memory allocation failure.

General questions about Indigo, the scene format, rendering etc...
User avatar
lycium
Posts: 1216
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 7:46 am
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Post by lycium » Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:08 pm

Stromberg wrote:Just so you know, with 4 gb and 32-bit OS you want get to use all your ram you will only be able to use 3.5 gb. :roll:
from this i know you have a 512mb gpu :P basically all memory (cpu or gpu) in a 32bit os must share the same address space.

however, even with that being the case, a single 32bit windows program cannot access more than 2gb of memory. in summary, using more than 2gb of memory with 32bit windows is retarded ;)

Stromberg
Posts: 693
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:01 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Stromberg » Thu Apr 02, 2009 6:25 pm

Actualy it's a laptop with 128 shared gpu ram ;)
But no matter what, the topic starter needs to get more ram and 64-bit os :)

gerbin
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:02 pm

Post by gerbin » Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:09 pm

Stromberg wrote: But no matter what, the topic starter needs to get more ram and 64-bit os :)


got it! :lol:

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:15 am

Borgleader wrote:
fused wrote:right, i forgot the supersampling:

width*ssf*height*ssf*32bit*3/8/1024/1024
(width*height)*ssf*32bit*3/8/1024/1024
or
(width*height)*(ssf^2)*32bit*3/8/1024/1024
you know that in multiplication, writing something into () doesn't change the result, right?

it should be

Code: Select all

width*height*ssf²*32/3/8/1024²

or

width*height*sff²*0.000001271565755208333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333

or

width*height*sff²/786432
;)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sat Apr 04, 2009 1:00 pm

Argh !

Code: Select all

		resulting num triangles: 5590323
		Done.
	Doing subdivision level 15...
		num triangles subdivided: 374596
		num triangles unchanged: 5204836
		resulting num vertices: 4220829
		resulting num triangles: 6714111
		Done.
Error: IndigoDriverExcep: Memory allocation failure while initialising Indigo.
Stopped.
me too am on a 32 bit pc, no more room for the scene build :lol: That polycount is a record on my computer, I'll lower the displacement settings tho...

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Sat Apr 04, 2009 1:11 pm

I wanna try it :(
benn hired a mercenary to kill my sig...

User avatar
SATtva_
1st Place Winner
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 6:44 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Contact:

Post by SATtva_ » Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:51 pm

Borgleader, just raise mesh subdivision until your RAM explodes. :D

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Apr 05, 2009 2:02 am

Borgleader wrote:I wanna try it :(
Ok :)

Image

The example images are rejected:
Material updated! Example 1 must be jpg and max 1Mb. Example 2 must be jpg and max 1Mb.
so here are they attached. Also please tell if the pigm isn't conform, I think it is but would need confirmation.
Attachments
wallStone_01_ex2.jpg
wallStone_01_ex2.jpg (64.22 KiB) Viewed 3455 times
wallStone_01_ex1.jpg
wallStone_01_ex1.jpg (46.86 KiB) Viewed 3455 times

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3648
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:23 am

CTZn wrote:The example images are rejected:
Material updated! Example 1 must be jpg and max 1Mb. Example 2 must be jpg and max 1Mb.
i uploaded them for you. weird.

what browser are you using?

User avatar
PureSpider
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:37 am
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Contact:

Post by PureSpider » Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:57 am

Mal/Adware infected IE6 :>
CLEAN IT UP ALREADY @ CTZn :D

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:30 am

Thanks fused, much apreciated.

Lol, kind of true PureSpider, ActiveX controls are disabled by default here, for my convenience. If I want to activate them I reload the page and press enter.

I would reinstall IE... but no, no way, my system is safe like it is right now, no more troubles are allowed. That's so simple. For info the former infection was cleaned by Avira tools and since then I'm using this suite as the regular protection of my system against malware.

I'll get a new drive for a new run tho, I did not format c: since 2004 :mrgreen:

arcano
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:23 pm

Re: memory allocation failure.

Post by arcano » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:39 pm

Hi to all.

I0ve the same problem! With my new pc configuration (Asus Rampage II Extreme, i7 920, 6 GB Ram DDR3 1600 mhz, XFX 285) when I start a big resolution render (something like 2000*1000 not so big) indigo display this error message:

Error: IndigoDriverExcep: Memory allocation failure.

How can I solve it ? I've 6 GB of Ram it's impossible that there isn't no Memory!

The scene is a very simple with low detail and polygons.

I've Vista 32 Bit and Indigo 1.1.18 the problem is Vista OS ? Can I pull up the memory dedicate for Indigo application ?

Thank you!

User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3648
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Re: memory allocation failure.

Post by fused » Sat Apr 25, 2009 6:52 pm

its not a vista problem, its a 32 bit OS problem. you cannot allocate more than 2 or 3 gigs of ram to a single application.

how come you have such a sick machine and cripple it with a 32 bit OS? i think its a sin :mrgreen:

Stromberg
Posts: 693
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:01 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: memory allocation failure.

Post by Stromberg » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:25 pm

Fused is right, what you need is 64-bit vista :wink:

arcano
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:23 pm

Re: memory allocation failure.

Post by arcano » Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:50 pm

ok...thank you.

It's strange becouse the same render on XP has no problem!

Post Reply
34 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests