Creative flair rendering style....

General questions about Indigo, the scene format, rendering etc...
maeglin1

Creative flair rendering style....

Post by maeglin1 » Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:23 pm

I was looking at architectural visualization jobs on the web recently and some companies were specifically asking for portfolios that were MORE SKETCHY & EXPRESSIVE & LESS PHOTOGRAPHIC. It seems that most people are producing fantastic photo realistic stuff. I want to create a portfolio that is more expressive (since I have a Fine Art and illustration (marker pen) background).

Is it therefore possible to create final images that look more spontaneous?
Is this the realm of Photoshop and NOT render software?
Must you use combinations of stuff?
Can anyone direct me on this or have samples?

I am new to Indigo and love it. But since most people do realistic stuff I want to create a unique style that
seems more dramatic and hands on.

Zom-B
1st Place 100

Re: Creative flair rendering style....

Post by Zom-B » Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:19 am

Since this is not Indigo related, that thread would fit very well in the off-topic area of the Forum :wink:

But to answer your question:

There is something like Sketch & Toon for C4D that is quite powerful:
Here some examples done with that: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZSNVUDA5v0

There is also a free render engine called Freestyle, check out the Gallery: http://freestyle.sourceforge.net/GALLERY/dirindex.php
There is a Blender integration for it, and maybe also for other 3D apps

there are maybe even more render engines, but this are the only two I know of...
polygonmanufaktur.de

maeglin1

Post by maeglin1 » Sun Jan 26, 2014 5:59 am

Zom-B wrote:Since this is not Indigo related, that thread would fit very well in the off-topic area of the Forum :wink:

But to answer your question:

There is something like Sketch & Toon for C4D that is quite powerful:
Here some examples done with that: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZSNVUDA5v0