Page 1 of 2

Grass on an uneven plane

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:51 am
by tannerw_2010
Ok, so I am planning on making a sort of english cottage setting here. I have yet to add my cottage (or my future waterfall) so you can see this is an extremely early work in progress. But my point is, I need to add grass as you can see. I have my grass, but it is all lined up in a flat plane. I was wondering if there is a way to "snap" it to the plane so I wouldnt have to edit every single piece of grass! :shock:

Image

Thank you
P.S. I would have posted this in blenderartists.org if indigo supported particles :roll: :lol:

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 2:28 am
by Kram1032
Grass being flat isn't your only problem, here.
The grass texture is horribly small and you really need to overwork your water... Looks like lots of normal(smoothing)troubles ;)

As for the grass, see here:
http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/fo ... php?t=1225 - as the title says, it's outdated, but the progress only got simpler. You don't have to handedit the output xml anymore but you can define blends directly in Blender ;)

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:25 am
by tannerw_2010
Thanks, but all I was wanting to know was is there any way to snap grass to my plane??? Thanks :wink:

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:06 am
by Kram1032
Snap it to the plane? Perhaps with drop or with retopo.... drop is a python script which drops everything on the floor.... I think^^

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:22 pm
by tannerw_2010
Yeah I just tried the drop thing and its not wanting to work... :x

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:14 am
by tannerw_2010
Ok... Just incase you dont get what I am trying to ask, I will show it to you. Simply put, all I want to do is know how to get this peice of grass, onto this uneven plane, without having to edit each peice of grass. Simple enough :wink: ???

Image

Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:36 am
by Kram1032
Well, I understood it before already... though, I thought that drop script would work... sorry then ;) No idea.

Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:45 am
by tannerw_2010
anyone else know???? Thanks

Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:08 am
by Alain
shouldn't you post this question in the blender forum ? ;-)
let me know if you find an answer, I'm interested as well !

greez
alain

Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:37 am
by MSUdom5
tanner,

Are you using dupliverts?

Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:59 am
by tannerw_2010
(To MSUDom5)

Nope I am not Using Dupverts

Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:02 am
by tannerw_2010
(To Alain)
Yes I would, but realize that their way of saying that they don't no would be "Why not just use particles??" Them obviously not realizing that indigo + particle grass = huge mess

Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:18 pm
by MSUdom5
You might want to try using dupliverts since you're using blender. If you have a group of grass blades in a single object, you can "snap" them to each vertex of your subdivided plane. Then, you can "make real" on your grass blades, randomly select them, and rotate them to add randomness.

Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:41 pm
by CTZn
One trick we Maya users can do is to make the floor emit still particles and then instance objects on these particles. You stop the animation when you have enough particles on the floor then instanciate. Hopefully you can do the same with Blender ?

Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:57 am
by Kram1032
yes, though it turns out messy quite easily... I tried that once and didn't find the correct settings. definitely, you'd need to use particles and no particle-strands. THOUGH, that was with the OLD particle system. With the new one, offering more control, it could be possible... :)

-> Trial + Error