What to do with my zillion texture maps?

Discuss stuff not about Indigo.
BbB

What to do with my zillion texture maps?

Post by BbB » Thu Sep 20, 2007 9:01 pm

Hi Guys,
It just occurred to me the other day that I've made tons of hi-res seamless textures based on 10mp photos, which some people might find useful. They range from parquet to wood, fabric, stone, metal, walls, tiles etc... Most also have hand-made bump and reflectance maps.

What do you think would be the best way to distribute them online - either free or for a small fee? I thought of setting up a website but I'm a complete noob (I really mean this) and it always felt like way too much work. Turbosquid is no option cause they want me to get and fill all sorts of US tax forms I can't be bothered to even start looking for. I'm not sure about the free sites, like CGTextures, cause they have mainly unedited, untileable raw images and a lot of work has gone into mine... So I'm at a loss. Any idea???

Big Fan

Post by Big Fan » Thu Sep 20, 2007 11:49 pm

how many? how big a download would that be?
if you want to share them here you would be a hero :wink:
but perhaps visitors could donate something for the privilege and a small % would help out with the indigo website upkeep? :roll:
so..you get space and a return on your effort, ono gets more visitors come looking around - and it helps provide a community forum (or at least the downloads pay their own way), and we get a local texture resource :D
Last edited by Big Fan on Thu Sep 20, 2007 11:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BbB

Post by BbB » Thu Sep 20, 2007 11:57 pm

That's an idea. I've been a donator in the past but surely among the stingiest. Taking a symbolic fee and sharing the proceeds with the site sounds like an option, unless Master Ono feels this conflicts with the free nature of Indigo, which I would fully understand.