4 thread?

Discuss stuff not about Indigo.
Post Reply
8 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

4 thread?

Post by contegufo » Tue Sep 15, 2015 9:39 pm

Hi

These squares represent the 4 threads running?
Attachments
4 thread.jpg
Mac Mini 2011 - 2,3 GHz Intel Core i5
16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 Mb.
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB - MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6



https://www.behance.net/Paolo_Conti

User avatar
thesquirell
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:49 am
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia

Re: 4 thread?

Post by thesquirell » Tue Sep 15, 2015 9:58 pm

Never seen them in my life, ever. With Indigo, that is. Is this some special feature?

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4664
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: 4 thread?

Post by Zom-B » Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:31 pm

contegufo wrote:These squares represent the 4 threads running?
Yes exactly, this are threads in bucket Rendermode of some other Render engine, representing CPU cores here, that usually start counting at 0.
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

Re: 4 thread?

Post by contegufo » Wed Sep 16, 2015 4:19 am

Hi

It is V-Ray as well C4D (global illumination) and MODO behave the same way.
Mac Mini 2011 - 2,3 GHz Intel Core i5
16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 Mb.
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB - MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6



https://www.behance.net/Paolo_Conti

User avatar
thesquirell
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:49 am
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia

Re: 4 thread?

Post by thesquirell » Wed Sep 16, 2015 5:42 am

Indeed, but not Indigo. ;D

User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2176
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: 4 thread?

Post by Oscar J » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:35 am

^ And for the better - I don't see why you'd want that on top of your image like that. You can set the number of threads Indigo should use in your exporter, and you can check how many you're using in the Render Log.

User avatar
contegufo
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:41 am
Location: Lucca ITALY

Re: 4 thread?

Post by contegufo » Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:59 am

Hi

I have an Intel i5 CPU two cores 4 threads that are intercepted in calculation. Indigo uses them as C4d, MODO or V-Ray hope rather than the version 4 see my GPU!
Mac Mini 2011 - 2,3 GHz Intel Core i5
16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 - Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 Mb.
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB - MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6



https://www.behance.net/Paolo_Conti

User avatar
Silverwing
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 1:16 am
Location: Ludwigsburg Germany
Contact:

Re: 4 thread?

Post by Silverwing » Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:48 pm

You have to understand the algorithms and the pros and cons betweens "Buckets" and "Progressive" rendering.

Buckets:
Are mostly there to allow better memory handling. Because the picture is only rendering at the area your buckets are located at. This can be more Memory efficient as only parts of the image has to be held in memory.
Also there are techniques where from textures only pixels that are needed can be drawn from disc and loaded dynamically in to the systems memory. With buckets normally you get one bucket per CPU thread.

Progressive:
This samples the whole picture as a whole showing your results of the scene lighting and shading very early on. Of course for that technique the whole picture and all textures have to be held in the system ram. Clear advantage is the fast interactive progressions in rendering. This technique also allows for real time feedback.

Overall you can not judge the render power or your core usage by what technique is used. Both of them are multi core capable and if coded well will take full advantage of all your cores.

Cheers,
Raphael
You don´t dream in cryo.

Post Reply
8 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests