigo export started ...
[Indigo 2010-Jun-03 13:32:27] Writing to C:\temp\\_memory2_.00001.igs
[Indigo 2010-Jun-03 13:32:27] 'Scene' object has no attribute 'indigo_camera'
[Indigo 2010-Jun-03 13:33:25] Indigo export started ...
[Indigo 2010-Jun-03 13:33:25] Writing to C:\temp\\_memory2_.00001.igs
[Indigo 2010-Jun-03 13:33:25] 'Scene' object has no attribute 'indigo_camera'
There are also some UI things that aren't working/are missing/aren't in the right place, etc. I'll keep track of these and write it up a bit later.

everwind
Indigo 100
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:29 am

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by everwind » Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:21 am

Hi doug, thank you very much, it looks impressive !

First error, on every scene : 'Main' object has no attribute 'filename', so I cannot test it.

Config : windows 7 64 bits / blender 2.5 SVN 29171 32 bits / indigo 64/32 bits (both)

I cannot test with a 64 bits version of 2.5, I didn't found any on graphicall (the only ones are in .exe that don't work on my computer, I don't know why)

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by Doug Armand » Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:49 pm

OK I know I ain't the brightest one here but where is the Render button?. Clicking the Image button, the one with the camera, just seems to run the Blender renderer.

And yes I have switched to Indigo as the render engine and get all the Indigo options - just how do you render with it?!! :evil:

Dougal - be nice if we could get even a basic 'how to use' manual? pretty please :D
Doug

Doug Armand

everwind
Indigo 100
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:29 am

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by everwind » Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:25 pm

I think the "image" button is the right way to do it :-D , when I click on it I can see Indigo in the blender console but well I got an error as I said before.

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by Doug Armand » Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:56 pm

everwind wrote:I think the "image" button is the right way to do it :-D , when I click on it I can see Indigo in the blender console but well I got an error as I said before.
Yes your right - and it does work. Just had to check what the error was in the python console and fix it - was due to paths not being set properly

BTW I am using Win 7 x64, x64 Indigo x64 v2.4.3 and a x64 of Belnder 2.5

I got my x64bit version of Blender 2.5 from here:
http://www.graphicall.org/builds/builds ... ow&id=1174

my limited testing shows its working fine.
Doug

Doug Armand

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by Doug Armand » Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:08 pm

First feedback.

OK what I'm finding really annoying is that if there is a python error - the end user, ie me, gets no warning. All I get is the standard blender renderer popping up and doing nothing but giving me a big black window :shock: .

I now know to go and check the Python console to see what the problem is - but for any new users out there I'm not sure thats the first thing they will do. Really needs some form of feedback so the end user has some idea of whats going on.
Doug

Doug Armand

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by Doug Armand » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:26 pm

Bug

Changed the shutter speed of the camera and Python console shows this error:

[Indigo 2010-Jun-04 11:24:02] Writing to C:\Users\Doug Armand\Desktop\TestsBlend
er25\\testingIndigoMotion.00154.igs
[Indigo 2010-Jun-04 11:24:02] 'Scene' object has no attribute 'indigo_camera'

Even putting the shutter speed back to the default setting has same result

Update: seems it wasn't the shutter speed that did it - I also switched from Rheinhard to Camera Tone mapping - setting that back to Rheinhard fixed it.
Doug

Doug Armand

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by Doug Armand » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:36 pm

Bug or by design?

Can't have more than 1 indigo render session from same blendigo instance.
Example: I press the Image button and get the Indigo renderer loaded and rendering. Pressing it again does nothing. Change some settings and it still won't do it - so not a control focus issue

If I close the current Indigo session - I can then press the Image button and get the Indigo renderer loaded and rendering.

If I keep the Indigo session running and then close/reopen Blender I can then run another Indigo session.

If this is by design - please change it. I often run multiple sessions with slight changes, such as shutter speed, to see what works.
Doug

Doug Armand

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by Doug Armand » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:51 pm

Bug: Motion blur not working
Blender25motion.jpg
Blender 2.5 1/15 sec shutter speed. Object & Camera Motion Blur enabled
Blender249motion.jpg
Blender 2.49 1/15 sec shutter speed. Object Motion Blur enabled
Although I'm not sure that the 2.49 version is correct. The cyclinder is just rolling toward camera - strange motion blur effect for just that I think?
Doug

Doug Armand

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by Doug Armand » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:55 pm

Bug:Camera Tone Mapping

As reported earlier setting Indigo Tonemapping to Camera gives python error:
[Indigo 2010-Jun-04 11:53:07] 'Scene' object has no attribute 'indigo_camera'

Setting it to either Linear or Reinhard works OK.
Doug

Doug Armand

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by dougal2 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:02 pm

Doug Armand wrote: [Indigo 2010-Jun-04 11:53:07] 'Scene' object has no attribute 'indigo_camera'
I've located this problem, it is related to the camera ISO value when using camera tonemapping.

As for motion blur not working (in 2.5), well that's because I haven't actually implemented it yet ;)
[As for moblur in 2.49 - please can you report the problem in the 2.4 thread, thanks :) ]

With regards to user feedback on errors, it is not really possible to create 'popup' errors in 2.5 like we can in 2.4 - in fact that is by Blender's design, not mine. I have however heard a rumour that Blender may get a little 'console/status panel' in the future so that errors can be announced to the user - we will have to wait and see about that, but for now, please keep your consoles open ;)

The fact that you cannot launch more than one render is probably partly my fault, I will investigate.

User avatar
Doug Armand
Indigo 100
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Blendigo for Blender 2.5 BETA

Post by Doug Armand » Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:16 pm

Thanks for the quick reply
dougal2 wrote:
Doug Armand wrote: [Indigo 2010-Jun-04 11:53:07] 'Scene' object has no attribute 'indigo_camera'
I've located this problem, it is related to the camera ISO value when using camera tonemapping.

Cool - I personally always use Camera toning so for me its a issue

As for motion blur not working (in 2.5), well that's because I haven't actually implemented it yet ;)
[As for moblur in 2.49 - please can you report the problem in the 2.4 thread, thanks :) ]

:shock: hehe - fair enough. Can you disable non-functioning bits? is it easy to do?

With regards to user feedback on errors, it is not really possible to create 'popup' errors in 2.5 like we can in 2.4 - in fact that is by Blender's design, not mine. I have however heard a rumour that Blender may get a little 'console/status panel' in the future so that errors can be announced to the user - we will have to wait and see about that, but for now, please keep your consoles open ;)
Well now I know that I need to check the console when nothing happens - thats ok. But is there anyway to stop Blender opening up its own render window? IBecause that is annoying too :evil:

The fact that you cannot launch more than one render is probably partly my fault, I will investigate.
BTW till motion blur and Camera toning are fixed I probably won't be doing too much more testing ok? :wink:
Doug

Doug Armand

Locked
144 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests