got dissed for realism compared to vray...

General questions about Indigo, the scene format, rendering etc...
Post Reply
15 posts • Page 1 of 1
nikolatesla20
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:44 am

got dissed for realism compared to vray...

Post by nikolatesla20 » Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:23 am

*ugh*

I was trying to demo some work for a client to make a photorealistic glass cube using Indigo, whereas he had requested some samples also in vray. In the end he sends me a message thanking me for my time but he saw more photoreal images from vray...

How could this be???!!??

Obviously the weakness way my lighting setup, etc, and not Indigo IMO. I thought the images I made looked pretty realistic..


-niko

The first image is a sample I gave him, and then after some adjustments he requested I gave him the second image. Of course Indigo would have to render a bit longer on the second image, but I think the second one looked pretty photoreal..
Attachments
glasscubeb.jpg
glasscubeb.jpg (79.94 KiB) Viewed 2807 times
glasscubea.jpg
glasscubea.jpg (28.06 KiB) Viewed 2807 times

User avatar
Sayris
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:26 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sayris » Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:30 am

maybe the noise and the lens flare scared him.. apart from that it's looking realistic.

BbB
Posts: 1996
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by BbB » Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:35 am

It just confirms the old wisdom that clients have no clue about anything...

User avatar
Neobloodline
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:54 am

Post by Neobloodline » Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:40 am

He's probably just a douchebag.. they do exist, and thinking this way will let you sleep at night lol

"I reject your reality and substitute my own safe universe in it's place." whatever floats his boat.

User avatar
suvakas
3rd Place Winner
Posts: 2613
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 11:08 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by suvakas » Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:42 am

If you sent the image that noisy to a client, then no wonder he picked vray.
I would have done the same thing.

nikolatesla20
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:44 am

Post by nikolatesla20 » Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:27 am

I guess you are right about that one. Lesson learned :)

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Post by StompinTom » Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 am

please tell me you didnt add that lens flare in photoshop.....

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:02 am

StompinTom wrote:please tell me you didnt add that lens flare in photoshop.....
:lol: +1 it reallly looks like the PShop lens flare
benn hired a mercenary to kill my sig...

User avatar
Behrendt
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by Behrendt » Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:26 am

BbB wrote:It just confirms the old wisdom that clients have no clue about anything...
Yeah, thats pretty annoying, but they are the ones paying us, so they still have the right to request whatever ridiculus they want :? Experienced a pretty nice story about that just today with a teacher at my university... :roll:

Woodie
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:25 am

Post by Woodie » Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:16 pm

keep in mind the surface this cube is standing on is plain flat. No paperclip will change that. And again that kind of noise?

User avatar
Jambert
Indigo 100
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:08 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Post by Jambert » Wed Aug 06, 2008 5:51 pm

Somtimes people I work with doesn't make any difference between 100 and 1000 spp, sometimes they send previews to print :lol:

nikolatesla20
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:44 am

Post by nikolatesla20 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:25 am

Woodie: The layout was their idea.

LOL you guys are funny. Yes its a PS flare LOL. I didn't think Indigo could do one so I did it that way.

Only reason I had noise was because the client asked me to resubmit the sample, and I didn't want it to run for another full day - I didn't have access to my normal rendering machine (Core two duo), only my P4 machine. I told them it would clear up after rendering for a while longer.

What bothers me the most though is that they said vray was more realistic..so other than the noise I don't see what was so bad with this :) It would have been more real with an HDRI map, but you wouldn't get the strong caustics/shadows and they wanted those so I switched to mesh emitters.

-niko

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:29 am

Well, your glare :P
That was the only problem.
I think, the position isn't even correct ;)

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:31 am

I think that they keep using the word realistic and you are interpreting it differently than they intended.

And the vray version looks fine.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:34 am

Yeah there is a hype around VRay and they are looking for "better", although they don't know how "better" does look like. Imo noise or grain is totally disqualifying for that matter :?
obsolete asset

Post Reply
15 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest