max resolution

Feature requests, bug reports and related discussion
User avatar
fused
Developer
Posts: 3580
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
3D Software: Cinema 4D

Post by fused » Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:43 am

carbon wrote:fused: indigo crashed every time when using ~1.1gb of memory on wine.. so i still think it is wine issue
na, i still think its a 32 bit issue. when the load is 1.1gb and indigo tries to allocate a 4800x4800x2x32x3xnumber of light layers bit image buffer the 32 bit limit is reached, resulting in a crash.

feel free to correct me if im wrong :)

User avatar
carbon
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:26 am

Post by carbon » Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:10 am

these calculations aren't my cup of tea, maybe you're right, dunno.. i thought it is 32bit limitation when single program cant use more than ~3gb..

FakeShamus
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 11:34 am

Post by FakeShamus » Sat Dec 13, 2008 8:47 am

well, that's a big part of it then. light layers were not available in earlier versions. that explains the newer versions crashing at a much lower res than before. I hadn't considered that each light layer would add the full image res to calculate. I guess I'll be doing away with my layers when I'm done testing and ready to go big.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Sun Dec 14, 2008 12:36 am

Fused sounds darn right, with a single layer at 6000x4500 indigo.exe (1.1.15) has a memory footprint of 1053Mo and it keeps running for 1h40 now... the scene is pretty light though.

Also don't neglect indigo_console.exe for final renders, or at least set a high value for display_period (to save CPU cycles, say... 3% :D ?). The console doesn't load ui stuff and related.

User avatar
carbon
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:26 am

Post by carbon » Sun Dec 14, 2008 2:28 am

CTZn: yep, sure, i did first tests (on osx and wine) i did with indigo_console

User avatar
SATtva_
1st Place Winner
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 6:44 am
Location: Russia, Siberia
Contact:

Post by SATtva_ » Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:58 am

On a similar subject (to not cross-post):
http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/fo ... php?t=5288

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:42 am

I've rendered at over 10000 x 10000 before on a simple scene on my 64-bit boxen. It's not an indigo problem :)

Post Reply
22 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests