Crysis is the best looking videogame I have ever played.

Discuss stuff not about Indigo.
User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Crysis is the best looking videogame I have ever played.

Post by zsouthboy » Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:58 pm

Here's how impressed I was:

Okay, start the game. Do some loading, okie dokie.

Hmm, this looks like one of those prerendered cutscen-OH MY GOD IT'S REALTIME

I have experienced 4 of those "omg realtime!" points so far, including that one.

Anyone else downloaded and played the hefty demo yet? (1.7 gb!)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Nov 04, 2007 1:35 am

Yep, I could finally have a "decent" fps at lowest settings: up to 10fps, yoooo. Bi-Xeon 2GB nVidia 6200 (ouch AGP graphic boards are hard to find).

My question in that respect is: does multithreading work with this game for you, as it is supposed to ? I have 4 threads availables, only one is used...

Otherwise yes, the artwork is amazing but they had already a good basis to start with, I'm talking about FarCry.
Crysis is the best looking videogame I have ever played.
It is the more ressource consuming I have *tried* to play.
obsolete asset

User avatar
Maluminas
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:06 am
Location: Canada>Quebec>Montreal

Post by Maluminas » Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:04 am

I downloaded it and tried it on my soon-to-be-put-to-sleep comp. With the lowest settings (except resolution, maxed out, which was still lower than my screen's native, just for the demo i guess) i got a fairly playable 10-15fps. Of course since i have an older generation card (Radeon X850 pro) and that all settings are at lowest, i didn't have any OMG REAL-TIME moments. Hopefully ill have these moments soon: in one week im buying a computer, it will be so freaking powerful they'll have to make laws against it :P So ill buy the full version of Crysis, Oblivion and all those wonderful looking games, so i can finally enjoy the eye-candy AND the smooth gameplay of high frame rates :)

Anthony
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:42 pm

Post by Anthony » Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:58 pm

O can I have your old comp? Don't put it to sleep lol. My computer can't even run the sims 2 lol

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:49 am

OMG!
My old Computer was able to run TS2 - with my old graphics card and my *new* graphics card was "new" when I got my "old" one, which was new, when I got the graphics card, before :?

PhilBo
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Post by PhilBo » Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:33 am

I was able to play it on very high with 30+ fps at 1024x768 in XP with the DirectX10 hack applied. It was awesome. I had to stop and look around so many times just to take in the details. I got a very playable experience in XP, but in Vista...well...that's another story.

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:40 am

Just remember that Crysis will unlock some "Ultra" settings when a card is released that will handle it.

User avatar
Maluminas
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:06 am
Location: Canada>Quebec>Montreal

Post by Maluminas » Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:03 pm

What do you mean "Ultra"? I know that "Very High" quality settings are available only on DX10 enabled cards + Vista. Is Ultra even higher? O_o

User avatar
dougal2
Developer
Posts: 2532
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:17 am
Location: South London

Post by dougal2 » Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:11 pm

well, i wasn't very impressed... yet.
it ran OK on my Althon64 3500+/GeForce 6200/WinXP but, as you may guess, i don't get to see anything much other than an overload of polys with this system.
I'm not ready to upgrade yet, but when I do, I'll give it another try.

By way of comparison, I think that HL2 manages to look pretty awesome on this system. Crysis didn't look as good.

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:24 pm

Yeah with your 6200 you're missing TONS of detail.

It's not the polys that are impressive with this game - it's the shaders.

So if all you see are a ton of polys, you're missing out :D

PhilBo
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Post by PhilBo » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:30 am

Actually, very high is available in XP as well. You just need to hack the config files to allow the high setting to use the very high values.

In XP, you cannot choose Very High as it is DirectX 10 only. By editing the config files, you get all the Direct X10 eye candy in XP but at higher frame rates. I dual boot with XP and Vista and was able to verify it. I have 3D water, light rays and all the goodies running on my XP installation.

Just Google around and you'll find the hack. Very simple. Most impressive.

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:09 am

Yep that's what I've been running too - though I have a 7900GT, so no DX10 for me anyway. (and jesus, no vista - my computer feels slow enough as it is)

There's a long thread on incrysis about the game and tweaking :)

User avatar
matsta
Posts: 730
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:50 am
Location: 127.0.0.1

Post by matsta » Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:48 am

lol i was busy playing the demo today when under mainly high settings with 16xq aa at low res i encountered this error. i couldnt help but laugh. its not an atrifact XD i dont think.

Image

alex22
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: Germany

Post by alex22 » Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:16 pm

No its a vertice transformed to max distance away from camera. I had that in several games already, but never really found the reason. But every time I had that low frame rates were involved. :)

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:14 pm

Arf can u swim up there ?
obsolete asset

Post Reply
18 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 3 guests