ATTN: Hamachi Network Distributed Rendering Test!

Get feedback from others on your works in progress
Juniorsatan
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 10:46 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by Juniorsatan » Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:58 pm

BbB wrote:Am I the only one who's not seeing any of these wonderful images?
+1

User avatar
Macrob
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 9:55 am

Post by Macrob » Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:00 pm

nope :?

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:54 am

Juniorsatan wrote:
BbB wrote:Am I the only one who's not seeing any of these wonderful images?
+1
+2

User avatar
PureSpider
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:37 am
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Contact:

Post by PureSpider » Mon Jul 21, 2008 1:44 am

Borgleader wrote:
Juniorsatan wrote:
BbB wrote:Am I the only one who's not seeing any of these wonderful images?
+1
+2
+3

User avatar
Kram1032
Posts: 6649
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:55 am
Location: Austria near Vienna

Post by Kram1032 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:41 am

+4.5²³

Woodie
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:25 am

Post by Woodie » Mon Jul 21, 2008 3:39 pm

same here - all I see is 180 180 180 ( I think)

handsomedave
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:48 am

Post by handsomedave » Tue Jul 22, 2008 1:57 am

Is it just me or is a VPN with the password listed in a public forum an incredibly bad idea. Can everyone one say BotNet?

sugokuGENKI
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:05 am

Post by sugokuGENKI » Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:54 am

i presume that vpn is only necessary for the windows file share element of how people generally intiate the rendering process.
if we can find another way of syncing the file system to a central source then vpn would be out of the equation.

We'd need something like syncback or synctoy to get the files automatically off of the server. Also it's possible to set a scheduled event to occur under windows only under low system load, which would be like the screensaver idea only would be easier to implement (well, for the developers it'd be easier!)

The file repository online could have the entire folder of Indigo (to ensure that the user was using the correct version for the render farm). The IGS files and a .bat file which has the commands to run indigo with the correct scene file and settings (and the -n s -h hostname).

Since we're assuming that the user needs to be on the internet anyway to connect to the server then the bat could read from an online XML file for the current render job.
As an alternative to .bat files we could use VBScripts as (iirc) they run natively from windows without anything else being installed.

Thoughts?

SimonLarsen
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:52 am
Location: Odense, Denmark

Post by SimonLarsen » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am

handsomedave wrote:Is it just me or is a VPN with the password listed in a public forum an incredibly bad idea. Can everyone one say BotNet?
The password could just be sent in private messages. And only to members who has been here for a while.
Should solve that problem. ^^

handsomedave
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:48 am

Post by handsomedave » Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:35 am

PMing the password would be OK I think easier than writing a grid computing client anyway. Hopefully something can be figured out before winter in the north and then I can use my PC for heat. :D

User avatar
OnoSendai
Developer
Posts: 6180
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 6:16 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by OnoSendai » Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:40 am

btw, indigo 1.1.6 transfers scene over the network for you.

User avatar
PureSpider
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:37 am
Location: Karlsruhe, BW, Germany
Contact:

Post by PureSpider » Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:14 am

So we just need any kind of VPN and a job xml file and a parser for it that automatically starts indigo...

User avatar
ViennaLinux
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:26 am
Location: Vienna/Austria
Contact:

Post by ViennaLinux » Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:15 am

OnoSendai wrote:btw, indigo 1.1.6 transfers scene over the network for you.
That sounds great.
would be really nice to have it on a flexible port or 443 or 80 by default *g*
thats the best way to use it at work :twisted: and at home :twisted:
Core2duo e6600 @ 3.1GHz watercooled at default VCore ^^

User avatar
Borgleader
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:48 am

Post by Borgleader » Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:49 am

Well maybe Ono could add the "set which port you want" option someday :)
benn hired a mercenary to kill my sig...

User avatar
zsouthboy
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:12 am

Post by zsouthboy » Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:19 am

Huh, just looked through the docs, thought you could already specific a port to start the master on, but I don't see it.

Set up an SSH with port forwarding, possibly?

Post Reply
45 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest