Helmer - A relatively cheap home renderfarm

Discuss stuff not about Indigo.
User avatar
Olis
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Helmer - A relatively cheap home renderfarm

Post by Olis » Fri May 30, 2008 2:07 am

Well it's a bunch of motherboards in a metal cabinet. Though it's quite fast for its price.

http://helmer.sfe.se/

User avatar
Stur
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: Nancy, France

Post by Stur » Fri May 30, 2008 8:16 am

Awesome !! :lol:

User avatar
joegiampaoli
Posts: 837
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:12 am
Location: San Miguel de Allende-MEXICO
Contact:

Post by joegiampaoli » Fri May 30, 2008 8:46 am

Man that's a nice Beowulf, it is awesome!
Joe Giampaoli
Never tie a ship to a single anchor, nor life to a single hope
My Indigo Gallery

User avatar
psor
1st Place Winner
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by psor » Fri May 30, 2008 8:59 am

I need one of these! 8) :lol: :wink:


take care
psor
"The sleeper must awaken"

Kyokutan
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:56 am

Post by Kyokutan » Sat May 31, 2008 12:12 am

Similar project with GPUs:

http://fastra.ua.ac.be/en/index.html

They beat a 3.5mio $ computer with this machine!

PS.: I'm not a fan of GPU vs. CPU.....but in this case the GPU-solution seems quite effective.

Sukrim
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:47 am

Post by Sukrim » Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:02 am

Just add more cores!!!111one

:lol:

Well, Tesla is the "pro"-Version of that "FASTRA" thingie - however I wonder how they managed to:

- cool the GPUs effectively (there is no mainboard in there as far as I could see) 1500 Watts is not very efficient... maybe they should use some more dedicated hardware than 9800X2 cards (maybe even AMD/ATI cards, they are even cheaper)
- get a mainboard to accept 8 GPUs on 4 PCIe lanes (looks custom built...)
- get this guy to make the video, he just looks like all of those geek-stereotypes in one person
- build that much *bling* in one workstation

Edit: CUDA-Indigo anyone? :twisted:

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4697
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Post by Zom-B » Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:44 am

Sukrim wrote:(there is no mainboard in there as far as I could see)
there is, the CPU Coller is just a hint ;-)
Sukrim wrote:1500 Watts is not very efficient... maybe they should use some more dedicated hardware than 9800X2 cards (maybe even AMD/ATI cards, they are even cheaper)
if CUDA is involved ATI Cards are dismissed... aren't they?!

Sukrim wrote:get a mainboard to accept 8 GPUs on 4 PCIe lanes (looks custom built...)
wasn't new even in 2005 -.-
Sukrim wrote:get this guy to make the video, he just looks like all of those geek-stereotypes in one person
+1 I love his clumsy gestures ^^
Sukrim wrote:Edit: CUDA-Indigo anyone? :twisted:
In a Galaxy far far away... in a Time of 4GB RAM on board, GPUs working with double prezision there is a Indigo Cuda version ^^
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Fri Jun 06, 2008 3:43 am

...as well as a CPU version for Indigo, with 4x precision and full animation support...

(and a third one, using both)
(and a fourth for ATI - /me doesn't have Gforce)

User avatar
cookieofdoom
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 3:24 am

Post by cookieofdoom » Fri Jun 06, 2008 3:53 am

I'm definitely going to build one of these sometime in my life. There's even an Ikea pretty close to where I live, lol.

User avatar
Meelis
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:29 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by Meelis » Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:42 am

Isn't there PSU-s that supports multible motherboards? Maybe server one.

water cooling wood be nice to. :)

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4697
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Post by Zom-B » Wed Apr 08, 2009 9:01 am

Meelis wrote:Isn't there PSU-s that supports multible motherboards? Maybe server one.

water cooling wood be nice to. :)
Check Google about the Coler Master 20 ghz 53GHz Mini-itx PC

http://www.minitechnet.de/typo3temp/pics/22a19c8d43.jpg

Here a german article: http://www.minitechnet.de/cooler-master ... itx_1.html


The idea was to power 5 mainboards with one PSU and bring all in one Case... watercoled!

The PSU was slightly modified for this purposes, but seems to be easy to reconstruct!
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
Meelis
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:29 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by Meelis » Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:13 pm

It's totally assom. :shock:

Will unmodified psu drive it. I really don't know how do modifie.
Tagan - BZ1300 might work maybe
http://www.tagan.com/index.php?option=c ... Itemid=143
It has 1104W on six +12V rails.

I'm going to burn everything down someday if i start modifing :lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
carbon
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:26 am

Post by carbon » Thu Apr 09, 2009 2:48 am

only 2gb memory each? :P :P :P
and why 5 burners? :roll:

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4697
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Post by Zom-B » Thu Apr 09, 2009 2:53 am

Meelis wrote:It's totally assom. :shock:

Will unmodified psu drive it. I really don't know how do modifie.
Tagan - BZ1300 might work maybe
http://www.tagan.com/index.php?option=c ... Itemid=143
It has 1104W on six +12V rails.

I'm going to burn everything down someday if i start modifing :lol: :lol: :lol:
Its explained at some point in one of the videos shortly. 5x Cooler Master 12V DC-DC Mini-Converter 160W re used for this purpose!


carbon wrote:only 2gb memory each? :P :P :P
and why 5 burners? :roll:
The idea is to have one workstation, that can be used by 5 users at the same time. every of the systems here got a own burner, HDD etc.
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
Meelis
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:29 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by Meelis » Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:01 am

Its explained at some point in one of the videos shortly. 5x Cooler Master 12V DC-DC Mini-Converter 160W re used for this purpose!
I imagined that dc 2 dc converter inputs req volts from PSU's +12V rail, not like most single iTX system do from ac adapter's. Didn't they modifie converter dc-in to input from psu's +12V rail.

:) Does Vista run on such machine :lol:
PSU calculator told me I need 210W for: Q9550 / 4x ddr2 / 3.5 7200 sata HD / DVDRW drive. How can i share one HD & one DVD drive between motherboards.

Post Reply
16 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chandrasz11, consueloyt1, gaylebx2, jimmieke3, lenorets16, willardaw18 and 4 guests