32 Bit Texture clamped in Emission Channel

Come here for help & support.
Post Reply
7 posts • Page 1 of 1
Yader
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:01 pm

32 Bit Texture clamped in Emission Channel

Post by Yader » Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:28 am

With some of my 32Bit Textures there's a difference in the render between CPU and GPU Mode. It looks like the 32Bit Texture gets clamped. See attached image. Is there a specific way my 32Bit Textures have to be set up, so they work the same in both modes?
Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: 32 Bit Texture clamped in Emission Channel

Post by Zom-B » Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:02 am

a great example for the terminator artifact issue.
Please have a ultra high subdivided sphere, instead of this "low poly" one and also give the CPU more time, that should "fix" this issue.
polygonmanufaktur.de

Yader
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:01 pm

Re: 32 Bit Texture clamped in Emission Channel

Post by Yader » Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:04 am

So my CPU render will get darker over time? This was just for demonstration purposes, the content of the scene isn't just a sphere...

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: 32 Bit Texture clamped in Emission Channel

Post by Zom-B » Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:47 pm

best to upload the pigs, so the devs have a testscene :)
polygonmanufaktur.de

Yader
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:01 pm

Re: 32 Bit Texture clamped in Emission Channel

Post by Yader » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:40 am

Here's the scene as a .pigs file aswell as a C4D scene.
The clamping is very much visible if you look at the light while turning GPU rendering on and off.
Thanks in advance.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7usvgqrfji17x ... g.zip?dl=0

User avatar
Zom-B
1st Place 100
Posts: 4650
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: ´'`\_(ò_Ó)_/´'`
Contact:

Re: 32 Bit Texture clamped in Emission Channel

Post by Zom-B » Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:40 pm

Hey Yader,

thanks a lot for your testscene!

Tested and reproduced your issue. Talked to the devs and it seems this is a "known limitation" that for GPU rendering 32bit emitters (all but EnvMap) get converted to 8bit at the moment, will be fixed in the future...
polygonmanufaktur.de

Yader
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:01 pm

Re: 32 Bit Texture clamped in Emission Channel

Post by Yader » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:47 am

Hey Zom-B,

thanks for testing, confirming and talking to the devs. I really do hope that this gets fixed as soon as possible :)

Post Reply
7 posts • Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest