[Bug] Light layers under Linux

Feature requests, bug reports and related discussion
Post Reply
11 posts • Page 1 of 1
Josh
Indigo 100
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 10:07 pm
Location: Germany

[Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by Josh » Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:55 am

Indigo 2.0.12, Linux 32-bit (Ubuntu 9.04): Selecting "light layers" as render settings shows only an empty box without controls, even with scene loaded and rendered.

Would be nice to have an actual linux build with above and this locale problem solved.

Thanks.

User avatar
benn
Posts: 1046
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:47 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by benn » Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:28 am

I've added a ticket (#103) for this, it'll be fixed. Thanks for the report.

Josh
Indigo 100
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 10:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by Josh » Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:40 am

Thanks 8)

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6158
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:32 pm

Works for me on Kubuntu 9.0.4 with 32 bit Indigo 2.2.9.
Are you still experiencing this issue?

Cheesestraws
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 8:26 am

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by Cheesestraws » Thu Dec 10, 2009 1:21 am

Works fine for me in Ubuntu 9.10 Indigo 2.2.9.

Josh
Indigo 100
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 10:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by Josh » Thu Dec 10, 2009 1:22 am

Oh, thanks for reminding me of this thread, light layers work with Indigo 2.2.9 :)

But I have to switch locale settings because the decimal separators are still messed up. Now I can't even start rendering (at least this was possible before) with German environment due to new rendering options (image save period!). Very annoying...

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6158
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:14 am

Hi Josh,
I downloaded a Kubuntu vmware image so I could try and replicate the bug, no luck so far though.
Can you give me some steps to replicate on kubuntu?

Josh
Indigo 100
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 10:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by Josh » Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:56 am

I'm not sure about KDE (I use Gnome), but here is a try: You have to set your system language to German (or any other locale that uses a comma as a decimal separator) by installing the respective language pack and choosing it somewhere (system settings...?). Then just install Indigo, run it, choose a random example scene and hit the 'render' button. With 2.2.9, this is enough to make it fail on my system (Gnome, to remind).

Just have downloaded 2.2.10, now it seems to be confused by dot separators in files.

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6158
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by OnoSendai » Fri Dec 11, 2009 10:35 am

Hi Josh, I tried installing the German language pack, but it didn't change to using commas, will try again.

User avatar
eman7613
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 2:52 pm

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by eman7613 » Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:45 am

Josh, i'm going to go ahead and venture you dont have any QT apps installed?

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install qt
and see if it works.
Yes i know, my spelling sucks

Josh
Indigo 100
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 10:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Bug] Light layers under Linux

Post by Josh » Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:22 am

eman7613 wrote:Josh, i'm going to go ahead and venture you dont have any QT apps installed?
Nope, QT core libs and other stuff are installed; I have some KDE apps here.
By the way, your command fails saying there is no package "qt" :wink:

As I posted in the announcement the issue has been fixed for Indigo 2.2.11, but not in the material editor.

Post Reply
11 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests