Page 1 of 1

CAD Model of Cologne Cathedral

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:00 am
by Dombau Köln
Hardware:(CPU: Intel i9-9900k @ 5.0 GHz, GPU: MSI Geforce RTX 2080)

here some test renderings of the recent progress:
Dom Westfassade.jpg
west facade
dom 50.jpg
south facade
dom 96.jpg
flying buttress system
dom 820.jpg
the medieval crane on the unfinished south tower.
A picture that characterize the skyline of Cologne for over 5 centuries.
The famous Cologne Cathedral Window by Gerhard Richter:
Dom Richterfenster.jpg
south trancept window
dom 95.png
It was rendered in bidirectional MLT mode for better reflections and caustics of the stained glass. In contrast of the GPU mode, fireflies were much less the problem. The noise is also reduced.

Here are some GPU rendered night scenes:
dom 91.jpg
view through the nave and aisles
dom 90.jpg
west entry hall and main west window

Re: CAD Model of Cologne Cathedral

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:06 am
by fused
Welcome!

Nice renderings! You should try the new Indigo 4.4.5, we have a built in denoiser now.

Yves

Re: CAD Model of Cologne Cathedral

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:26 am
by Dombau Köln
Thank you

I will try the new Beta.
Curious about the new denoiser. Especially with this complex interior scenes. It will get even more complex, when all the textures and UVs are applied.
(The whole model has over 600 mio. polygons)

Greetings from Cologne!

Re: CAD Model of Cologne Cathedral

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 6:38 am
by fused
The denoiser should help quite a bit, but it may not do so well unless the noise is fairly even.

I do wonder about the geometry of the pillars and all the really tall things. Are those sufficiently subdivided in the height? Indigo's acceleration structures may not do so well with a lot of long and thin triangles.

Also, in the new beta, there is bucketed rendering, which should give some nice speed-ups, especially when there are complex geometry and high resolution textures involved.

Re: CAD Model of Cologne Cathedral

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:14 am
by Oscar J
Are you using arch glass for those stained glass windows? Is there a noticeable difference if you turn that on/off?

Re: CAD Model of Cologne Cathedral

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:42 am
by Dombau Köln
Haus Innenraum Besipiel.png
Rendered with the new 4.4.5 version
The final rendering result after 30 seconds in a different model! :shock:
That scene took 20 hours in former versions and still was noisy.
Major improvement!

But it takes up more RAM. So I cant render the Cologne Cathedral on my home PC right now. I have 16 GB of RAM.
(Intel i7-4790k @ 4.7 GHz, Nvidia Geforce GTX 1060)

Re: CAD Model of Cologne Cathedral

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:49 am
by Dombau Köln
Oscar J wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:14 am
Are you using arch glass for those stained glass windows? Is there a noticeable difference if you turn that on/off?
It's a Glossy Transparent material. Its not ment to be the final material for the windows. They will get the original textures custom mapped for every single window.
I did that with the big stained glass south window. It's a Specular material with the SketchUp texture map and a 0.02 bump map. Arch glass doesn't support the color reflections on the wall surfaces.
But with arch glass turned on its much faster.

Re: CAD Model of Cologne Cathedral

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:03 am
by fused
Dombau Köln wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:42 am
Haus Innenraum Besipiel.png
Rendered with the new 4.4.5 version
The final rendering result after 30 seconds in a different model! :shock:
That scene took 20 hours in former versions and still was noisy.
Major improvement!

But it takes up more RAM. So I cant render the Cologne Cathedral on my home PC right now. I have 16 GB of RAM.
(Intel i7-4790k @ 4.7 GHz, Nvidia Geforce GTX 1060)
The image is fairly "splotchy" still. Denoising will cause artifacts like this if the image is not sufficiently converged. Maybe give it a bit more than 30 seconds, but I'm happy you are happy with the result :)

The denoiser does use a pretty large amount of RAM, sadly. There is a scene setting to limit the ram usage, but the current SketchUp plugin doesn't support it yet.