Indigo HDRI problems

Come here for help & support.
Jerome_Toloko123

Indigo HDRI problems

Post by Jerome_Toloko123 » Mon Feb 08, 2016 11:49 am

Hey there,

I am currently experimenting with Indigo, as I think it might be quite a powerful render engine.
Unfortunately, I still dont have all the skills required to use it correctly, and am running into some problems I cant fix.

I have a little scene (Dont judge me, I am still a beginner) made with Cinema 4D and an image of a night sky set up as an Hdri: http://prntscr.com/a0d413

But, the results turned out quite...interesting.
I have attached 2 Screenshots as of what is happening and I have absolutely no idea why.

http://prntscr.com/a0clf5

http://prntscr.com/a0d1ax

If you could help me out, that would be awesome :)

Cheers, Jerome

Oscar J
1st Place Winner
3D Software: Blender

Re: Indigo HDRI problems

Post by Oscar J » Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:07 pm

Hello and welcome to the forums!

Could you explain what exactly you think is the problem? :)

Jerome_Toloko123

Post by Jerome_Toloko123 » Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:16 pm

Oscar J wrote:Hello and welcome to the forums!

Could you explain what exactly you think is the problem? :)
Well, In the first Screenshot you can see that half the scene is quite black, while the other half is really bright.

The second Screenshot shows that the HDRI is suddenly and for no apparent reason completely overbrighted.

Zom-B
1st Place 100

Post by Zom-B » Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:20 pm

It seems you are using the JPG, not an HDRI at all!
The linked file is a low dynamic 8bit JPG with a crapton of compression artefacts that you also see in the rendering, nicely marked with your red arrow.

HDRIs are saved in 32bit depth as EXR or HDR files.

The reason for you strange brightens of the scene could also be material based, hard to tell, but first try using a real HDRI for lighting.
polygonmanufaktur.de

Jerome_Toloko123

Post by Jerome_Toloko123 » Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:27 pm