External PIGS?

Come here for help & support.
User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

External PIGS?

Post by zeitmeister » Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:26 am

Hey there,
I wondered if it is possible to reference an external PIGS, like an external IGS.
I prepared the IGS with deleting render-, camera- and environment settings, changed <scene> to <scenedata> and packed that file.
Will that work?
Thanks in advance!!


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

Online
User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2170
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: External PIGS?

Post by Oscar J » Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:03 am

I always giggle when I think how new users react to topics like this. External PIGS??? Is this some kind of animal rights movement or what?

To get back on topic - have you tried if it works? :)

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: External PIGS?

Post by zeitmeister » Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:46 am

Hehe! :mrgreen:
No, it doesn't work. It would be very handy for easy asset exchange over non-uniform-name-mapped network drives etc...
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
pixie
Indigo 100
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:54 am
Location: Away from paradise
Contact:

Re: External PIGS?

Post by pixie » Fri Jan 13, 2017 5:13 am

zeitmeister wrote:Hehe! :mrgreen:
No, it doesn't work. It would be very handy for easy asset exchange over non-uniform-name-mapped network drives etc...
If it is handy it will be done, we have some great techs! :D

User avatar
Jay-ko
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: Paris

Re: External PIGS?

Post by Jay-ko » Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:59 am

I have something like that.

It is just a tiny software who remove the header, camera, settings, and add <scenedata>....</scenedata>

I ask to my team if we can share it, but honestly it's not a "big" stuff.

Earlier, I have recommanded to save as "include" and use a layer managment directly in the Indigo software but unfortunatly this is not in the goals of Glare technology.
Last edited by Jay-ko on Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
errare humanum est

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: External PIGS?

Post by zeitmeister » Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:59 am

Hey jay, we have such a nifty little Tool too! :)
But it would be great if the devs could simply implement that... shouldn't be a big deal.


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
Jay-ko
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: Paris

Re: External PIGS?

Post by Jay-ko » Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:14 am

I am totally agree! :D

Even for the lighting condition, such as materials, obtain the possibility to "save as" should be awesome.
errare humanum est

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: External PIGS?

Post by zeitmeister » Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:46 pm

Long time request... and very easy to implement and read for the exporters, too.


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: External PIGS?

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:41 am

Hi,
I could make the <include> tag be able to reference .PIGS files directly, is that what you mean?
I don't really see why that would be helpful. To load PIGS files Indigo just unpacks the file to a temp location anyway.

User avatar
zeitmeister
2nd Place 100
Posts: 1997
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:11 am
Location: Limburg/Lahn, Germany
Contact:

Re: External PIGS?

Post by zeitmeister » Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:49 pm

OnoSendai wrote:Hi,
I could make the <include> tag be able to reference .PIGS files directly, is that what you mean?
I don't really see why that would be helpful. To load PIGS files Indigo just unpacks the file to a temp location anyway.
Indeed, but all textures do have the correct filepath on every machine which unpacks it.
I'm a little bit on network usability here: a pigs can easily be used on many machines in a network, even if the network drive name mappings differ. Absolutely hastle-free for non-distributed network rendering.


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Cheers, David



DAVIDGUDELIUS // 3D.PORTFOLIO
·
Indigo 4.2.23 | Indigo for C4D 4.2.22 | C4D R14.042 | Mac OS X 10.13.6 | Windows 10 Professional x64

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: External PIGS?

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:39 am

Ok added support for this for the next build.
It will just load the first .igs found in the PIGS file.

User avatar
Jay-ko
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: Paris

Re: External PIGS?

Post by Jay-ko » Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:59 am

If you have settings and background material and camera in the sub-PIGS file, what's happens exactly?

If i understand well, if you have a master PIGS, wiht an IGS, including a sub-PIGS then Indigo take the first igs of this sub-PIGS and avoid all settings/camera/background materials info.

What's happens to the UIDs in that such a case? Especially for emitting materials/model2 or IES files integration?

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: External PIGS?

Post by OnoSendai » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:15 am

It behaves pretty much like if you extracted the contents of the PIGS file manually, then linked to the first IGS yourself.
Note that the ordering of the extracted files is somewhat arbitrary, so it will be best to just have one IGS file packed in each PIGS.

User avatar
Jay-ko
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: Paris

Re: External PIGS?

Post by Jay-ko » Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:25 am

oh!
So in case when render an animation (1 PIGS with lot of .IGS with <scene> full of includes) may have some trouble?

To my knowledge, actually the order is define by the sens of reading of the "mainscene igs", top to the bottom.
The first include's line take 1000000 + UIDs, the second 2000000 + UIDs etc.. so it is not so arbitrary.

Because the actual workflow with a "mainscene" then full igs for scene construction is something that very usefull. The only triks is to place the include with the "luminous materials/model2" somewhere where the UIDs don't change, or use the "offset_uids"...

(Notice that there is troubles in the Indigo4Max exporter and new PISG generation from an correct PIGS here)
errare humanum est

Online
User avatar
Oscar J
1st Place Winner
Posts: 2170
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
3D Software: Blender

Re: External PIGS?

Post by Oscar J » Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:28 am

Why not use PIGQ?

Post Reply
32 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest