Using playstation 3 to render

General questions about Indigo, the scene format, rendering etc...
fredfy
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:41 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Using playstation 3 to render

Post by fredfy » Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:52 am

hello all,

Is it anyone here that have used the ps3 to render a picture or animation thru ethernet?
I have seen some cases where they use the powerful prosessor of the ps 3 to perform complex tasks with Linux innstalled.

the way ive understand it, if it would work, this would be the cheapest way to get a powerful render farm!/?

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:58 am

Yet another one of those...

This subject has been discussed many MANY times...Next time please search the forums before posting.
benn hired a mercenary to kill my sig...

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:36 am

No, fredfy. A PS3 is good at realtime things, period. It's not structurally efficient with renderers, all the contrary.

"But..."

but nothing, it fails.

Bliz
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:59 am

Post by Bliz » Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:19 am

Half a gig of RAM won't cut it methinks.

User avatar
PureSpider
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:37 am
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Contact:

Post by PureSpider » Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:02 am

RAM doesn't matter at all in that case o.O

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:05 am

Yes it does:
With current memory management, PS3 would pretty much fail in rendering any slightly advanced scene...

User avatar
PureSpider
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:37 am
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Contact:

Post by PureSpider » Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:06 am

So it's not the AMOUNT of memory that matters, and that's what he mentioned...

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:11 am

yes it does... If the memory gets full (which is the case very quickly, with half a gig), things a) get slow and b) a bit unreliable....

doublez
Posts: 255
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:44 am

Post by doublez » Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:09 am

What if you wrote indigo for the cell. Would it be faster then?

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:44 am

doublez wrote:What if you wrote indigo for the cell. Would it be faster then?
Youd have to rethink the entire process methinks and anyways with big scenes it would probably just die anyway.
benn hired a mercenary to kill my sig...

crojack
Posts: 396
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:48 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Post by crojack » Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:48 am

What would be the point of rendering on a ps3 anyways?

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:53 am

crojack wrote:What would be the point of rendering on a ps3 anyways?
1) Your PC sucks majorly
2) For the "fun" of trying it
3) Just 'cause you can

But really I think it's pointless. Maybe nVidias CUDA technology thing will lead eventually to something interesting (maybe) but that will take time. I mean video cards are getting more and more powerful and well it may be possible at some point but not now.
benn hired a mercenary to kill my sig...

alex22
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: Germany

Post by alex22 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:01 am

At least they are already way more powerful than a cell processor of the PS3.

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:37 am

alex22 wrote:At least they are already way more powerful than a cell processor of the PS3.
Comparing vid cards with a CPU is really like comparing apples and oranges....they're not the same.
benn hired a mercenary to kill my sig...

User avatar
Grimm
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Post by Grimm » Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:28 am

We have a cell cluster (8 PS3's) here at the university where I work. But it doesn't get used very much, mostly because it is very hard to program for and the above mentioned memory issue. If you really wanted to port Indigo to the cell, you should use the cell blades. Unfortunately they are about $10,000 each but do come with 8 gigs of memory. ;)
Grimm

Post Reply
17 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests