[BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode ***FIXED in v3***

Feature requests, bug reports and related discussion
Post Reply
13 posts • Page 1 of 1
User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

[BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode ***FIXED in v3***

Post by Zom-B » Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:27 pm

I just bought a new AMD 1090T CPU to upgrade my system from a AMD 945.

two more cores and +0.2Ghz higher clocked.... nice, so letzt Benchmark this Baby I thought.
After the first tests I thought I did something wrong, only 5% faster then the old CPU... wtf!?!?

So I did a simple test... opened the testscene of Psor, changed CPU allocation in the Task manager to 1 Core, and run a 1min benchmark (Indigo 2.4.12!).
I repeated this, raising Core allocation by 1 each time... here are the ugly numbers:

1 Core: 89k
2 Core: 155k
3 Core: 193k
4 Core: 209k
5 Core: 215k
6 Core: 217k


Benchmark with Cinebech gave me a reasonable good result, the older 4x3GHz CPU did 210k on this scene btw...
A test on my iMac with Vista on it scaled fine 1Core: 63k, 2Core: 127k

It could be that this problem is related to that issue...

if there is something else I can provide, just tell me!
I really hope to see this problem solved quickly... I want my 500k samples/sec that I deserve :cry:
Last edited by Zom-B on Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:29 am, edited 2 times in total.
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail

Post by Zom-B » Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:31 am

Ok, more testing & interesting results:

This time I tried to go from default BiDir PT to pure MLT, also raised the benchmark time to 3min, since MLT raises samples/s slower:

1 Core: 153k
2 Core: 234k
3 Core: 496k
4 Core: 661k
5 Core: 829k
6 Core: 993k


As you also can see, the performance not raises even more with each additional core, this is maybe because of using Task Manager for Thread-Control... Indigo still starts 6 Threads.

It seems that only PT mode scales that bad... I hope this doesn't affect the GPU version either.
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail

Post by pixie » Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:34 am

I think glare is abusing of windows most known function donothing(), it's one of the reasons that windows seems so slow, it's done on purpose! :P

StompinTom
Indigo 100
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:33 pm

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail

Post by StompinTom » Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:26 am

pixie wrote:I think glare is abusing of windows most known function donothing(), it's one of the reasons that windows seems so slow, it's done on purpose! :P
Haha! Is that sort of like the eatprocessortimefornoreason() function?

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail

Post by pixie » Fri Sep 17, 2010 2:29 am

StompinTom wrote:Haha! Is that sort of like the eatprocessortimefornoreason() function?
:D The best family functions produced for windows, like, ever! In the end it's all part of the master plan! ;)

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode

Post by Zom-B » Thu Feb 03, 2011 1:14 am

Just wanted to bump this...

Can somebody with a AMD system confirm this issue??
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:04 am

I did some testing of this on my I7. Rendering speed increased approximately linearly with the number of threads for the first 4 threads, then increased approximately linearly but at a slower rate over the next 4 (hyperthreaded / virtual core) threads.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode

Post by Zom-B » Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:19 am

This seems not to effect i7 systems at all, therefor I look for AMD people to give it a quick benchmark!
Some testing on a 4 Core AMD would be nice too... anybody?
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
ENSLAVER
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:49 am

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode

Post by ENSLAVER » Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:29 pm

I don't think any renderer will ever scale linearly, the more cores, the more overhead. Probably expect the curve to be more linear but it's one of those things, not sure how other renderers scale compared to indigo.

AMD phenomx4 (random simple scene)

PT
1 Core/s: 73K
2 Core/s: 125K
3 Core/s: 156K
4 Core/s: 168K

MLT
1 Core/s: 128K
2 Core/s: 275K
3 Core/s: 395K
4 Core/s: 523K

+1.2 ghz overall is not a huge jump, specially spread across more cores. It seems reasonable to expect a greater increase in speed though. Zom-B have you done some other benchmarks on the old cpu to compare it against the new? Maybe something is off in the setup.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode

Post by Zom-B » Thu Feb 03, 2011 11:19 pm

ENSLAVER wrote:I don't think any renderer will ever scale linearly, the more cores, the more overhead. Probably expect the curve to be more linear but it's one of those things, not sure how other renderers scale compared to indigo.
The gain with multiple CPU Cores should be very linear for a raytracer, it is on a Intel at least (also on Ono's system)!
So your Benchmark prove my theory about PT racism against AMD CPUs :D
ENSLAVER wrote:I+1.2 ghz overall is not a huge jump, specially spread across more cores. It seems reasonable to expect a greater increase in speed though. Zom-B have you done some other benchmarks on the old cpu to compare it against the new? Maybe something is off in the setup.
I just tested some of my own scenes for speed comparison before selling the older x4, and my scenes use MLT+BiDir quite always...
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
Headroom
Indigo 100
Posts: 987
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC, USA

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode

Post by Headroom » Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:47 am

The reason for the difference could be manyfold. The Athlon 6-core processors have 3 MB 2nd level cache and 6MB 3rd level cache while the Intel 6-cores (i7 980x for example) have 1MB 2nd level cache but 12MB 3rd level cache. IIRC there is also a difference as to how that is shared between the different cores. I believe that in the AMD processors all cores share the same cache memory but the Intel processors some of the cache memory is dedicated to each core. That may explain why the difference seems to be mostly in PT.

Also compiler settings may make quite a difference. 10 years ago I ran a Redhat linux system on a DEC Alpha and tinkered a lot with compiling Povray using different compiler settings, different math libraries and compared results across different rendered scenes. These things made quite some difference and differed a bit from the "standard" compiler settings that were mostly aimed at Intel's processors.

There were some DEC Alpha optimized math libraries available (with hand optimized assembler code. Yeehaw) that made the most difference.

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode

Post by Zom-B » Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:58 am

Headroom wrote:Also compiler settings may make quite a difference.
yes, this is something that could be optimized in Indigo for sure!
http://www.indigorenderer.com/forum/vie ... =5&t=10105
polygonmanufaktur.de

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Epic multithreading fail in PT Mode ***FIXED in v3

Post by Zom-B » Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:31 am

Just to keep this up to date I would like to announce that this bug was fixed in Indigo 3 :!:

To give ya some Numbers:
Erotica PT + BiDir: 761k samples/sec
Erotica pure PT: 875k samples/sec
polygonmanufaktur.de

Post Reply
13 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest