DEV-thread - Blendigo v0.7 - material-editor-exporter

Announcements, requests and support regarding the Blender Indigo export script
Post Reply
522 posts
User avatar
joegiampaoli
Posts: 837
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:12 am
Location: San Miguel de Allende-MEXICO
Contact:

Post by joegiampaoli » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:50 pm

in indigo directory there's a file called inifile.txt, open it and edit the section "save_igi" to true, like this:

"save_igi" "true"
Joe Giampaoli
Never tie a ship to a single anchor, nor life to a single hope
My Indigo Gallery

paulo_gomes
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:28 am

Post by paulo_gomes » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:54 pm

thank you joegiampaoli, it works! :D

but if i trie to run indigo within blender it doesn't :?

paulo_gomes
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:28 am

Post by paulo_gomes » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:57 pm

sorry!!! it worked! my computer it's a BIT slow. thank you

:D :D :D

User avatar
joegiampaoli
Posts: 837
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:12 am
Location: San Miguel de Allende-MEXICO
Contact:

Post by joegiampaoli » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:59 pm

ok, I was going to tell you to let it run a bit longer...

Good it works ;)
Joe Giampaoli
Never tie a ship to a single anchor, nor life to a single hope
My Indigo Gallery

zuegs
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: switzerland

Post by zuegs » Fri Feb 23, 2007 7:54 am

SMALL UPDATE

- removed surface compensation for lights - gain-value is equal to XML gain - use "efficacy" feature instead



And here some explanations for the previous implemented "EXTERNAL" material type :roll: :

If you like to use a special indigo-material that isn't implemented in the exporter-GUI, you can do this by including an external XML-file.
So write a XML scenedata file with your material inside with the correct material name as following:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<scenedata>
	<material> 
		<name>my_material</name>
		...........
		...........
	</material>
</scenedata>
Then in blender create a material with the same name, open the Blendigo-GUI, select the material, set material-type to "External" and choose your external XML as filename.
When you then press the Render button, the exporter automaticly includes your external material-file and renders all possible indigo-materials :D :D

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:21 am

I think, I've seen this already anywhere, but I'll write it anyway:
Can you either make your Exporter Name-adaptive to .sphere , .rect and .plane , or add a button for primitives?
(If Deus is fast enough, maybe 0.7 also has vegetation and landscape primitives :D)

zuegs
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: switzerland

Post by zuegs » Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:45 am

hi kram1032,
ok, will have a look on this... not so hard... should be in tomorrow (i hope :wink: )

User avatar
DaveC
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:20 am
Location: The Tottenham, London, UK
Contact:

Post by DaveC » Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:24 am

I have been using your exporter for one day. Your exporter is brilliant. I am currently rendering two blender monkeys with a skull, a blood layer and a skin layer. And, let me tell you, it's looking good. And it's all thanks to your exporter :D
The hardest part of BEING yourself is FINDING yourself in the first place...
http://thebigdavec.googlepages.com

User avatar
cooler_inc
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Ukraine, Donetsk
Contact:

Post by cooler_inc » Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:27 pm

Hi

I tried to do BLEND material that contains NULL and Material with Alpha.
But after the export I get wrong code:

Code: Select all

<material>
		<name>null</name>
		<null_material/>
	</material>

<material>
		<name>okun_tex</name>
		<diffuse>
			<colour>0.8 0.8 0.8</colour>
			<albedo_texture>
				<path>okun.jpg</path>
				<uv_set>uv</uv_set>
				<exponent>2.300000</exponent>
				<a>0</a>
				<b>1</b>
				<c>0</c>
			</albedo_texture>
		</diffuse>
	</material>

<material>
		<name>blend</name>
		<blend>
			<a_name>okun_tex</a_name>
			<b_name>blend</b_name>
			<blend_factor>0.5</blend_factor>
			<blend_map>
				<path>okun_0.jpg</path>
				<uv_set>uv</uv_set>
				<exponent>1.000000</exponent>
				<a>0</a>
				<b>1</b>
				<c>1</c>
			</blend_map>
		</blend>
	</material>
As you can see two components are wrong and I have to edit them manualy. They are:
<a_name>okun_tex</a_name>
<b_name>blend</b_name>

I prepare the scene in this manner:
Two materials are applied to Mesh
The first one (lets call it "okun_tex") is DIFFUSE with Texture
The second (lets call it "blend") is BLEND with Mat.A:okun_tex and Mat.B:blend and Texture
Image

Maybe this is not right method of preparing the BLEND material?

zuegs
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: switzerland

Post by zuegs » Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:57 pm

hi cooler_inc
if you like to get this:

Code: Select all

<a_name>okun_tex</a_name> 
<b_name>null</b_name>
you should set "mat-B" value to "null" in the GUI.
Assign the "blend" material to your object (and force blender to save "okun_tex" material... not that it get lost)
Btw: if b=1 and c=1 your blend will completely fall to one side... because a*x^2+b*x+c will be >1 in any case :wink: (perhaps let c=0)

User avatar
cooler_inc
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Ukraine, Donetsk
Contact:

Post by cooler_inc » Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:12 pm

I just changed Mat.B: to NULL and script crashed.
Console message:

Code: Select all

NameError: Material "null" not found
Materials "blend" and "okun_tex" are already assigned to object.
Sorry for lame question but how to force blender for saving "okun_tex" material and what for?

zuegs
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: switzerland

Post by zuegs » Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:23 am

hi cooler_inc,
oups... ok i see the crash... will fix this this evening, sorry about. But this will be the way how to use the BLEND.

You need just to assign the "belnd" material to your object, but you could assign the "okun_tex" as second material or you can toggle the small "F" button on the blender-material-panel to force that material get saved too (because otherwise blender only save the materials that are directly assigned to a object)

User avatar
cooler_inc
2nd Place Winner
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: Ukraine, Donetsk
Contact:

Post by cooler_inc » Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:18 am

Thnx zuegs

BbB
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by BbB » Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:15 am

Dunno if it's a bug or if I'm being stupid, or even if this has been said here already, but your largest lens aperture (F-Stop 1) seems to translate into a pinhole in the XML file. Of course, you can correct it there and put an aperture of 1 or just lower for a very shallow DOF but you might want to have a look at this.

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:11 am

Thx! :D :D :D :D :D

Post Reply
522 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests