Crash after 15-50 mins.

Feature requests, bug reports and related discussion
User avatar
Bogey Jammer
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:37 am
Location: France

Post by Bogey Jammer » Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:21 am

mmm... it's very vague and these reasons don't seem to be controllable..
I'll try again to render my scene with other conditions, I suspect the explorer window showing and updating the render image file causes the trouble, and use the gui like I done before instead of the console.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:30 am

zsouthboy: fair enough; we still don't know what this is about. Someone having the same issue ?


Bogey Jammer : salut ! probably, from point 1 to point 3 the answer is negative. Now you could have broken some known limits with your scene, but someone else would have to tell. Point 4 has a much higher probability for an affirmative.
I'll try again to render my scene with other conditions
Yep. Try the points exposed above (export-reimport), try another scene. I'm suspecting your scene ahead any other issue, clean it a max etc :)
obsolete asset

User avatar
Kosmokrator
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Greece-Athens

Post by Kosmokrator » Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:31 am

have u overclock very high your pc???

if yes this is the ause of the fails after some minutes...i have axperiense this problems too until stabilize my system setup with a certain system setup....

if u don have overclock anything....search on your hardware...some may have a problem and fail in heavy conditions (likes indigo renders with full cores)

i have found indigo th most reliable and full-on stress test for extreme pc-overclk!!!
1)Core i7 965XE stock CLOCK ,PSU:CHIEFTEC 850W
M/B ASUS P6T DELUXE,WATERCOOLING ZALMAN RESERATOR 2
MEMORY:6GB CORRSAIR @1600,Ati HD 4870x2,
MONITOR:LG 1950SQ,CASE:THERMALTAKE SOPRANO

User avatar
Bogey Jammer
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:37 am
Location: France

Post by Bogey Jammer » Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:44 am

Thanks for suggestions guys

I don't overclock my laptop, the room temp is not warm.. But I think it was not a overheat problem because vista clearly showed a messagebox "Indigo ceased to work" or something like this in english.. The system was not frozen or rebooted.
I'll tell tomorrow if the current rendering will survive.

User avatar
Behrendt
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by Behrendt » Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:16 am

I hardly suggest you to try to reduce the polycount of your meshlights. I experienced these problems with my Poolhousescene. I had about 32 polys each emitter (half a sphere). After reducing them to just 1 square each the scene rendered perfectly for hours and hours.

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:31 am

you don't suggest it? why?

schwer!=schwer in English :? I guess, you meant heavily or highly.... ;)
Just to avoid confusions :)

User avatar
Bogey Jammer
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:37 am
Location: France

Post by Bogey Jammer » Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:32 pm

Indigo crashed again but after 2 hours this time.... :evil:

Next try: reduce emitting polys

User avatar
Behrendt
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by Behrendt » Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:26 pm

Kram1032 wrote:you don't suggest it? why?

schwer!=schwer in English :? I guess, you meant heavily or highly.... ;)
Just to avoid confusions :)
Whops... embarrassing :shock: You're completely right.

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 12:40 am

Nah, it was fine. It's one of the mistakes I make most frequently, so...^^

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:48 am

Me again on that, but are you running on a 32 bit system* ? If so, do you have a chance to try the faulty scene on a 64 bit rig ?

* could you give more specs please ?
obsolete asset

User avatar
Behrendt
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by Behrendt » Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:58 am

CTZn wrote:Me again on that, but are you running on a 32 bit system* ? If so, do you have a chance to try the faulty scene on a 64 bit rig ?

* could you give more specs please ?
Can't speak for him but the system I experienced this problem on is a x64 system running on Vista Ultimate x64. ;)

User avatar
Bogey Jammer
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:37 am
Location: France

Post by Bogey Jammer » Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:27 am

CTZn wrote:Me again on that, but are you running on a 32 bit system* ? If so, do you have a chance to try the faulty scene on a 64 bit rig ?

* could you give more specs please ?
My render machine:
  • Acer aspire 5612Zwlmi
  • Intel T2060 dual core 1.6 GHz
  • 1GB RAM
  • vista home premium 32bit
(stupid?) question: it is better to run Indigo in Windows safe mode?

I just started to run the same scene rendering with emitting material replaced by a matt one...

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:18 am

Ok, the specs may be usefull, but not for me because of my poor knowledge on hardware, sorry ^^

Never heard about using Indigo in safe mode, but in your case maybe that would help ?

Now it could be usefull to know more about your scene, but again I have no precise clue on this issue. Do these debugging test you are doing, maybe remove emitters 1 by 1... :?:
obsolete asset

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:28 am

Windows Safe mode just disables loading of some drivers.

It will be interesting to know your results in safe mode - if it works, that is a strike in the right direction to narrow it down to a driver..

User avatar
Bogey Jammer
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:37 am
Location: France

Post by Bogey Jammer » Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:54 am

This is my scene I wanted to render:

Image
log.txt wrote:Time elapsed: 72 h, 57 m, 42 s
Done 6748080000.00000 samples (8580.62744 samples per pixel)
25691.06371 samples / second (38.92404 micro-seconds / sample)
Don't pay attention to the noise, I'm still experiencing Indigo and this scene uses a lot of indirect light scattered by a SSS curtain behind the camera.

Since last time I've replaced only the emitting material by a matt one. My computer managed to render it for almost 73hours. So using emitting mesh could be dangerous. The emitting meshes are supposed to be the fluo tubes on the roof.
I noticed in a crashed render that the fluo tubes were not bright and not enlightening the room. In real life we can even see that a lamp is on, in the render the tube looked like off, the car in the center didn't reflect the tubes... Is it due to a wrong setting?

I can't go forward very much in the investigation because I don't have enough information about how Indigo manages mesh emitters. And my rendering times are too long...

Post Reply
42 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests