Page 1 of 2

[REQ] Region rendering

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:30 am
by CTZn
It would look like that:

Code: Select all

<renderer_settings>
    <width>800</width>
    <height>800</height>
    <region_min>432 285</region_min>
    <region_max>478 312</region_max>
...
 </renderer_settings>
and will allow one to render a small portion of his image, thus allowing quick feedback for material/light/whatever tweaking. In this example the portion will be 46x27 pixels, say to have a quick glance at what diffraction effect (Cauchy coeff) will look like...

Waddya think ? Isn't that very easy to implement while a huge plus for arteests ?

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:57 am
by CTZn
Added a poll.

I think this one could be a template for every [REQ], so OnoSendai could have a quick glance at how much something is required by users. Everyone just doesn't post, but many more ppl have an opinion ;)

For [BUG] I don't think this is needed, because:

1° One has to be sure it is a bug before creating a poll

2° Bugs have to be fixed anyway

Cheers

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:56 pm
by zsouthboy
My vote is that it's not very useful.


Just change your camera position and zoom to see only what you want to see, then set resolution to a low value.


It's easier than dealing with defining what part of the render you want to see.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:10 pm
by atmmatt
I voted it would be cool. I would like it if it was like the navigator in photoshop, you just set a zoom level and drag the little red box around. I'm guessing this won't get on the top of the to-do list but as your code shows I can't imagine it would be very hard.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:39 pm
by codemonk
I voted it would be cool, because you could have a quick(er) render of just the area you need to see if you only changed the material for one object in a scene and you had your camera all set up and didn't want to move it.

But, it really shouldn't be a high priority, more of a if your bored and feel like adding something nifty thats not a really huge change do this sort of thing.

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 5:43 pm
by CTZn
Ok, thanks for the feedback.

zsouthboy, actually for me it is easier to define a global region (by guess) rather than renaming my previous cam, creating a new one, exporting again while changing the rez :P the idea too is to keep the exact same pixel size for details ;)

atmmatt: wer... maybe that way would not be as easy as the simple one I described, but handy for sure. Actually that would mean to have a gui...

codemonk: well, you get my point :)

my opinion is that it'll be cool too... but I didn't vote...

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 8:26 pm
by Zom-B
I think something like a Matte Material, that simply doesn't gets Rendered is much more interesting!
A render Region could be done very easy by placing a Object in front of the Camera,
with a totally Black non reflectiv Material so not only square regions would be possible!
I know this black are will steal resources too, but less than other materials and
a complex geometry it hides..

A Matte material could be used for Matte Purposes :shock:
want to change the material of an object in your scene?!
Just color all other objects with the matte Material, and Indigo will shoot
rays only on your couch...
(don't ask me how this will affect reflectiv materials etc.)

Such a Material could be also coded by "simply" allow priority for a material in %.
0 % Priority = Matte Material
You also could channel the power of Indigo into more complex geometry/material.

BTW
The Idea to add a poll to each [REQ] Thread is great!!!

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:00 pm
by CTZn
BTW
The Idea to add a poll to each [REQ] Thread is great!!!
Thanks for your appreciation, but maybe at the end every request "would be cool", you know what I mean ?

And regarding your idea of a matte material, well... :mrgreen: that would be cool as well !

But I see my request straight forward: rendering just a region of the actual image without touching the cam at all, like codemonk said :)

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:14 am
by deltaepsylon
in reply to zsouthboy, i think one could have certain predefined values for the region rendering.
instead of doing <region>456 345</region>
one might able to do <region>UPPERLEFT</region> or
<region>1 3</region> where the number 1 would represent the x coordinate if the image where divided into 8 parts or so. so <region>1 3</region> would mean to render the 1/8 part x axis and the 3/8 part y axis.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:09 am
by Phil
Hi,

for me it is a must have!

Regards, Phil

Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:14 am
by Aardbei
When doing real work, it's a must have.

Also, you only know you miss this feature, when you've already used it before.
I always thought it was useless, but now I know it saved my life quite a lot.

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:40 am
by F.ip2
render region would be a dream!!!

Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 9:48 am
by dmn
bump
:wink:
ook

Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 10:14 am
by CTZn
thx :lol:

Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:11 pm
by dmn
:twisted: