TopMod

Show off your final renders
User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Mon May 07, 2007 6:28 am

yup it is ;)
But there also is no "first version" of it... still beta

SimonLarsen
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Odense, Denmark

Post by SimonLarsen » Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:34 am

Hey.

I've just downloaded TopMod, and it seems pretty easy to use, but i can't rotate my mesh. What shall i press?

I can't hear what the guy in the instructional video says, because of his crazy French accent. :D

Edit: Finally it worked. It was the Alt-button. :D (But I though i'd already tried it.)

Great program.

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:59 am

I never thought, that it's a french accent, lol

SimonLarsen
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Odense, Denmark

Post by SimonLarsen » Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:11 am

Nah, might be Dutch, i dunno.

Sounds funny anyway. :D

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:13 am

funny, indeed :D
He must be nice...
I'd like to know, if the Backgroundrumor, that's sometimes there, is his Family :)

SimonLarsen
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Odense, Denmark

Post by SimonLarsen » Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:53 am

I'd like to know, if the Backgroundrumor, that's sometimes there, is his Family :)
Yeah, it probably is.

First TopMod-test. Nothing special.
It has a specular+sss material with some random settings. :D

Image

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:34 am

Please don't post thumbnails, I would not connect to imageshak at any price. Even if they are hosted there you can post the full image, thanks.

It's not a french accent ;) and one good thing to do if you use and like TopMod is to tell the author, or it's likely there will never be an update. BTW the navigation scheme is from Maya :)
obsolete asset

SimonLarsen
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Odense, Denmark

Post by SimonLarsen » Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:18 am

Actually, I changed the url the thumb linked to, to spare you the annoying ads.

Whats wrong with Imageshack, besides the ads?

rluiten
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:35 pm

Post by rluiten » Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:20 pm

Love the pictures posted so far.
I started tinkering with topmod/blender/indigo a few weeks ago.
Was hoping might find some others using.

I stumbled on a text file with a list of keyboard short cuts for topmod.
Some were incorrect and others were missing so i have been trying things and updating a new version of the text file over the last 2 weeks.

Ill post 2 pictures as well after this.

I name this file "TopMod Shortcut Keys 20070604.txt"
Cant attach a text file so will paste it here.

================ cut here =================
Some collected and discovered TopMod shortcut Keys.

lower case letters are just pressed.
upper case letters are shift-letter to use
? marks things i couldnt figure out or i dont understand

Modelling Commands

N = Compute Normals and Lightning
A = Deselect
c = Corner Cutting Remeshing Operation (Subdivide-Algorithm)
d,D = Doo-Sabin Remeshing Operation (Subdivide-Algorithm)
s = Catmull-Clark Remeshing Operation (Subdivide-Algorithm)
S = something ? not sure
h = Honeycomb (Dual of Root-3) (Subdivide-Algorithm)
m = Create Sierpinski Tetrahedra Remeshing Operation (Subdivide-Algorithm)
k,K = Pentagon Preserving Remeshing Operation (Subdivide-Algorithm)
z,Z = Create Wireframe
R = Rind Modeling (Scaling) with Scale Factor 0.85

Z - makes a wire frame out of the cube
H - makes a Permutahedron out of the cube
R - places a smaller cube centered within the original cube
which you can only seen by toggling ctrl s ?

o = makes a tesellated hole thru the faces toward center of object it seems - diagonal edges ?
O = makes a tesellated hole thru the faces toward center of object it seems - not diag but square edges somehow ?

Create Objects resets object state to this

C = create cube
M = create stack cube of 3x3 cubes with hole through 3 axis one cube wide
these are independent cubes not linked at all
y,Y = makes 12 Sierpinski pyramids


Non Modelling Commands

e = print edge list to console
f = prints face list to console
g,G = Grid On/Off
q,Q = Quit
x,X - removes the colored 3d axis

ctrl r = Reverse all Normals
ctrl s = toggles a heavy outline around the object
ctrl w = toggles the outline of the object
ctrl n = removes the outline of the object
ctrk z = undo

rluiten
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:35 pm

Post by rluiten » Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:23 pm

A pic.
Attachments
MobFrame01-t1.jpg
Topmod model.
Blender scene. + Blendigo exporter.
Indigo Render.
MobFrame01-t1.jpg (139.31 KiB) Viewed 2028 times

rluiten
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:35 pm

Post by rluiten » Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:26 pm

This one is not made with topmod. I used Sculpture Generator.
link found here. http://www.cs.berkeley.edu/~sequin/SCULPTS/scherk.html
Attachments
im1180535551 glassmod01.jpg
Model Sculpture Generator
Scene Blender + Blendigo export
Render Indigo
im1180535551 glassmod01.jpg (141.08 KiB) Viewed 2025 times

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:16 am

if you slightly tweak the yellow one, you get a perfect infinite rail :D

the glass-thing looks good, but something is missing, there.

Maybe, you should try to only use the podest and remove the room, but therefor add a HDRi, of a park, or such... If you find one.
Last edited by Kram1032 on Tue Jun 05, 2007 3:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CTZn
Posts: 7240
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by CTZn » Tue Jun 05, 2007 3:23 am

Nice nice nice :) looks like the faces are in contact, but vertices unmerged in second pic, the caustics are incorrect I'd say...

@Kram: what should be tweaked then ? I see it's looping ok...
obsolete asset

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Tue Jun 05, 2007 3:46 am

yes, it looks fine, it loops fine, but the caustics would look better, if it was a glass-statue in a park, or such.
I don't mean the object itself, but the environment. ;)

User avatar
DaveC
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:20 am
Location: The Tottenham, London, UK
Contact:

Post by DaveC » Tue Jun 05, 2007 4:23 am

rluiten wrote:This one is not made with topmod. I used Sculpture Generator.
That sculpture generator is pretty sweeeeet. Thanks for the link.
The hardest part of BEING yourself is FINDING yourself in the first place...
http://thebigdavec.googlepages.com

Post Reply
67 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest