Grass on an uneven plane

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Blender Indigo export script
tannerw_2010
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:31 pm

Grass on an uneven plane

Post by tannerw_2010 » Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:51 am

Ok, so I am planning on making a sort of english cottage setting here. I have yet to add my cottage (or my future waterfall) so you can see this is an extremely early work in progress. But my point is, I need to add grass as you can see. I have my grass, but it is all lined up in a flat plane. I was wondering if there is a way to "snap" it to the plane so I wouldnt have to edit every single piece of grass! :shock:

Image

Thank you
P.S. I would have posted this in blenderartists.org if indigo supported particles :roll: :lol:

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Mon Sep 22, 2008 2:28 am

Grass being flat isn't your only problem, here.
The grass texture is horribly small and you really need to overwork your water... Looks like lots of normal(smoothing)troubles ;)

As for the grass, see here:
http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/fo ... php?t=1225 - as the title says, it's outdated, but the progress only got simpler. You don't have to handedit the output xml anymore but you can define blends directly in Blender ;)

tannerw_2010
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:31 pm

Post by tannerw_2010 » Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:25 am

Thanks, but all I was wanting to know was is there any way to snap grass to my plane??? Thanks :wink:

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:06 am

Snap it to the plane? Perhaps with drop or with retopo.... drop is a python script which drops everything on the floor.... I think^^

tannerw_2010
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:31 pm

Post by tannerw_2010 » Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:22 pm

Yeah I just tried the drop thing and its not wanting to work... :x

tannerw_2010
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:31 pm

Post by tannerw_2010 » Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:14 am

Ok... Just incase you dont get what I am trying to ask, I will show it to you. Simply put, all I want to do is know how to get this peice of grass, onto this uneven plane, without having to edit each peice of grass. Simple enough :wink: ???

Image

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:36 am

Well, I understood it before already... though, I thought that drop script would work... sorry then ;) No idea.

tannerw_2010
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:31 pm

Post by tannerw_2010 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:45 am

anyone else know???? Thanks

Alain
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:44 pm

Post by Alain » Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:08 am

shouldn't you post this question in the blender forum ? ;-)
let me know if you find an answer, I'm interested as well !

greez
alain

MSUdom5
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 6:04 am
Location: Mississippi, USA
Contact:

Post by MSUdom5 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:37 am

tanner,

Are you using dupliverts?

tannerw_2010
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:31 pm

Post by tannerw_2010 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:59 am

(To MSUDom5)

Nope I am not Using Dupverts
Last edited by tannerw_2010 on Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:13 am, edited 2 times in total.

tannerw_2010
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 2:31 pm

Post by tannerw_2010 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:02 am

(To Alain)
Yes I would, but realize that their way of saying that they don't no would be "Why not just use particles??" Them obviously not realizing that indigo + particle grass = huge mess

MSUdom5
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 6:04 am
Location: Mississippi, USA
Contact:

Post by MSUdom5 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:18 pm

You might want to try using dupliverts since you're using blender. If you have a group of grass blades in a single object, you can "snap" them to each vertex of your subdivided plane. Then, you can "make real" on your grass blades, randomly select them, and rotate them to add randomness.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:41 pm

One trick we Maya users can do is to make the floor emit still particles and then instance objects on these particles. You stop the animation when you have enough particles on the floor then instanciate. Hopefully you can do the same with Blender ?
obsolete asset

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:57 am

yes, though it turns out messy quite easily... I tried that once and didn't find the correct settings. definitely, you'd need to use particles and no particle-strands. THOUGH, that was with the OLD particle system. With the new one, offering more control, it could be possible... :)

-> Trial + Error

Post Reply
22 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests